We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beds but this is not our favorite hotel in the area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, ca
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Beds but this is not our favorite hotel in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

We booked a last minute stay at this hotel because our favorite hotel was full. As an alternate, it served its purpose, but we will stay at our preferred hotel (Hampton Suites) whenever possible.

This hotel gets very high marks for having very comfortable beds. However, the rooms are fairly cramped; and we missed having a refrigerator in the room. (There is room in the cabinets for a small fridge, so I don't know why they don't put the fridge in the room).

Our bathtub was slow to drain and we had some problems with the toilets.

The restaurant next to the lobby was awful. I had a late night cocktail at the bar and for the life of me, the bartender ignored me and I finally left some money on the bar as I could not close out my bill. (I hope it was enough money.) In the morning, we went to breakfast. My wife and I were told there was only a buffet. When my son went to breakfast a little later, he ordered off a menu! But then, his food took forever to come out from the kitchen. When it finally came, it was not what he ordered. They comped his breakfast, as we had to leave and had no more time to wait.

I did notice that some people received the breakfast buffet as part of their room rate. Our's was not included.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brucegary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    354
    161
    52
    37
See reviews for
360
155
53
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

Stayed at the hotel for a week. The rooms had enough space in the bed portion, but they did have small bathrooms. The conference center flooded during that time, but they cleaned that up quick. The upstairs is AMAZING... if I ever had an event or party in IL I would book the upstaris room of this hotel. It is really amazing! The dining room is amazing and the staff there are very very very very nice!!!

The only reason I did not give this hotel above average rating is because the front desk staff seem to always be missing when you needed them, but other than that it is top notch!

  • Liked — The dining room plus staff and top floor event room
  • Disliked — front desk staff
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lizvt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed at this hotel last minute Cub tickets ,we stayed in a smoking king room ,windows opened yeh! Nice check in and out staff pleasant (except in resturant want you in and out or busy talking to other staff members not a problem for us no children were with us but others had children)Hotel was quiet and was full of people so i was pleasantly surprised.Would stay here again if in the area mall across the street with alot of resturants.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MichiganO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

my family and i stayed at the Doubletree in Skokie, IL from August 8th - August 10th 2008.
upon check in, the front desk was very friendly and helpful!!
rooms were very clean and spacious. the hotel lobby was very inviting w/ plenty of seating areas...and the lobby also plays music through their P.A. system, so it is some what of a comfort.

close to the hotel is a Jewel Osco, not too sure if it is open 24hrs, but they were open at about 11PM when we arrived. there is also an i-Hop across the street and a very nice mall across the road from the hotel.

  • Liked — clean hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasminNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

Enjoyable stay at this suburban Doubletree. Rooms were clean and comfortable. They seemed to be recently remodeled. My children enjoyed the in-door, out-door pool.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sosbh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati OH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at this Doubletree. I was really impressed by the decor of the lobby - quite contemporary and stylish, where the check in agents aren't behind a huge desk, but have individual stands. This decor extended into the room, which was very comfortable and quiet (I was on the 9th floor at the end of the hallway). The bathroom was on the small side, but had a nice granite vanity and 3 of each towel even though I was a single traveler. I got 2 free bottles of water in my room, plus free buffet breakfast. The breakfast I knew was courtesy of my HHonors Gold status (even though in my profile I requested extra points vs. breakfast), not sure about the water.

Location-wise, it was very convenient for me because my meeting was taking place next door - so could walk to/from meeting. Also, in adjacent blocks are plenty of food options, with a big shopping plaza (incl. Nordstrom and Lord & Taylor) diagonally across the street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

The doubletree is not a 5 star resort with all the trimmings, nor does it profess to be. They have just built a new wing and the rooms are great. Fitted with modern TVs and a fridge, the size of the rooms are generous, and there is good cable and free internet. What more could one want from a reasonably priced suburban hotel? There is also good parking which is close to the rooms and there always seem to be taxis waiting for those who dont have cars. The bathrooms were well furnished, the size might be a little tight from some people's liking though.
The lobby is modern, the bar is clean enough and inexpensive and the staff are friendly. To be totally honest, the people who work behind the desk are a little scatterbrained which can be annoying... but in the overall experience that seemed to fade into the background.
Now is probably a good time to note that I stayed in the new wing - the old one is probably exactly that - old, so try and make sure you're in the new wing.
It's not close to downtown but if you don't need to always be in the city, the location of the hotel is excellent. It's within 5 mins walk of 3 shopping malls (one very large outdoor mall and two smaller ones) inclusing a supermarket within spitting distance.

  • Liked — Location and facilites
  • Disliked — Check-in staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank internationalist159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hilton Hotels Direct and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing