We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-maintained charmer, hosts couldn't be more gracious”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thalina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well-maintained charmer, hosts couldn't be more gracious”
Reviewed April 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Flagg Farmstead the night before closing on our new home, and we were so happy we chose this place!

The hosts are very gracious, and they make you feel right at home.

The house has got a lot of character, and you can tell they've put a lot of work into it. The owner told us he was working on converting the upper floor into a "rec room" for guests to relax in.

The breakfast was delicious (the waffles were light as air), and the homemade granola couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
194
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We came down to Springfield to see the museums and found history in the making at Flagg Farmstead. Rose and Doug gave us the history of the house and current gossip about Springfield. They also had great suggestions about where to visit and went out of their way to collect information for us. The room was cozy, comfortable and everything we wanted. Breakfast was wonderful. Stars at night were brilliant. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoPrettywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2009

My husband and I recently spent a night in the Sarah Flagg Room at Flagg Farmstead. The room was spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable. The attached bathroom had all the modern conveniences we could want. Our hosts went out of their way to put us at ease, and give a fascinating history of the home when we asked. Breakfast was delicious! This is a beautiful home in a lovely setting with wonderful owners - we plan to visit again if we're back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyjean56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rluzadde
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed at The Flagg Farmstead Bed & Breakfast during our visit to Springfield. The house is beautiful, the room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was filling and delicious! The host and hostess were friendly. We would stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rluzadde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This was our first stay at a B and B and we had a wonderful first experience. The hosts were very accomodating to anything we might need, like drinks, games, setting up a table for us. The house was beautiful and well taken care of and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandA92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The couple that run the B&B are very nice and made us feel very at home. They also filled us in on the history of the home, which was very interesting. Our room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious. The B&B is about 15 minutes from downtown Springfield so it is close to the museaums and other sites. Great visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We decided at the last minute to come up to Springfield for Valentine's Day weekend. Given that fact and the Lincoln Bicentennial, we were very fortunate to find that the Flagg Farmstead had a room available. This bed and breakfast is top of the line. Doug and Rosalie were able to call several resturants and give us recomendations. The breakfast was also very enjoyable. The Lincoln bedroom was great with a private bath.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackerbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherman
6.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
683 reviews
6.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Property: The Flagg Farmstead
Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing