We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in the Windows Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Reviewed August 11, 2004

My wife and I held our wedding reception at the hotel in July, and it was a superb event. We used the Windows room, on the top floor, which has windows on three sides - perfect for sunset, and you could see the skyline in the evening.

The catering/event staff was wonderful, food was very good (especially for mass-prepared), staff were attentive, and everything went very smoothly, before and during the event. I highly recommend this location for weddings or other events.

The rooms in the hotel, admittedly, are not the most amazing ones I've seen. They are just a little below what I would consider a standard for Doubletree properties. But this was a minor flaw, and they were still pretty nice rooms.

Location of the hotel is quite good - kiddie corner from Old Orchard (tons of shopping, restaurants, etc.).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Migizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,155 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, Wisconsin
557
Reviewed April 17, 2004

We paid about $105 including tax for a decent-but-nothing-special double room. A few minor criticisms: The cramped bathroom had some mildew, a low showerhead, and lacked a fan, which made the entire hotel room steamy. The floor lamp in our room had no lightbulb, and the bulb in the wall sconce was burned out. Also, when we opened a panel that appeared to contain the climate controls, we found some pretty repulsive filth instead. On the positive side, the staff was courteous and professional and provided us with a complimentary crib and a small refrigerator when we requested them. The hotel is conveniently located close to Old Orchard Mall and is a short drive from Evanston. The free cookies at check-in were a tasty gimmick!

Stayed: January 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
29
Reviewed November 19, 2002

Very convenient to highways, Old Orchard Mall, Skokie stores and northern suburbs, Evanston.

Hotel has above average interiors, excellent restaurant, very friendly staff. Rooms fully equipped with worksurfaces, internet outlets (check if they have T1), irons/ironing boards - everything needed for busy executive. Warning! Avoid parking-lot level first floor rooms!

Hotel is not convenient to mass-transportation, although they do have some sort of a pick-up/drop-off service to "Skokie Flyer". Front desk staff recommended driving to "Howard" Station - which is NOT in a good neighborhood! Best bet - drive to Evanston, park there for good mass transit to city.

Although definitely not a resort/vacation-type property, it should fulfill all your needs when doing business/visiting friends in North Shore area.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank SER98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank X1048ACmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: En general cualquier habitacion es muy recomendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank Murat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range: $90 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing