We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Sorry to the reviewer before me but the internet did have better deals. I got a 3 night special rate for 113.00 a night and it included a $25 gas card and snacks. This was for mid July 2008. The room was a king bed corner suite - beautiful and very large - living room, kitchen and bedroom and bath. I loved it. It looked brand new. It was over and beyond anything I had expected.
The included breakfast buffet was adequate although really nothing special but at this rate who cares. The fitness room had 2-3 machines that needed to be serviced although the room itself was larger than in most hotels. There are also a couple of laundry rooms. It was a very convenient location, only 10 mins from Northwestern University in Evanston and a way much better deal than any of those hotels.

I only hope that the staff keeps the condition up to par as the property ages. It is obviously a brand new hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Prodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2008

My family stayed for 3 nights in July, and I agree with all of the positive reviews given. I wanted to share that the website for the Hampton Inns showed only double, or king, beds for the Skokie location, but in fact, they do have queen beds. I also got a better rate by calling the hotel directly than what was quoted on the website. We booked a two queen bed suite, with my AAA membership, for $141./night. It is easy to get to and from the airport, and the location is fabulous. The room was very clean, the sofa bed already made up, the refrigerator cold, the air conditioning working great, and the coffee and Redenbacker's popcorn waiting as advertised! The WiFi worked seamlessly from our room. Breakfast was adequate - waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. - and overall I thought this was a wonderful place to stay at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MissMonkey'sMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

The breakfasts were awesome, every day was something different in the hot foods section. We had a suite and it was just what we needed. The staff was excellent, quick responses, fast service, and friendly. Would definitly stay there again...

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jfpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Hotel location is great if you're planning to base yourself around the northern suburbs, evanston, skokie area. Right across the street from Old Orchard shopping center means there's a lot to do (shopping, eating, movies) close by. About 20-30 min from Ohare, 30 min to an hour from downtown depending on traffic. The hotel itself is pretty standard, very busy while we were there and starting to get a bit worn in places. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Wireless internet worked well, with a 24-hour helpline making things very easy. The rooms were basically typical, nothing special, clean, modern, with all the amenities (fridge, microwave, flat screen TV). I saw a lot of people headed to and from the indoor pool, but didn't use it myself. Walls were somewhat thin, but not distractingly so. I think the rate was rather high at 120-150 (depending on the night), but the lower priced options in the area didn't seem very hospitable based upon the reviews here. This was a good choice. Overall I was pretty happy and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tinadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We found a great deal on Orbitz, but we found an even better deal in the mail. We live in the area and book rooms for our families at Hampton Inn. The rooms with the coupon were $119.00/night. We chose this hotel on past experience and costs. Evanston hotels are pricey and often charge for parking.

Our room again was on the side away from the freeway. When we booked the room, we asked for two (2) water bottles, instead of the one (1) the usually leave in the room. The In-House Representative said it would not be a problem and would make sure that two (2) bottles would be left. However, when we arrived there was only one (1) bottle. We called the hotel and they sent up four (4) bottles water to the room. Their response to our request for a correction was immediate. We and our visiting family were pleased. Upon check-in, the representative informed us that the hotel was not sold-out.

The property is clean and well-kept. The rooms were spacious and contemporary. The beds were comfortable.

Overall, a very memorable stay. We and our families will be back at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunswick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

What a find! Booked at this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Front desk staff were very friendly, helpful and not in the least pretentious. Hotel is very clean (must be new) and the price of the room includes parking, full breakfast, internet and use of the exercise facility. It was great not to have additional charges. In addition, each room has a microwave and refrigerator. There is a free shuttle available to guests that covers a three-mile square area. Amazing! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Skokie area.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aprilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

I got a late start planning my family's vacation to Chicago, and therefore there were no reasonably priced hotels rooms left downtown. After reading trip advisor reviews, I choose Hampton Inn and Suites. The hotel was very clean, all employees (front desk to breakfast attendants) were extremely friendly and helpful, the room--bedding, tv, carpeting, etc.--was new and clean, daily breakfast area was great. Parking downtown would have cost extra$$$ daily. Here parking is free and the hotel shuttle will quickly take you to the transit station to catch train into city. We bought visitor CTA passes for $5 per person per day. Granted, the daily train ride into Chicago took about an hour, but CTA employees--train and bus-were all very helpful when asked about which trains and buses we needed to take to get to our many stops.
The hotel is used heavily by business people, but treats families very well!!!!! If we ever return to Chicago, we will definitely stay here again. ***Their website claims the hotel is rated #1 Hampton in the Midwest----It was easy to see why.!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette/Skokie
4.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Address: 5201 Old Orchard Rd, Skokie, IL 60077-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range: $107 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, and indoor pool. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing