We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our New Favorite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We're originally from the Chicago area and return often to visit family and friends, but have never before stayed at the Hampton -- now it will be our place of choice! We had a large one-bedroom suite (obtained by an upgrade for only $5/night), with living room, bedroom and full kitchen. It was the size of a small apartment, and more than adequate for our one-week stay. Service here is outstanding. We sometimes requested room cleaning at particular times, and it was always done when requested; a needed repair was done in minutes. When we waited in the lobby for friends to pick us up, one of the front desk staff noticed the bottle of wine we were bringing to our friends and brought us a gift bag to put it in! Rooms were very clean, and housekeeping staff did an excellent job every day. Location just behind Old Orchard shopping center is excellent. The Ruby Tuesday restaurant attached to the hotel provides good food at reasonable prices and room service. All in all, an outstanding place to stay in the Chicago area!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the highway and the garbage bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    261
    46
    9
    7
See reviews for
474
151
52
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Clair, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Conveniant location, very professional staff. The fitness center is nicely laid out and well equipped. The room was spotless and quiet. Very happy that the shower head appeared new - I have a pet peeve about calcified old looking shower heads...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would recommend this to any business traveler---clean, very comfortable, great staff, cleaning staff listens to the do not disturb (which is great), great parking, AWESOME breakfast. Extended stay guests should look into a suite to get a bigger refridgerator. The mini fridge won't accommodate more than a day or so worth of food/drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This will most likely remain our go-to place for our semi-annual trips home to Chicago with the kids. The location and the amenities are perfect for traveling families. A few things were noticeable enough that I felt the need to review again: we travelled over a very busy holiday time (we were there the week of the 4th) and the place was overrun with huge groups of kids (school or church groups). This is unavoidable and understandable but made the breakfasts trying to say the least. On one day we got there twenty minutes before breakfast was to close and found no: doughnuts, skim milk, bananas, mixed fruit. I don't mean there was only a little, I mean there was none. And with two hungry kids at a place that touts their free breakfasts, that was annoying. Also, we reserved a kitchen suite and asked for a high floor, as always, but got one on a low floor, facing the highway. Given our frequent trips there and the fact we were there for a long stay (7 nights) again, I wasn't thrilled. Even more annoying was the noise from the road. If we go back I will definitely ask to be moved if I am stuck on a low floor facing I-94 again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We got to Chicago area earlier than anticipated, but they had a room available and allowed for an early check in. Our room, a king, standard, was very clean. It has a flat screen tv, microwave and small refrigerator. The bed was fairly comfortable...even for me! The bathroom was also very clean (most important). The staff from front desk, housekeeping and dining area were very friendly and accommodating. Our room faced the highway and a service area (?) one morning around 4 or 5 a.m., a truck in this area woke us both up.
The breakfast was typical hotel fare with waffles, pre-made omelets and sausage; cereals, fruits (all looked fresh) yogurt, etc.
The only issue I had was the lack of connectivity to the internet. I finally found that if I put my iPad or notebook on the bedside table it would ultimately connect....move it inches away and it would disconnect. I told the front desk, twice, but the situation did not change. This made it difficult to take care of business. Going to the "business center", and found it was constantly filled with kids...so, no thanks. Asking others all said they had no problem, so perhaps that room is a dead spot..

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the expressway and if you need internet...stay away from room 6241...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRHLansing_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Quick, easy check in...with chocolate chip cookies! The room had the regular amenities plus a microwave and refrigerator. Nice décor, very comfortable bed. There is a USB port right next to the bed that came in handy to recharge electronics. Did not visit Ruby Tuesday's, but it is right off of the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was very pleased with this property! Check in was efficient and took less than 5 minutes on a Friday evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was stocked with all necessities, was well appointed and very clean. The manager of this property deserves a raise and recognition by the supervising office for maintaining a well-run hotel (staff and physical attributes of property. Well done! I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Eat at the attached Ruby Tuesdays. Excellent food and staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Address: 5201 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, and indoor pool. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing