We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic home with lovely decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flagg Farmstead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful historic home with lovely decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The couple that run the B&B are very nice and made us feel very at home. They also filled us in on the history of the home, which was very interesting. Our room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious. The B&B is about 15 minutes from downtown Springfield so it is close to the museaums and other sites. Great visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
189
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

We decided at the last minute to come up to Springfield for Valentine's Day weekend. Given that fact and the Lincoln Bicentennial, we were very fortunate to find that the Flagg Farmstead had a room available. This bed and breakfast is top of the line. Doug and Rosalie were able to call several resturants and give us recomendations. The breakfast was also very enjoyable. The Lincoln bedroom was great with a private bath.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackerbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

Great stay. Doug and Rose were great hosts and have done a wonderful job fixing up the Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast was very good. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

This was a great place to stay, not far from Springfield for dining or the attractions. We went with some other couples and had the whole place to ourselves (five bedrooms). The hosts were great and very accomodating to our needs. After dining out, we had brought some dessert along, and Rose & Doug had coffee and tea already prepared for us when we returned. They were wonderful! We enjoyed the background of the home and they were more than happpy to answer any questions we had for them. Thanks for the wonderful experience we had this weekend. It was way above the average.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Family527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

The owners (Doug and Rosalie) were very attentive to our needs and our room was clean and quaint. The bed and breakfast is a short drive to many President Lincoln historical sights as well as many restaurants in downtown Springfield. Shortly after we arrived, Doug suggested a fabulous restaurant for dinner and called for a reservation on our behalf. Breakfast the following day was made by Rosalie and was served in a classically furnished dining room. Overall, our stay at the Flagg Farmstead was very relaxing and enjoyable and we would surely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

Our family celebrated a late Christmas together at The Flagg Farmstead Bed & Breakfast in Sherman, IL, just outside of Springfield. It was great being together in such a unique setting! The home, built in 1871, was beautiful and well kept, and was still beautifully decorated for Christmas even though it was Jan. 2-4. We piled our presents around the 9-foot Christmas tree in the main parlor, where we opened our gifts and had the fireplace on for added warmth and coziness. We played games around the big dining room table where we ate the delicious breakfasts prepared by the owners. We used the entire upper floor, as we needed all four bedrooms, each with its own bath, each handsomely appointed! The beds were comfortable and the showers were hot & relaxing! The Farmstead is about 10 minutes from many nice restaurants in Springfield. The owners, Doug & Rosalie, are among the most gracious people we've met, and we loved hearing Doug tell of the history of the Farmstead. We hope to someday return!

  • Liked — The beauty and history of the house
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwms256
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

We were in Springfield, IL for a church convention. We have stayed in several B&Bs and love them. We searched the internet and found the Flagg Farmstead. It was even better than we anticipated. The hosts (Doug & Rosalie) are gracious and welcoming, seeing to our every need. The room was beautifully decorated and very inviting. There were little things which made our stay so pleasant (books to read, candy to snack on, pop in the refrigerator, etc.). The food was delicious and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests over breakfast.

If you have never tried a B&B, you should try this one. We are planning another trip back there next year!

  • Liked — The hosts were fabulous
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwms256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherman
6.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
6.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
12.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Property: The Flagg Farmstead
Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing