We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
delaware, United States
1 review
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I booked a suite.When I checked in I was sent to a room thinking it was a suite, but no it was a standard room. When I called the desk they said there were no suites available because of remodelling. No apology or excuses were made. To date I have not received my points back used to upgrade the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi David,

I'm very sorry that you did not receive the suite that you booked. There is certainly no excuse for us not to honor your reservation and then to not even apologize. I can assure you this is not indicative of our service. I can assure you that I have already taken steps to make sure something like this doesn't happen again. I would love to welcome you back and upgrade you to one of our newly renovated suites. I can be reached directly at 847-329-4358 or at halley.karas@hilton.com. Please let me know if you return to the hotel and I will make the arrangements myself. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    363
    166
    55
    39
See reviews for
370
159
58
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My daughter and I traveled to Chicago to visit Northwestern University as a potential school for her. We couldn't stay in Evanston because there was a home game that weekend, so we stayed as close as we could to the campus. I booked at the Doubletree Hilton Skoke there to provide a memorable experience for my daughter although it was beyond our budget. I saw the pictures online...it looked plush and fun. The picture was nothing like the room. We paid $300 for each night we were there...two nights...and it was nothing more than a nice Best Western. No robes (unlike the picture)...$3.50 for water...few personal amenities..no newspaper in the morning..not even a Jacuzzi/Hot tub...only a very small/cold swimming pool. The service in the restaurant there was very slow and the food marginal. The one redeeming service was the shuttle to and from the university. We made our reservation to get to the campus the following morning. When I called down to check on that reservation, the bus had already left and the woman working the front desk was completely unkind, put me on a long hold, realized their mistake, and gave me a voucher for a taxi. She was rude. When I called to ask for a shuttle pick-up later that afternoon while at the univeristy, again the same woman, interrupted and told me that I would need to walk to the stadium...very far away...and wait by a hotdog stand. It was cold and we had no idea where we were. I asked to speak to another hotel desk employee, and although she was equally as rude, said she would send for a taxi. It never came. We waited for 25 minutes on that street corner waiting for, what we came to find out, a taxi that was never called. I just spoke to the hotel manager who took their side and was from compassionate and helpful. I will never stay in another Hilton again, and I would encourage you to find another hotel worth your $300 a night. This was supposed to be a special weekend for my daughter and me, and this experience dampened our spirits, to say the least.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel. Poor quality and service. Very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience at our hotel. It is our goal to satisfy all of our guests and it is unacceptable to me that you were not pleased with your experience. I know you have spoken to one of our managers about your experience and she was able to apologize on our behalf and offer you compensation for your experience. I hope that her gesture will convince you to return in the future and give us another try. I can assure you that we are capable and eager for another chance to create a special weekend for you and your daughter. We hope to see you again and welcome you back as our VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

i am a diamond member, so your experience mught be different.
First the location, close to freeay, not far from ohare, and great eating places close by.
Breakfast: i stayed for 5 days. Over the weekend the hotel had 2 college teams who ate faster than the staff could refill. However, during the weekday, they still had issues, so it must be poor planning.
The housekeeping : for some reasin, they did not clean the room well, dirty coffee cups and soda bottles should have been removed. Free parking is always welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peegee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our hotel. As a diamond member, and frequent traveler, you certainly are the hotel expert! I'm glad that you found us to be convenient and near lots of restaurants and shops. Our proximity to Old Orchard Mall is one of our guests' favorite things. I apologize that breakfast and the housekeeping service was not as exceptional as it should have been. We are always welcome constructive feedback from our guests and use it to improve. I will address your concerns in both areas and can assure you that on your next visit you will be pleased with your experience in both areas. Thank you again for your business and your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here one night on business. Good value. Very convenient to Old Orchard mall. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Small but decent fitness center. The rooms were very nice and clean. If I had one small complaint it is that they play there Muzak in the public areas including the lobby way too loud. Almost couldn't carry on a conversation. Other than that, good option if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us for either business or leisure. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudahy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This has to be one of the worst $200 (including taxes) a night hotels in the greater Chicago area. We stayed there because it was next to the North Shore Center. The room was big. Sheets were clean. That's it for the positives. Garbage bags and room service trays left in the halls, not picked up by the staff. We saw several members of the staff walk by these piles. The piles grew between the time we left for our event and our return, about 6 1/2 hours. The door into the bathroom cleared the toilet by two inches. In order to enter the bathroom we had to straddle the toilet. I took pictures - it's unreal. To get into the tub: walk in, straddle toilet, close door, unstraddle toilet, enter tub and somehow open door. Why open the door? No ventilation in the bathroom. None. The bathtub was very slow to drain, requiring rinsing of the ankles and feet in the sink. Nothing like getting out of the shower with gunk on your ankles and feet because there's standing water in the tub. The water pipes in our room squealed whenever water was used to the point that it woke me out of a sound sleep. When other rooms used water we also heard the squealing, though not as loud. Very noisy heating/cooling system. It woke both of us up every time it kicked in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Elizabeth,-

I'm so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. The concerns you mentioned are certainly not acceptable, nor are they common to our hotel. I truly apologize that we did not provide you with the excellent service that our hotel is known for, and that your room was not up to standards. I truly believe that if you give us another chance to impress you, we will not disappoint. I would love to invite you back. Please contact me directly at 847-329-4358 so I can help make up for this disappointing and unacceptable experience.

Warm Regards,

Halley Karas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was nice, as Double Trees typically are, but the cost was excessive. The restaurant attached was a Jamesons. The breakfast was great, but it closed too early at night for a weekend. The bar was too small and crowded. I could hear the cleaning staff in the hallway and neighboring room at 7am on a Sunday. Totally distracting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad you think we were a nice hotel, as we strive to always give great service and provide our guests with an exceptional stay. I have passed your comments along to our attached restaurant, and I can assure you we take your suggestions seriously. I also want to apologize about the noise you heard outside your room at 7am. I know how frustrating it can be to be woken up earlier than you expected, especially when you are away from home and it's harder to fall back asleep. I am using your comments as a training topic in our daily meetings to help our staff improve the way they work.

Thank you again for your comments and for your business, we appreciate both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very disappointing hotel for the Doubletree chain which I expect good things from. The bathroom is old and tired. The carpets frayed and dull. Nothing about the room recommends this hotel. TV system lousy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank John S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
John,

I'm very sorry that your recent stay with us was disappointing. The problems you described are certainly unacceptable and uncommon for our hotel. I appreciate that you took the time to let us know what we could be doing better, as that allows us to continue to improve. I would like to talk to you more about your stay and see what we can do to bring you back, as I'm positive we can wow you if given a second chance. I can be reached at 847-329-4358. I look forward to hearing from you. We value you as our guest and appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,

Halley Karas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing