We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for seven nights at this property during a recent vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff at this hotel is outstanding! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We particularly appreciated how friendly and courteous Samir was when he checked us in. He made a very genuine effort to converse with us and to make us feel very welcomed.

The room was very spacious, and the king size bed was very comfortable. We appreciated the refrigerator in the room as well. The bathroom was rather small, and my wife had a hard time adjusting the water pressure and temperature in the shower.

We relied on public transportation during our stay, and the location was relatively convenient for us. However, most of the nearby bus routes don't run past every evening, so if you're going to be out late, you may need to catch a cab back to the hotel. We found that to be a relatively minor inconvenience, considering that we paid less than half of what we would've paid for a hotel in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfoodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are definitely in a prime location, far enough from downtown to avoid high prices and close enough to public transportation to get everywhere you want to go. Our complimentary hotel shuttle even brings guests to the Yellow Line which is your gateway to downtown and the rest of Chicagoland.

We agree, Samir is a beacon of customer service. We are lucky to have him and so glad you got to experience his hospitality on your vacation. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed two nights at this property and thoroughly enjoyed it. There's no "free" breakfast, but there are places in walking distance. Internet was free and worked well and parking is also free. The room was nice. The location is outstanding. The employees were very friendly. . .and what is there not to like about free chocolate chip cookies along with free apples. The hotel was very busy when we were there, but there was never noise in the halls. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NearlyRetired68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel! I'm so glad you found our FREE amenities, such as parking, internet, cookies and apples to be such a value. I'm glad we succeeded in exceeding your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family. One of the best things is the location across from a very nice outdoor mall with great shops. I did not have a car, and the mall is a 5 minute walk at most.

The hotel staff is helpful and always friendly, something any weary traveler appreciates. I always need extra towels, and the front desk staff and housekeepers accommodated my requests. Other pluses: room service breakfast was served within the promised time, and my omelets were better than average. The exercise room, while not huge, was clean and pleasant with good treadmills and open 24 hours. Also, the internet is decent and free, rare these days.

The hotel room was perfectly fine. I had a single upgrade and the room was a good size.

My only complaints: the bathroom is way too small and badly out of date. The fixtures need to be upgraded and there needs to be some ventilation in the bathroom. Also the carpeting is old and tired looking.

All in all a good, solid hotel. With larger, upgraded bathrooms, the hotel could approach 4.5 stars.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Monica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write a review. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations in helpfulness, location, food quality, free amenities such as internet, as well as other parts of your stay. I wish we could make our bathrooms larger too! We are always striving to improve our hotel and bathroom upgrades are ongoing. I'm so happy you found your room to be spacious and nice. We look forward to welcoming you back at the DoubleTree Chicago North Shore on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our first visit to Chicago. The service at this hotel was fantastic. The staff was all very friendly as everyone made it a point to greet guests at all hours of the day. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was fanstastic and the host at the restaurant (I think her name was Dora) was especially friendly and kind to offer us suggestions on the "must-see" attractions of Chicago. We were travelling with young children (under 5 years old) and this hotel met most of our needs. (I only wish there was access to a microwave oven to assist with warming up baby bottles).
Overall this hotel offered a comfortable stay and a hassel-free experience! I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are smaller than the rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hi Marina,

Thanks for reviewing our hotel. I'm so glad you got to chat with Dora during your stay, she is a wonderful person and provides a warm and friendly touch to our breakfast experience each morning. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The first thing one notices when entering the hotel is that one is taken back to the 1960s. Although the hotel has been renovated quite a bit, it still has the appearance of the 1960s. Colors throughout are muted dark browns, tans, ivory. A bit dull. Decor is very uninspiring. Baths are a bit small. Has all the other amenities one would expect at an "upscale' Hilton property including an attached restaurant. There is a Mall just across the street. Many nearby restaurant's. Free shuttle available for travel within a 5 mile radius. Has several large meeting/conference/ballrooms. Very clean. Very helpful and caring staff.

Room Tip: Absolutely visit the main shopping district as well as the Baha'i House of Worship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorfromFlorida70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about our lovely hotel. I'm glad you found all the amenities you expected at an upscale Hilton brand. We care a great deal about our guests and love to offer them free high speed wireless internet, free parking, free cookies at check in and free fresh fruit in the lobby. Our hotel decor does feature sophisticated, yet muted tones and we were renovated just a few years ago. I'm so glad you mentioned our helpful and caring staff, we truly value all of our guests and cannot wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not a bad hotel, but the bathroom is tiny, you can't sit on the toilet and open the door (not that someone should open the door when you're on the toilet). Definitely not enough room for two people to get ready for a wedding at the same time. Other than that, the room was good aside from an odd smell that you had to get used to. It wasn't a foul smell, just smelled like an aunt's house that burns candles to cover the smoker smell. Conveniently located near the shopping area if you need to buy that last minute wedding git.

Bed was really comfy, room was clean, front desk folks were friendly. Overall, it was a nice two night stay, unfortunately, not much you can do with the small bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our wonderful hotel! I'm glad you found our staff friendly and our rooms clean and comfortable. Our bathrooms are a bit cozy but nicely appointed with all new, upscale, stainless steel amenities. We hope to see you again when you are in the North Shore area. Thanks for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. The staff is SO friendly, you are greeted with warm cookies at check in. Rooms are clean and hotel is convenient to travel. Pool is clean and is indoor, outdoor. Will stay here any time I am in the area!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidlk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to the DoubleTree Chicago North Shore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range: $97 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing