We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
Nearby Hotels
$138
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
$88
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Ottawa)
$84
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surrey Motel(Ottawa)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
65
82
73
35
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
82
73
35
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingnice resortthrough rcibedroom condostarved rock state parkactivities centertimeshare presentationindoor waterparkactivity roomnice unitfox river resortpaddle boatsping pongwasher and dryermain buildingspent a weekfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 286 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I were invited to visit the resort by other family members who own timeshares at the resort. The resort had plenty of activites for the entire family. My husband enjoyed the fishing, the grandchildren enjoyed the swimming pools, horseback riding, miniature golf and the movies. Overall we all had a good time and would definitely go back. However, the living quarters could use some deep cleaning and updating. I noticed there were stains on the carpet in the units, the paint on the cabinets and baseboards were worn and there were lots of large spider webs everywhere. The staff at the resort was very friendly, knowledgeable and accomodating.

With all of that being said, I think with some updating and overall housecleaning the resort can be a great family getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in the presidential unit, which we noticed was substantially newer and cleaner than the older lodge units. It was very spacious and clean, the only issues I found was with the jacuzzi, (after filling it up and turning it on I noticed disgusting black pieces of gunk were floating out of the jets and around the tub) and the noise level. If you’re on the bottom floors, the people staying upstairs can be heard VERY loudly. I believe it may be due to poor insulation but all we could hear was extremely loud stomping; at night we were unable to sleep until it stopped and quieted down at 1am.

There are many free activities offered including mini golf, swimming pools, and movies, however there is no Internet access in the suites, so you'll have to go to the activities centre to get Internet there. The resort is located quite far away from the main roads, next to acres and acres of farmland so you might have to travel a bit further to go to the more popular destinations. Pleasant accommodation (living room had a fireplace) and decent location to enjoy nature.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank missay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

The resort would be ok for families. The resort has a lot to do for families with small kids: horseback riding, board games, movies, arcade, pools, mini golf. There isn't any bars or restaurants besides a little grill with fried food and pizza. The closest town with food options or a store is a 20 minute drive. There is only one pizza place and gas station a few min away, but closed at 5 pm so you need to plan your meals ahead of time. The pools are very dirty you are too disgusted to get in and way too small and over crowded. The pond is very buggy and a lot of goose poop. Major complains are need larger, cleaner, outdoor pool and a sit down restaurant with a bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarahrachel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I took my family here on a RCI exchange. we were booked for a Presidential Unit endd up wtih a Lodge unit Upon asking front desk her response is all our owners are here and they take priority over anyone. Wasnt impressed! Then we went to our unit and found out if there was ever a flood we could of sat on the table made out of a old wood sled and used the fishing rods used for decorations to fish for food. LOL. Rooms we OK. Very rustic, full kitchen, 2 bedroom unit with a jucassi tub in master bedroom with a lock out room for the other bedroom. They had a great activities area. Outdoor pool lifeguards were very strict, only so many people allowed in at one time and the parents had to be there. There was adult swim times where the kids had to get out of the water and sit on the edge in the middle of the day and a HUGE BEE problem. My two kids very so scared of the bees. Indoor pool was so hot, enclosed in glass only the door was opened to provide some reliefe. We went to Raging Waves had a great time there, and took a day to go to Chicago on the train, loved it. As for this paticular resort I wold not return did not knock my socks off. Espically for a RCI exchange!

Room Tip: Ask for Presediantial suite.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CanadiangirAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The golf facilities are absolutely pristine, especially since they're FREE when you bring your own pull cart/clubs - very nice practice playing the five hole loop they have at the resort. The beds on the other hand are less than desirable, very firm and undualting is not what you want in your bed allthough the rooms are nice and spacious and the balconies are great! Very peaceful and serentic view from Presidentail units. The service from workers was inconsistant at best but decent. The room was not cleaned very well before we arrived which left bad first impression. Lots of nature loving things to do in the area which was enjoyable, we like to Hike at Starved Rock and other State parks in area.

Room Tip: Get Presidentaial Suite on an end, walls are paper thin!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrOysterhead_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews