We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our #1 go-to restaurant!”

Yolo Mexican Eatery
Ranked #18 of 207 Restaurants in Skokie
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our #1 go-to restaurant!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We love everything about Yolo. It's small and quiet, the service is excellent, the upscale Mexican cuisine is always above average and the prices are surprisingly low, thanks to BYOB. Don't miss this experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbie8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
evanston,il
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful Mexican in north suburb”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased to see that Skokie now had another Mexican eatery, listed on the Michelin bib gourmand list. Added attraction :BYOB. Our party was seated at a lovely booth, the neighbour unfortunately was a little jumpy but that did not diminish our positive impression of the food. Excellent mole with chicken; complex favors, very nice portion. Not sure what another reviewer was complaining about, all portions were more than enough for 1 meal, friend took part of hers home. Delicious sides with the crane Assad and the chicken and the enchiladas. Wonderful fresh guacamole and excellent ceviche. Everything was fresh, delightful servers, really pleasant evening. Will be back soon. Great addition to the local restaurant scene.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sitsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service,atmosphere”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had an excellent dinner with great service this past Tuesday. The meal was not only delicious but beautifully presented. The chips and salsa before the meal were very different, thick, spiced right and the salsa was just hot enough. We recommend the guacamole. Our waitress brought over some warm tortillas for us to spread out left over guacamole on and it was delicious. The pechuga de pollo moctezuma was wonderful. I loved the sauce. The enchilada entree was also excellent. All in all it was great dining experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marpau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yo So So”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We anticipated well-prepared and authentic Mexican food at this intimate restaurant. It did taste well-prepared and authentic, but the first problem was the dainty portion sizes. Carne Asada Azteca was flavorful and juicy, but the steak was petite. Mole Negro Yolotl is described on the menu as a "bone-in" chicken breast. The mole sauce was fairly rich and complex, but the diminutive bird was quite boneless. At $15.95, this was not a great value - a Chick-Fil-A chicken sandwich contains more chicken. Another member of our party was altogether disappointed with the chicken enchiladas.

The second problem was the service, which bordered on both clumsy and arrogant. A distracted server poured water into an already overfilled glass, soaking the placemat and floor. But more important, be advised of the restaurant's "no substitutions" policy and the chef's reluctance to put sauces on the side, which translates into the front room's less-than-adroit responses to special requests or dietary needs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodFight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a dinner out”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came here for the second time on our anniversary. They are BYOB, so we were able to bring a bottle of wine we had bought on our honeymoon. It was a Tuesday night, so we did not make reservations which was fine. There were still a good number of people seated when we arrived around 6, but they had some tables available. There was one waitress for the entire dining room, which had been the case the one other time we had gone. With eight tables it is usually fine, but the last time was on the weekend and I remember the service being a little slower. No such problem on a Tuesday. I ordered the mignon tlaxcala, which was a very generous size filet with a pepper sauce on top along with some roasted veggies and rice. My husband ordered the carne asada azteca which had really good flavor and came with a cactus salad. Both dishes were well seasoned, and even though they were meat dishes they didn't feel super heavy. The waitress was very friendly and made sure our water glasses were full. She offered us a dessert for our anniversary, but we had plans to go out for ice cream so we passed. Next time I would like to try their flan or chocolate mousse cake. One thing I will mention is that it was warm in the restaurant. Not unbearable, especially since we were enjoying a really good bottle of wine, but if you are expecting the cool blast of AC found in many other restaurants you should be prepared.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNS514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yolo Mexican Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Yolo Mexican Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing