We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at The Flagg Farmstead”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Our family celebrated a late Christmas together at The Flagg Farmstead Bed & Breakfast in Sherman, IL, just outside of Springfield. It was great being together in such a unique setting! The home, built in 1871, was beautiful and well kept, and was still beautifully decorated for Christmas even though it was Jan. 2-4. We piled our presents around the 9-foot Christmas tree in the main parlor, where we opened our gifts and had the fireplace on for added warmth and coziness. We played games around the big dining room table where we ate the delicious breakfasts prepared by the owners. We used the entire upper floor, as we needed all four bedrooms, each with its own bath, each handsomely appointed! The beds were comfortable and the showers were hot & relaxing! The Farmstead is about 10 minutes from many nice restaurants in Springfield. The owners, Doug & Rosalie, are among the most gracious people we've met, and we loved hearing Doug tell of the history of the Farmstead. We hope to someday return!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 352 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2008

We were in Springfield, IL for a church convention. We have stayed in several B&Bs and love them. We searched the internet and found the Flagg Farmstead. It was even better than we anticipated. The hosts (Doug & Rosalie) are gracious and welcoming, seeing to our every need. The room was beautifully decorated and very inviting. There were little things which made our stay so pleasant (books to read, candy to snack on, pop in the refrigerator, etc.). The food was delicious and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests over breakfast.

If you have never tried a B&B, you should try this one. We are planning another trip back there next year!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwms256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Flagg Farmstead is a ountry mansion located 15 minutes from Springfield. My husband and I booked a room for one night on a whim for our one year anniversary. It was our first B&B. Our Polite hosts have got us hooked on the B&B experience. The home is cozy and inviting and Doug Polite went above and beyond, even reserving a spot for us at a restaurant in Springfield the night we checked in. Rosalie Polite's breakfast was very tasty. The only con was that the room we stayed in (Lincoln room) was very cold in comparison to the public areas of the house. We definitely enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Flagg Farmstead. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We had a great overnight stay in this charming home. The hosts are very warm and welcoming, and gave us great advice on restaurants, etc. It is very convenient to the downtown Springfield sites- just a short drive. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joank1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stately. Warm. Friendly. Accomodating. My husband and I spent a fun filled weekend with Doug and Rosalie Polite and three other couples. Doug showed us around and oriented us to the beautiful Flagg Farmstead B&B. He advised us on restaurants and attractions. Our room was beautiful and comfortable.

Interestingly, we celebrated 3 birthdays over a Black Forest Cake that was ordered by Rosalie from a local bakery. A few of us sat around the Dining Room table talking about the events of the day, sipping tea and drinking coffee. We learned more about the Flagg Farmstead and traded stories with our hosts about fun things to do in the area.

Our stay was great. It's wonderful that Doug and Rosalie have opened their home to travelers and are so personable. If you're looking for relaxed, friendly, and warm accomodations, the Flagg Farmstead B&B is the place that will delight you with its , hosts, history, and hospitality Have fun!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Trailmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Doug and Rosalie Polite live up their last name. Polite hosts who know how to make their clients feel relaxed. The are really good at 'midwestern' hospitality. We 'lucked' into this B&B via a website for B&Bs in the Springfield area. Doug continues working to make their place even better and Rosalie continues to cook those too good to be true breakfasts. We recommend this B&B without reservation and we've stayed at several in the U.S. and the British Isles.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DonandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

First time staying in a B & B and it was fantastic. Wonderful rooms, food, atmosphere, everything. Far exceeded our expectations. Doug and his wife Rosalie could not have been better hosts. Will be making yearly trips to Springfield on business and will definitely stay there again (and again). Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank usdeputysurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing