We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Concept if you don't mind the noise level”
Review of Libertad

Libertad
Reserve with OpenTable
Libertad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 207 Restaurants in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Oakton & Lincoln
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great New Concept if you don't mind the noise level”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've been to Libertad four times in the last few months. The food is unique and delicious. The service has been outstanding, The wine list is very nice also. The place is quite popular and you probably won't get in without a reservation. I highly recommend tryinmg this place. Just be prepared for the noise level. If you can manage a reservation on the outdoor patio during this summer, your experience will be even better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacole1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    35
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Maybe should be 4.5 stars, but hey it's really good!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Really nice spot in an unexpected part of town. It's a pleasant sleepy little piece of Lincoln in downtown Skokie - and the signage is very low-key but once you step in, you'd think you were in Andersonville or Bucktown. Very cool vibe and the place was buzzing at 6pm! We were able to sit outdoors on the charming patio and our server (Rachel) was terrific. She gave us good advice all around. We had the beet & manchego salad, plus the hummos. Both were superb. The flavors reminded us of the food in Spain - same nice clean tastes and textures, nicely spiced and very fresh. For entrees, my friend had a carne asada (skirt steak) topped with watercress and some yummy slivered fried potatoes that was delicious. My tuna was pretty good but a tad overcooked. Still, the zucchini and pesto-type sauce was perfect so I still cleaned the plate. The yuzu spongecake was AMAZING. We fought over the last bite. We sampled two types of wine by the glass (verdejo and a Rioja) and both were splendid. Details here seem very very important and the service is like that at a 5-star restaurant. We will be back here again soon!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Going to Visit Again Soon”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We ate outside in the courtyard area. I would describe the ambiance as bustling, not noisy. We had a hummus starter with a tortilla--a Latin American twist on a Mediterranean dish. We followed with a scallop and black bean dish that was out of this world. Tremendous flavor infusion. The last small plate was the wild boar which was very tender. Possibly slightly over-sauced, but a hearty and robustly flavored end. I enjoyed a Chilean carmenere which went well with the meal. Our waiter was attentive and personable. The location seems like it is in a nondescript area, but there are actually several great ethnic restaurants nearby. Libertad, however, has the best food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attea146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected Eating Delight”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

In the most unexpected location in downtown Skokie, Illinois is a true culinary jewel. Amazing small selection of mid-size plates intended for sharing that can best be described as Latin fusion. Each item is freshly prepared in an open kitchen and cooked to perfection. The beet salad is fantastic and fish dishes are perfect in moisture and, texture, and taste. Each meal begins with a complimentary soup which is always a surprise and seasonal. The small restauarant is busting with staff that are friendly and informative. The place can be noisy but fun and in good weather a patio is open. Since they have been getting such good reviews, reservations are a must but you can always eat at the bar. This is a family operation where everyone feels a part of the family. If in Chicago area, it is worthwhile going out of the way to this nearby suburb. A new rapid transit stop in downtown Skokie puts Libertad in walking distance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Afocus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth going to Skokie”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We enjoyed a delicious and fun dinner at Libertad in Skokie. While I have never actually been to this part of Skokie before, it was a cute, clean area. But, obviously, the draw is the restaurant. Libertad is delightful -- great drinks, great energetic feeling inside the restaurant. Not too loud, but lively. Our waitress was wonderful. Drinks are delicious and creative. In fact, the entire menu is delicious and creative. It is latin infused -- which meant nothing more than absolutely yummy. We had salads --- fresh and light -- boar, acorn and risotto, scallops, hummus (divine with home made tortilla - OMG) and the best dish was a tuna/avocado tempura combo. To die for! We left feeling happy and sated, not over fed or over salted. You must go here. You will love it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelarmchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Libertad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing