We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice BED but blah BREAKFAST”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice BED but blah BREAKFAST”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Overall, our 2 day stay was great but we won't be back. Our entire trip was wonderful. The house is beautiful, the bed is so comfortable... however, the couple -Doug and Rose were a bit curt and seemed forced to be friendly (?). We didn't get the right vibes. We've stayed in many BnBs in the past and in this one, we found ourselves tiptoeing and whispering our conversations. There was another couple staying there and they were much better at playing "hosts". Also, I don't think Rose can cook. The breakfast was ok. Nothing to write home about- some cut-up fruits with a dab of yogurt and granola in a wine glass, 2 pieces of bacon, scrambled egg OR waffles, coffee and juice. It tasted ok. The portion is "enough and light" -not a scrumptious or generous portion, just enough. To other reviewers, this may sound SO HEAVENLY but it's nothing extraordinary to me. I've had better ones at those express hotels- no biggie. Just a bit disappointed--I expected great Bed and great Breakfast - they fell short on breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrails030611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
198
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walls, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at upscale motels/hotels and bed and breakfasts from Key West to Kennebunkport and from Savannah to San Diego--this one rates right at the top. The proprietors are super-friendly and their home/B&B is immaculate. Breakfast the two days we stayed (we only planned for one night, but couldn't resist to stay again) was light and tasty in a dining room fit for a king. We saw all the rooms, stayed in two, and all of them are beautifully appointed in period accoutrements that match the style of the home. If you are ever in Springfield to see all the Abraham Lincoln displays, do your best to stay at Flagg Farmstead. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay in the Lincoln Room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Farmstead for our anniversary in June and were absolutely blown away by the beauty of the residence and the service by the owners. The grounds were beautiful, the house fantastic and the breakfast to die for. We will definitely be staying here again and again. I have never felt more at home without being at home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic and have so much history
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsjp2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House Springs, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had an excellent experience. Greeted as soon as arrived. Rosalie and Doug are very friendly. Beautiful home and well maintained. Delicious breakfasts. Close to sites in Springfield and yet in a more quiet setting. Beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cornelius Flagg Room. The jacuzzi tub was very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maschellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Sarah Flagg room - simply wonerful. The hosts are a delight - helpful & friendly but not intrusive. Breakfasts were superb. We relaxed on the big porch and watched the sunset while the fireflies came out all over the huge yard - magical. Easy to get into Springfield & all tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newburyport3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Beautiful place! Great service & great breakfast! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 882edwardjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldon, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have stayed in many B&B's in several states but The Flagg Farmstead is at the top of our short list! The rooms were well done, very clean, and the home is so well built, we wish ours was like it. The hosts, Rosalie and Doug Polite were so accommodating for our vacation to Springfield, we wish they could be at the end of every destination. WOW sums up our stay perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherman
4.0 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
701 reviews
6.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Northfield Inn, Suites & Conference Center
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Property: The Flagg Farmstead
Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing