We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
Richland Center, Wi
2 reviews
“Super visit!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Had 7 family members of varying ages. As my mother is a clean FREAK, I researched many places before choosing this one. The rooms were clean, the breakfast wonderful, but most importantly, the staff was excellent. Always willing to help us with our numerous questions!!!! Took the motel shuttle MANY times. It was clean and the drivers were always friendly and prompt. I was very impressed with how accommodating everyone was and would certainly suggest this motel to anyone. Only Cons: No fan in bathroom and bedspreads were also the blankets. As I usually fold the bedspread back and don't use, I wasn't fond of this. (However, it was posted that they get washed with each guest-and they DID appear clean.)

Room Tip: Pros: Helpful staff, great restaurant, sitting areas, free breakfast, bathroom nightlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Lora8688,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We're glad to know that our hotel met your mother's cleanliness expectations! More importantly, it's nice to know you were treated well by our staff.

As you plan your future stays at Hampton, rest assured that all linens are changed prior to your arrival, during your stay by request, after the fourth consecutive night, or when there is visible need for change. Through our Take Care initiative, our bed linen and towel reuse programs reduce our water consumption by thousands of gallons each year.

We look forward to welcoming you & your family again soon!

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    273
    48
    9
    7
See reviews for
497
163
55
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here once in July for 5 nights and again in early August for 4 nights while our floors at home were being refinished and other major repair work was being done. We spent the extra money for a suite each time and it worked out perfectly for our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The first suite had 2 queen beds and the other had a king bed and a whirlpool bath. Both of the suites had kitchens with dishes, cutlery, full refrigerator, a microwave and dishwasher. The suites we stayed in, and the entire hotel, were very clean. What really sets this hotel apart is the staff. Every staff member we met--from the front desk staff to the people working in the breakfast area to the housekeeping staff--was very friendly and made us feel at home. One night we called for extra blankets and someone brought them to our room in less than 10 minutes. The living rooms of both suites had a couch with a pullout double bed, a table with a couple of chairs and another comfortable chair with an ottoman. The furniture in the living room really helped us as it provided extra sleeping space and there was plenty of room for the 4 of us to relax in the evening. There was a TV in the living room and the bedroom and the hotel offers free WIFi. Our rooms were very quiet despite being close to the elevators and there being two large out of town school groups staying at the hotel.

There is plenty of free parking. Also on the first floor there is a swimming pool with a hot tub, a Ruby Tuesday restaurant and a small but nice exercise room.

The free breakfast had a wide variety of choices. In addition to rolls and bagels, there was fresh fruit, yogurt, a waffle maker, cold cereals, two hot items each day. There was also juice, coffee, tea etc. The breakfast areas do get crowded but the staff constantly replenished the food. There was also fresh coffee, hot water, tea bags and cocoa mix all day and night in the public area opposite the front desk. In the late afternoon there was delicious lemondade and fresh baked cookies at the front desk.

The location of the hotel is excellent. The Westfield Old Orchard outdoor shopping mall is just a few blocks away, and the hotel is just off the Old Orchard Road exit on the Edens Expressway. The location is convenient for driving into downtown Chicago. The rates are very good, particulary when you consider the large room sizes, the free breakfast, the pool and the great location. There are computers and a printer in the lobby.

Until recently I traveled extensively for work and this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in. Every one of us really enjoyed our stay and we hope to be back again for a long weekend in the winter.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that face the front parking lot rather than the rooms on the side that faces the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Stephani,

We are grateful for the feedback you provided on your recent stays. The reviews we receive from guests are shared with our team to acknowledge their hard work and commitment to serve.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you & your family again in the future. As we get into football season, we suggest booking ahead to guarantee suite availability. Guests truly love the additional space in our suites, especially for just around $40 more than our standard rooms!

Thanks again for a great review!

Till next time,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
316 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Since my daughter lives in Chicago I've been looking for a nice clean hotel that's easy to get to with FREE parking. The hotels downtown charge up and over $50 a day to park! crazy. The Hampton is very nice, new, plenty of free parking and VERY ecofriendly. They have quit giving out the free little shampoo bottles and have fixed dispensers now in the showers for all the product types. smart. Food service for breakfast was very nice! Plenty to eat and fresh. And we had a fire alarm in the morning and the staff was very helpful and friendly. (Someone hit it by accident?) Very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phxaz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear phxaz54,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We're glad our guests are noticing our eco-friendly intiatives! Many others love the bulk dispensers in our bathrooms as well. Our breakfast plates, bowls, and cutlery are also earth-friendly; they're made from potato starch!

We look forward to being your hotel of choice whenever you visit your daughter in Chicago. Thanks again for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just got home from spending the weekend at this hotel. We were here for a Baseball tournament with13, 17 year old boys. There is really nothing bad i could say about the hotel and the service. From check in to check out the service here was wonderful. Room was clean and modern. Loved the location, Outdoor mall just 2-3 blocks away. The hotel has a complementary shuttle that takes and picks you up from the mall. Desk employees were friendly and there was one gentleman that i wish i would have gotten his name was had great customer service and was funny(comedian) I stay at many hotels through the year and this i would have to say would be the best staff i have come across. Complimentary breakfast was good. the only thing i think it should go later that 10am on the weekends.Swimming pool was clean . They have 3 or 4 computers in the Lobby which kept the 17 years old boys busy. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Microwave and fridge in teh rooms was helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsorhockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear windsorhockeymom,

First and foremost, we hope your team won! We're glad to have been your host hotel while playing in town.

Furthermore, we sincerely appreciate your wonderful review. The camaraderie amongst our teammates is certainly reflected by the way we take care of our guests. Thank you for taking notice!

Till next time,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I decided to stay in Skokie July 15th-17th and ride the train for excursions to Chicago (About a 40 minute ride on the Red Line). We were getting away for a 15th anniversary weekend. For the same money as we would have spent on a regular King size bed room in an older Downtown Chicago hotel, we got a deluxe two room King Suite with full kitchen, living room with sleeper sofa, and lots of room. It felt like a small apartment and would be great if traveling with my kids. Despite the fact that the hotel is right off the highway, it was totally quiet. Parking was free and the free breakfast was good (Hot items changed daily & rest is usual continental breakfast fare) even though the dining area was small in relation to the size of the hotel. We usually grabbed a tray and went back to our room. There was a Ruby Tuesday's restaurant attached to the hotel which was very convenient when we checked in at dinner time on Friday. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with ideas of things to do. The decor was kind artsy and had lots of nice b&w photos all over the hotel. They even assisted me in delivering flowers I ordered from a local Skokie florist to my room before arrival. I don't always splurge for the two room suite at every Hampton but it was totally worth it. I have stayed in a lot of different Hampton Hotels and would have to say this is the nicest one in which I have stayed.

Room Tip: Spluge for the two room suite if traveling with kids. You'll appreciate the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokies_Hiker_Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Smokies_Hiker_Always,

We appreciate the 5 stars! We're glad you & your wife enjoyed your stay. Our suites are quite nice and certainly a nice upgrade from a standard room you would have paid downtown.

Enjoy the rest of your summer. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here while spending a day in Chicago. The location was great! Only about a 20 minute drive to downtown. The hotel was very clean & had just been remodeled. The furnishings were great as well as the rooms! The beds were comfortable. The air conditioners were quiet--not the big old registers you find under the windows. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garbergroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear garbergroup,

Wow, thanks for such a great review! Our team takes pride in not only taking care of our guests, but also every aspect of our hotel. It's certainly nice to have our guests notice our team's commitment to creating a memorable stay all around.

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you again when you're in town.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The managament should promote Chris, who drove our shuttle to and from the el several times during our 4 day stay. He was friendly, prompt and patient, even when people he was driving were demanding.
Our room was very clean...a little less furniture (upholstered chair and ottoman were not necessary) would have given our 3 adults more space.
The hotel was really crowded and the staff was able to handle the large numbers. The breakfast room was too small for the crowd and it was hard to get to the food. Some single guests took up 4 seat tables, which seemed a tad selfish.
The shuttle was very convenient, although one time we had to wait at the el for a half hour, after a long day in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear AnnDelaware,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We agree - Chris is a gem! We are glad you were able to take advantage of our free shuttle service while in town.

We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you to Chicago's North Shore.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Address: 5201 Old Orchard Rd, Skokie, IL 60077-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, and indoor pool. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing