We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL STAY!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at The Flagg Farmstead at the end of September for
2 nights. It is a lovely historic home – beautiful, impeccably clean, elegantly decorated and very accommodating. The setting is lovely and quiet.
The owners, Doug & Rosalie are very gracious and friendly hosts...very knowledgeable of the home’s history/stories, which they love to share with the guests. Also they are very knowledgeable of the area/Springfield – historical sites, back roads to take, etc. Our room was very comfortable (stayed in the Lincoln room), charming and spotless. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast, which is served in a very lovely dining room. For early risers, morning coffee is available prior to breakfast service as well. Being only a 10-15 min drive to Springfield
makes it a great location! Tickets were included with our stay for the Lincoln Presidential Museum (A must to visit!). We truly enjoyed our stay at the Flagg Farmstead and highly recommend it – Enjoy! (AND thanks to Doug and Rosalie for making our stay so enjoyable!!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happykids3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 353 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We 'happened' upon this wonderful B & B via Trip Advisor as we were booking reservations on a recent trip to Missouri. It's a perfectly glorious historic site and Doug and Rosalie were warm and wonderful as they shared the history of the house/property. The room was clean and warmly decorated, the decor within the house was in the period of the architecture yet included their own family photos which gives the guests a feeling of being "a part of the family". Additionally, they provided complimentary tickets to the Lincoln Museum in Springfield, so they are marketers of the history that Springfield provides. We loved the breakfast and the relaxing conversation we shared with them. We hope to return!

Room Tip: One needs to be able to climb stairs.........although we didn't even think to ask if an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We usually stay at B & B's because we like the "homey" feel and talking to other guests. This historic property was beautiful. Loved sitting on the front porch and watching the sun set. The rooms were cozy and beautifully decorated. And the breakfast was super! The owners are gracious in sharing the history of the property and making recommendations. You can sit and read or enjoy the nearby Lincoln history attractions. This is worth the stay. Would certainly recommend especially if you love history and old houses.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajs183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

There are many lovely B&Bs across the country - Flagg Farmstead included. One of the reasons why we B&B is that we appreciate the tremendous history of the original families, the homes, property, community and landmarks. We also love interacting with the proprietors and other guests. Doug and Rosalie were wonderful hosts - suggesting off-the-beaten-path sites and great dining spots near historic Springfield, IL. They are knowledgeable and interactive - helping guests make the most of their experience. The home is beautiful and the rooms beautiful and nicely appointed. This B&B helped to make our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friends and I had a lovely visit to the Springfield area and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Flagg Farmstead. Doug and Rosalie are most gracious hosts and the home is beautiful. Each room was very comfortably decorated and each had a private bath. The front porch was so inviting both morning and evening. Breakfasts were delicious both mornings. And, we really enjoyed meeting Izzy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Flagg Farmstead B&B was our first experience in staying at a B&B. The house was beautiful & charming both inside and out. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. (We stayed in Sarah's room) The hospitality was great with a great breakfast to start our day. Plan on staying there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The house is made of 3 bricks thick, so we could hear no road noise. Very quite inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent rooms with private bath..Great rates that beat any upscale hotel,Rooms are large size and very very quiet on second floor with four other rooms..Glad we stayed,with good home cooked breakfast to start our morning off in the dining room..Nice porch to drink a few at sunset and to have your coffee at dawn..This is the place to stay if your in the springfield,IL area..Place also has hifi internet if needed and safe parking for your vehicle or motorcycle like us..Will always stay here next time we spend nite in springfield..thanks doug and rosie for a great stay and awesome house.

Room Tip: All rooms on second floor with winding staircase..So if unable to climb a few stairs in this histori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyrogersusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing