We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms out back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Kenilworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The rooms out back”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

All I know is that I got one of the rooms "out back" and it was damn scary! The rooms in the 120s. Investigate those. Not dated 90s or laughable 80s. It's damn scary.
Ring around the toilet (unclean, not hard water). Scary AC (stuff in vents and blowing) out. Health hazard carpet from 30 years ago. I bought it through a 3rd party and I'm beginning to think that they give you the cast off rooms from the 1970s (and rarely cleaned since the 1970s) as punishment for booking through a 3rd party. They must know you can't get your money back if you book through a 3rd party. I wore my shower shoes. Serious health hazard. This wing needs to be investigated. If you get a room "out back", refuse it, don't even go to investigate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vianey R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Mrs T,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your recent stay experience. We appreciate all reviews positive and negative. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable in the room and that you where not able to have a pleasant stay. I will be sharing your comments with the appropriate department, and we will work on improving the conditions of our rooms. We do not want you to think that you where place in a certain side of our hotel because you booked through a third party. We truly value each of our guest and our goal is for everyone to leave happy. I would like to have the honor of speaking with you and be able to discuss the matter. I hope you would consider giving our facility another try so we can prove to you that we take pride in what we do.
Best wishes,
Vianey Rodriguez
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    143
    86
    75
    71
See reviews for
160
69
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was gorgeous. After 13 hours on the road a welcomed sight. Friendly staff with quick service. Food at their grill/bar was great. The hotel looked and felt like a high class expensive hotel. The pool area was very clean and nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, WI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did a overnight here for a Saturday evening wedding and there is certainly a lot going on inside their walls. We reviewed their Pub, Bar Louie's separately as their service needed be rated individually. The hotel is busy, at times very busy, but that should lend to more economy of size, not less. We arrived after 3 PM as instructed and our room was a 45 to 60 minute wait. We told them we were with the wedding party and the shuttle was @ 4 PM; there would be no time to dress in our wedding cloths. After insisting and having two apparent supervisors get involved we were assigned a room. Sadly, it was the "we pissed them off room"; first floor behind the elevators and next to the pool & hot tub opening. Think small hallway, lots of guests heading somewhere...all the time. Oh well, we had insisted, right?. We went from King bed to two doubles (no discount either), and room was, other than the noise, adequately clean & fresh. We paid wedding rate of $125 + Tax etc. but never received any sort of breakfast, coffee or cocktail vouchers. Don't know if we were supposed to or rushing them cancelled them. Everyone else seemed to have gotten something, at least lobby coffee but that doesn't exist either...HMmmm....Well we will be more diligent with our Hotel check-in moving forward....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieKen_8_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear BarbieKen_8_Here,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced at check-in. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff at check in were great: friendly and welcoming. The outside of the hotel and the lobby looked great, so I was excited to see our guest rooms. However, as soon as you pass the lobby, things started to change--the place aged about 10 years. The room had a smell to it, not a horrible smell, but reminded me of staying at grandma's house. The carpet looked like it had water damage maybe from guests coming back from the pool. The room looked like it needed a makeover.

Despite the wear and tear of the guest rooms, we enjoyed Bar Louie, the restaurant in the hotel and the location --close to the city and other eateries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear karen v,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you appreciate the service you received from our staff as well as the restaurant and our location. We apologize for the disappointment the room condition had caused you. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. Despite your disappointment we do hope you will stay with us again when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've stayed on and off at this hotel over the years for various reasons. I've always liked it because its well located right off the Eden expressway, not too far from O'Hare airport, and in easy reach of shopping, dining, and various Chicago activities.

If you need to get downtown its a very straight shot, albeit depending on the time of day, can still be a trek. At least you're as well positioned.

The hotel has always been clean, comfortable, and (for Chicago) relatively affordable. The staff and in house restaurant are good, parking is easy, and the area feels fresh and busy (although a bit away).

Overall a solid choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a fun day in nearby Chicago. We wanted an affordable yet nice hotel and to avoid paying for parking at our hotel, yet not be too far from the Chicago museums (which are about a 20 min drive). Food in the restaurant is good also. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie59884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The checkin staff was polite, helpful, friendly. checking out we had to wait while all three staff members worked on another guest checkout.

The room was large and clean. But there were numerous warn places on the woodwork and carpeting throughout the hotel.

Also VERY quiet. Parking was good.

Oh, the waitress at breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear CatgirlGR,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and service.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the carpet condition. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago North Shore - Niles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Address: 5300 W. Touhy Ave, Skokie, IL 60077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Chicago Hotels...Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Hotel near Downtown Chicago and O'Hare Airport. Welcome to the Holiday Inn North Shore Hotel. From the hotel's immediate surroundings in Skokie to the heart of downtown Chicago, we offer a full assortment of diversions, services and opportunities. Area attractions include: Downtown Chicago, Brauer Museum of Art, Chicago Botanic Garden, Adler Planetarium, Wrigley Field (Home of MLB's Chicago Cubs), Soldier Field (home of the NFL's Chicago Bears), and Navy Pier to name a few! Area businesses near our hotel include: Life Time Fitness, North Shore Center for the Performing Arts, Music Institute of Chicago, The Winnetka Community House, Bahai Temple, O'Hare Airport, Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, and Midway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Skokie Hotel Skokie
Holiday Inn North Shore
Holiday Inn Skokie
Skokie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing