We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of The Curragh

The Curragh
Ranked #72 of 207 Restaurants in Skokie
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
Restaurant details
Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You want to sit outside? Sit outside. It's great out there. If you really want to get the feel of an Irish pub go inside. It is close. It is unique. We have been there three times in the past year and have not had a bad meal yet. If you cannot find a type of beer you like from the many offerings, you're not trying hard enough or you simply cannot be pleased. This place has it all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Irish Pub”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I visit the Curragh almost weekly. The atmosphere is friendly and Lydia is the best Hostess in the business. The food is a cut above the typical Pub menu. Highly recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacole1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
549 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Feel - Average Food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having recently been to Ireland there was a nice authentic feel to the pub. Cozy, comfortable, and friendly with lovely Guinness signs all about.

We arrived early on a Friday night and the place was already pretty crowded. We ate in the bar area. Began our meal with one pint of Guinness and one of Smithwicks. Both authentic just take your pick.

I had the fish and chips and my husband the Ruben sandwich. The fish and chips were good. Fairly decent for America, just a bit greasy but the coating was nice. The tartar sauce was not good and the "chips" average. The Ruben sandwich was fine and the corned beef of good quality.

Once our waitress arrived the service was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpmicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Feels like home - if yer from Ireland”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My brother-in-law introduced me to this lovely Irish Pub in Skokie and I'm ever so glad he did. I've been coming back ever since. Great for just an after work beer or even better for dinner and the best on St Patricks Day - been for all 3 and enjoyed all of them. Irish Stew, Corned Beef & Cabbage, Guinness on tap and even some chef specials that you wouldn't expect such as tacos and Italian dishes too. The wait staff is friendly, prompt, and eager to please and the food is above average. Seating inside is limited so get there early. Patio seating is relaxed and not crowded at all. Summertime when the sides are all open is very delightful. I love it here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Wee Bit 'O Ireland In Skokie”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Located on the fringe of downtown Skokie, this pub feels more genuine and neighborhoody than any of the faux-Irish national chains. The dimly lit bar/dining room is homey and very casual, with less frou-frou than you'd expect. Why, some of the staff even hails from Ireland!

Unless you're lucky enough to snare one of two booths at the back of the room, seating is high-up on backless wooden bar stools. A patio (enclosed and heated for year-round use) provides additional seating, though on iron patio furniture. We wish the restaurant had more comfortable seating.

The list of suds impressed this beer aficionado. An assortment of domestic and imported specialty beers on draft is augmented by several bottled beers. Yes, you can indulge in drafts ranging from Goose Island Matilda to Smithwick's. Daily specials are offered; on our visit, it was Summit Winter Ale. Fans of single-malt whiskeys will also be pleased here.

The chow, focused on traditional comfort foods, spotlights old faves like burgers, a reuben sandwich, shepherd's pie, and corned beef & cabbage. We sampled the Guinness fish & chips, which was absolutely delicious and generously portioned. Other platters emerging from the kitchen looked equally appealing. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. We look forward to exploring more menu items and beers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodFight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Curragh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing