We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great suite, good location for visiting Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
“Great suite, good location for visiting Chicago”
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We chose the Hampton Inn in Skokie, because Hampton Inn has the best beds ever, and because we didn't want to pay a fortune to stay in downtown Chicago. Three of us were there on a girl's three day weekend, so we booked the one bedroom suite. Great choice. Parking and wireless are free, which is another bonus to staying here vs downtown.

The kichen had everything, including a full size fridge and microwave. The living room had a pull out couch, desk, comfy lounge chair and foot stool, plus plasma tv. Bedroom included two comfy beds, plus another plasma tv. Sink area was outside the bathroom, which is great when getting ready in the morning. The bathroom was huge. The room was totally perfect for 3 people, or more.

Breakfast was delicious but very crowded. They have a few rooms for eating breakfast, but every morning it was over-run with tons of people. We had to wait in line to get breakfast, and then take it back to our room. Breakfast was very good though. It included some type of eggs, bacon/sausage, waffles, toast, fruit, cereal, juice, pastries, yogurt, etc.

We were looking forward to using the indoor pool and hot tub. Checked it out on Saturday night, but it was completely full of kids making a lot of noise. So we decided to wait until Sunday night. Went down on Sunday, and the pool was full again, with kids hurling beach balls everywhere, slamming down foam noodles on the water, jumping into the pool, etc., etc. Even though kids under 14 need to be accompanied by an adult, there didn't seem to be anyone responsible for the kids. Some adults were sitting at a table, but never once asked the kids to quiet down. We sat in the hot tub for 10 mintues, and had to leave because of the noise and chaos. That was the only downfall of the hotel. I suggest that beach balls and noodles are removed the pool after a certain hour, and that there is an adults only time after a certain hour.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    281
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
512
167
57
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This recently rennovated hotel has very nice, comfortable rooms, a nice inclusive breakfast and very helpful staff. This is by far the nicest Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. They also have a very well-equipped gym, especially for a Hampton Inn but on par with (and in many cases, better than) more upscale properties. The shuttle service is also very helpful. Overall, woderful stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels_well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thank you for your feedback!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This hotel is in the process of completing a total makeover. My room on the 8th floor appeared to be brand new with all new furnishings, floor coverings, bedding etc... The rooms are now very hip, modern and very comfortable. I stayed here a couple of years ago when the hotel was nice but nothing out of the ordinary. Now this property has to be the nicest Hampton Inn I have stayed in and is on par (or above) with the more upscale Hilton properties.

The breakfast buffet was nice with several hot items and the staff kept everything well stocked and neat and orderly. The hotel has Ruby Tuesday attached for lunch/dinner and there are numerous restaurants close by at the Old Orchard Mall.

Definately the best hotel option in the area especially at the very reasonable Hampton rates.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to know you approve of our new decor. We love the transformation as well!

We velue your business and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This hotel recently went through a recent $4 million "extreme makeover" and it shows. Don't know who picked out the carpet but that person has garish taste. But you can look beyond that, I suppose, and concentrate on the service and quality of the rooms. Someone has trained the staff to understand the guests are customers. And the rooms are the now standard Hampton, albeit the smaller versions. The front desk as well as the kitchen staff are very polite and accommodating. This was once the cheapest Hampton we have stayed at but with the upgrade it now posts regular rack rates, with a discount for Hilton Honors and/or AAA. The last thing they can work on is the elevators; they look shabby compared to the rest of the place. All in all a terrific hotel with good location and fine staff. BTW, if you are choosing between this and, say, the Orrington in downtown Evanston (about 15 minutes drive) I would stay at the Hampton. The Orrington has a great city environment but its rooms are small and can be very noisy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
We appreciate your feedback! Your comments have been shared with our team.

Our remodel is almost complete - only a couple of weeks left until our exterior is completely done with the paint makeover. The elevators have also been scheduled to get polished soon.

We look forward to welcoming you & your family again in the near future.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

From the time I walked in to the lobby, through the public areas, and then my guest room, I was very impressed at the complete makeover of this great Hampton location. As I arrived, two busses of high school girls were just checking in. Great! I thought, there will be noise and crowded halls all weekend. Nothing could be further from the truth. The young ladies were quiet and this hotel has established "Quiet Time" hours which are obviously enforced. I was upgraded to one of the newly refurbished suites. Wow! Great room! Even the kitchenette appliances were nearly full-size. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The attached Ruby Tuesdays is certainly handy for later-night food and drinks. My only regret is that my stay wasn't longer. Great location, very good staff, excellent rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khiservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
Wow! Thank you for the great feedback. I have shared your comments with our team.

It is great to know you & your family enjoyed your stay. Our team is delighted to hear such positive comments about our remodel.

Thanks again & we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was nice, the rooms were clean and the location was great.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for your feedback! I will ensure your comment is shared with our team.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel probably 20 times; it's near an office I visit a few times a year. It's typical Hampton Inn -- which means nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable with a helpful staff. This location has a Ruby Tuesday on premises, which is a nice convenience relative to most others Hamptons. There's a nice park for walking or jogging right down the road (maybe 1/3 mile).

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Feller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
4.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Address: 5201 Old Orchard Rd, Skokie, IL 60077-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, and indoor pool. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing