We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
Nearby Hotels
$116
$96
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Ottawa)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surrey Motel(Ottawa)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
65
81
72
34
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
81
72
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingnice resortthrough rcibedroom condostarved rock state parkactivities centertimeshare presentationindoor waterparkactivity roomnice unitfox river resortpaddle boatsping pongwasher and dryermain buildingspent a weekfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 282 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We came in on RCI timeshare. The staff was excellent, very courteous, nice & helpful. The condo we stayed in was appointed very nicely & spacious & had fireplace. Especially love it when you have a big jacuzzi tub in master suite. The grounds are nice & lot's to do in nice weather. Starved Rock State Park nearby. The pool was great, very clean and nice and warm. The surrounding area is rich in history. Ottawa, IL has wonderful architecture and The HyWay & Brite Spot restaurants are great value for your buck.

The only negative was the noise above and below us from other people. They seemed to come home at 10pm and stay up all night and you can hear every footstep & door being opened & closed. Couldn't wait to get home and get a good night's sleep. Still recovering three days later! No elevator - be prepared.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Upon arrival, the staff was courteous. The room was clean. The bedroom had a stunning view. Our purpose was to get away for a few days and just. That was what we did. I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank chelle638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We arrived at the resort around 7PM which happen to be the rush hour for people checking in. The tone of our vacation was set in a very positive and friendly way when we were processed at registration. Christene Benson made an extra effort to make sure our vacation starts on a positive note. The 5 hole golf course was well maintained even in early Fall. Our unit was clean and had that welcome home atmosphere. The Activity Center customer service maybe able to use improvement. The kids or personnel behind the Activity counter were too busy socializing amongst themselves and forgot to provide good customer service. The overall review was still very positive and good, we would highly recommend this resort to other couples or families.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OrioV_Tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This is a nice resort to get away at. Many of the reviews on here have been bad and I do not see it. Ive stayed here 6 times over the past 3 years. This is not a 5 Start resort top dollar resort. If your looking for that spend more money and go get that. This is a nice family resort. The front desk has its ups and downs. Ive had extremely friendly check ins and some people that weren't very friendly. Nothing that would make me not want to stay here. Some people on here are complaining about the decor. It has a RUSTIC theme.....which means the rooms have "lodge" type furniture and rustic paint jobs. The paint is not peeling like one review said, its painted to look that way! If you do not like this theme do not stay here! I happen to love the outdoors and the "rustic" or "lodge" decor and think the log furniture is awesome. If it was not so expensive Id get it for my house! As far as the cleanliness..... the rooms are just as clean as any other hotel I have stayed at. Not perfect if you look in every corner of every room but clean and comfortable. There is a small grocery store, gas station, pizza store all right down the road from the resort. There is wal-mart and every other store/food establishment only 12 miles away in a much larger town. At the resort there is fishing, canoeing, basketball, swimming, awesome sledding, nice horseback riding along some beautiful trails, camping, baseball/soccer area, hiking, golf, mini golf, arcade, family center with pool table, area to get snacks/sandwiches, etc. Along with that Starved Rock Stave Park, Illini State Park and other are located within a 30 min drive that are beautiful with full boating, miles of hiking, hunting, bars, night life, and anything else you could want. The indoor pool in in a older building that has all glass sides that side open during the summer. Its nice because if it rains they can close the roof and you can still swim! Its also open all winter. The 2nd pool is an outdoor pool and hot tub that is only open during the warmer months. I could go on but just know this...... this is a nice resort to go relax at, enjoy the outdoors, let the kids have fun, etc. This is not the Ritz Carlton at $2000 a night so don't expect everything to be perfect! Its a cheap getaway that almost any person would love to experience. PS.... The free wireless internet is only available in the common area which has the arcade, movie theater, snack bar, pool table, etc. Lots of tables/ areas to sit!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lookwithnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Fox River Resort is NOT for everyone. Make sure to choose the right fit for your vacation, or you'll be disappointed.
We live just over an hour from the resort and find it great for long weekends with the kids where we're not looking to be running around doing tons of tourist activities. The resort is located in small-town America, where you can dine with locals at the General Store for breakfast (think Waffle House with more personality), play 18 holes of golf in a course cut into nearby corn fields (think Field of Dreams meets Tin Cup), and enjoy all the basics of a stay-in and play getaway.
We take puzzles and board games, movies, and toys for the kids, and have also taken a pop-up trailer for the campgrounds. It is definitely not a 5 star resort, though the amenities are all very comfortable.
In my experience, many of the guests are like us - people looking to get out of the city - and not detination travelers, who are looking for easy access to big city comforts.
If all you need is a few outings from your apartment, then there are those: go-cart course in town, decent wine restaurant 10 minutes away, Starved Rock State Park with hiking and picnic areas - 30 minutes away, and of course the cornfield golf course - 5 minutes away.
Set your expectations right, and choose what you need.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bpritts75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews