We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic & beautifully rennovated 19th Century "Farm"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely historic & beautifully rennovated 19th Century "Farm"”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Sarah Flagg room - simply wonerful. The hosts are a delight - helpful & friendly but not intrusive. Breakfasts were superb. We relaxed on the big porch and watched the sunset while the fireflies came out all over the huge yard - magical. Easy to get into Springfield & all tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newburyport3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
194
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Beautiful place! Great service & great breakfast! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 882edwardjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldon, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have stayed in many B&B's in several states but The Flagg Farmstead is at the top of our short list! The rooms were well done, very clean, and the home is so well built, we wish ours was like it. The hosts, Rosalie and Doug Polite were so accommodating for our vacation to Springfield, we wish they could be at the end of every destination. WOW sums up our stay perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Flagg Farmstead is absolutely gorgeous. The hosts are warm and friendly. The rooms are exceptionally clean. The New Salem room is a step back in time and very lovely. You can't go wrong with this property! The hosts are wonderful and do anything they can to see that you are happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Pre, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I spent 1 night and wished we could stay longer. Doug and Rose were great hosts and the house had a rich historical past, yet was still comfortable in every way. The location could not have been better as it allowed for us to spend time visiting historical Springfield the experience of which was enhanced by complimentary tickets to the Abe Lincoln Museum.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_halletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Flagg Farmstead to celebrate his birthday. The B&B is a very beautiful, peaceful and pleasant B&B: very clean, tastefully decorated, reasonably priced, with sumptuous breakfasts and hosts who are genuinely friendly and helpful. We stayed at the Flagg Farmstead as a base for our visit to the Lincoln Presidential Museum and home. The home's historic background that Doug gave us upon arrival was interesting. We would definitely return if ever back in the Springfield area. One special extra: my husband's pancake breakfast our first morning came complete with a lighted birthday candle. What a special treat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwisemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbon, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2011

My husband and I along with another couple enjoyed 3 nights of being pampered at the Flagg Farmstead. Its location is a little off the beaten path, but offers peace and quiet.
The house has been beautifully restored and is filled with lovely antiques. The bedrooms were quiet and comfortable. The 3 story stairway is a work of art. We will be back when the third floor is finished so we can enjoy it too! The breakfasts were delicious and very elegant to people used to cold cereal and instant oatmeal. It was the perfect place to stay while visiting nearby New Salem and Springfield.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherman
6.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
683 reviews
6.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Property: The Flagg Farmstead
Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing