We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Get Away, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Get Away, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We came in on RCI timeshare. The staff was excellent, very courteous, nice & helpful. The condo we stayed in was appointed very nicely & spacious & had fireplace. Especially love it when you have a big jacuzzi tub in master suite. The grounds are nice & lot's to do in nice weather. Starved Rock State Park nearby. The pool was great, very clean and nice and warm. The surrounding area is rich in history. Ottawa, IL has wonderful architecture and The HyWay & Brite Spot restaurants are great value for your buck.

The only negative was the noise above and below us from other people. They seemed to come home at 10pm and stay up all night and you can hear every footstep & door being opened & closed. Couldn't wait to get home and get a good night's sleep. Still recovering three days later! No elevator - be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    67
    58
    26
    24
See reviews for
129
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Upon arrival, the staff was courteous. The room was clean. The bedroom had a stunning view. Our purpose was to get away for a few days and just. That was what we did. I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank chelle638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We arrived at the resort around 7PM which happen to be the rush hour for people checking in. The tone of our vacation was set in a very positive and friendly way when we were processed at registration. Christene Benson made an extra effort to make sure our vacation starts on a positive note. The 5 hole golf course was well maintained even in early Fall. Our unit was clean and had that welcome home atmosphere. The Activity Center customer service maybe able to use improvement. The kids or personnel behind the Activity counter were too busy socializing amongst themselves and forgot to provide good customer service. The overall review was still very positive and good, we would highly recommend this resort to other couples or families.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OrioV_Tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

This is a nice resort to get away at. Many of the reviews on here have been bad and I do not see it. Ive stayed here 6 times over the past 3 years. This is not a 5 Start resort top dollar resort. If your looking for that spend more money and go get that. This is a nice family resort. The front desk has its ups and downs. Ive had extremely friendly check ins and some people that weren't very friendly. Nothing that would make me not want to stay here. Some people on here are complaining about the decor. It has a RUSTIC theme.....which means the rooms have "lodge" type furniture and rustic paint jobs. The paint is not peeling like one review said, its painted to look that way! If you do not like this theme do not stay here! I happen to love the outdoors and the "rustic" or "lodge" decor and think the log furniture is awesome. If it was not so expensive Id get it for my house! As far as the cleanliness..... the rooms are just as clean as any other hotel I have stayed at. Not perfect if you look in every corner of every room but clean and comfortable. There is a small grocery store, gas station, pizza store all right down the road from the resort. There is wal-mart and every other store/food establishment only 12 miles away in a much larger town. At the resort there is fishing, canoeing, basketball, swimming, awesome sledding, nice horseback riding along some beautiful trails, camping, baseball/soccer area, hiking, golf, mini golf, arcade, family center with pool table, area to get snacks/sandwiches, etc. Along with that Starved Rock Stave Park, Illini State Park and other are located within a 30 min drive that are beautiful with full boating, miles of hiking, hunting, bars, night life, and anything else you could want. The indoor pool in in a older building that has all glass sides that side open during the summer. Its nice because if it rains they can close the roof and you can still swim! Its also open all winter. The 2nd pool is an outdoor pool and hot tub that is only open during the warmer months. I could go on but just know this...... this is a nice resort to go relax at, enjoy the outdoors, let the kids have fun, etc. This is not the Ritz Carlton at $2000 a night so don't expect everything to be perfect! Its a cheap getaway that almost any person would love to experience. PS.... The free wireless internet is only available in the common area which has the arcade, movie theater, snack bar, pool table, etc. Lots of tables/ areas to sit!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lookwithnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Fox River Resort is NOT for everyone. Make sure to choose the right fit for your vacation, or you'll be disappointed.
We live just over an hour from the resort and find it great for long weekends with the kids where we're not looking to be running around doing tons of tourist activities. The resort is located in small-town America, where you can dine with locals at the General Store for breakfast (think Waffle House with more personality), play 18 holes of golf in a course cut into nearby corn fields (think Field of Dreams meets Tin Cup), and enjoy all the basics of a stay-in and play getaway.
We take puzzles and board games, movies, and toys for the kids, and have also taken a pop-up trailer for the campgrounds. It is definitely not a 5 star resort, though the amenities are all very comfortable.
In my experience, many of the guests are like us - people looking to get out of the city - and not detination travelers, who are looking for easy access to big city comforts.
If all you need is a few outings from your apartment, then there are those: go-cart course in town, decent wine restaurant 10 minutes away, Starved Rock State Park with hiking and picnic areas - 30 minutes away, and of course the cornfield golf course - 5 minutes away.
Set your expectations right, and choose what you need.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bpritts75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed at Silverleaf's Fox River Resort at the end of September, 2009. Found through RCI timeshare exchange, we didn't know what to expect when we got there, as this was our first exchange.

We were given a Presidential Suite and couldn't have been more pleased! The lock-off efficiency was nice, with a full kitchen and bath, but the Master Suite was nicer than our home! The jacuzzi tub was a wonderful treat, the king bed was very comfortable, kitchen was roomy, and seating area with flat TV was great. We were on the ground floor, so had a lovely patio, with access to a charcoal grill just steps from our door.

Unfortunately, the purpose of our visit was to see my grandmother, who was hospitalized, and in a facility 1 1/2 hours away. Therefore, most of our time was spent off of the resort. The weather wasn't great either, so we weren't that upset, but most definitely would have liked to enjoy the beautiful grounds and all the amenities the resort had to offer. The horseback riding, golf course, the putt-putt course, movies, etc. Definitely a place I could have enjoyed a week without leaving. We did avail ourselves of the indoor pool during a couple rainy days. Very nice facility.

Do stop in a local town for groceries and cook your meals there. There is pizza available across the road from the access, and it was good, but we enjoyed cooking and saving money more. On your way in, it will seem like you're driving into the middle of nowhere, but shopping really is only 15-20 min. away. Being so far SouthWest of Chicago, I rated it 3 on Location. I actually LOVE being in the middle of nowhere, but I understand that Chicago would be a main attraction, and the drive could put people off.

A great restaurant to visit is Hank's. They'll be able to give you directions.

There are lots of area happenings in the warmer months, from county fairs to Wine Festivals. Chicago is about 1 1/2 hours away, just do NOT get caught in rush hour traffic. In Chicago, see the Shedd Aquarium, Millenium Park, The Robie House, Museum of Science and Industry, and Navy Pier.

I would definitely recommend this resort! I have read other reviews that were not as positive, and did not find a single complaint of anyone else's valid, except for those who recommended a top floor unit if you are easily disturbed by noise. We could hear footfalls of the people above us, but we didn't think it was unbearable. I understand how others may, though.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaitala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Dont bother, the pictures online look good and then you get there. Needs renovating. Their idea of outdoor swimming pool is building glass walls around a pool that was meant for outside by the campground. Basketball courts bad shape.
Horseback riding cmon its a little corral with horses and I have no idea where you would ride at.
And the marketing strategy they use to get you there as far as offering you a Vegas trip on the STRIP, if you come tour the run down place. Well lets just say I'm staying at a hotel that I would never book on my own and oh yeah it's 10 MILES OFF THE STRIP.
With these kinda lies off the bat I would never trust buying there.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank KellyP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheridan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheridan
19.9 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
14.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites of Morris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
19.0 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
10.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
Address: 2558 N 3653rd Rd, Sheridan, IL 60551-9400
Location: United States > Illinois > Sheridan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sheridan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Renew in Rolling Midwest Hills. The sprawling resort is located about an hour-and-a-half south of Chicago in the beautiful, rolling hills of Illinois. It features a wide range of outdoor activities for family fun. It starts with a stocked, seven-acre lake, ready for fishing. Or, rent a canoe or paddle boat and enjoy a relaxing cruise across its still waters. For swimming, we have an indoor and outdoor pool, plus the always fun year-round indoor Pirates Cay Indoor Water Park™. It features interactive water features, water slides, lazy river, food outlets and more. For sports, enjoy everything from basketball, tennis and volleyball to cross country skiing. And our 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course will help you get that swing back. Plus, the 18-hole mini golf course is a big hit with kids, as is the Activity Center with an arcade, mini movie theater and more. A playground, ball field and sports equipment and even horseback rides help round out your outdoor fun. Sheridan, IL is a rural location, making it a perfect place to get away and relax. Beautiful state parks, historic sites and golf courses are all nearby. Shopping, dining, movie theaters and other entertainment can also be found in the region. And, it's close enough to the greater Chicago area and downtown to experience a day of wonderful sites and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Fox River Hotel Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing