We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cockatoo Island Heritage Houses
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Balmain Lodge(Balmain)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Harbourside Apartments(McMahons Point)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Darling(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
25
9
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
9
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssydney harbourthe cottagesbedroom areaaudio tourfully equipped kitchenone bedroom apartmenton arrivaltwo nightsplace to stayisland staffexploring the islandcockatoosferriesbridgeprecinctcomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 41 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a bit of organization, not on my part, it was Cockatoo Island for a family reunion.

We booked out the Historic houses for the weekend, happen to coincide with the closing weekend of biennale.

The accommodation was great, the homes more than comfortable with a self cater affair. Tennis overlooking the harbour bridge, seemed like a Nike TV tennis commercial set. Strolling around the island taking in the art, views and history, a magnificent weekend.

Definatley a bucket list experience. A must!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank SMDO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Cockatoo Island is a great place to spend a day and overnight if you have time.
Sydney harbour-side real estate is ridiculously over-priced and staying here gives the "ordinary" person a chance to sample harbour-side/harbour-view living at a tiny fraction of the cost of those souls across the river who have had to shell out large wads of money for the privilege.
The cottages are very tastefully fitted out and very comfortable. (Maybe some heavier curtains would be helpful to keep out a bit of the light in the early morning?)
Also, regular ferries make access very easy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed 3 nights with friends in house 24B and we were blown away by the house itself, which is more than comfortable with every amenity provided, by the view, and the ease of travel by ferry. We stayed on the island and relished the quiet to read and relax, but using ferry or water taxi you could use the house as a base for a unique (and have I mentioned relaxing?) Sydney holiday.

Room Tip: 24A has views of the harbour bridge; 24B looks west and north
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bronwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed three nights mid-week in building 24. The rooms were beautiful, with a mix of heritage and contemporary furniture and decorating. Two of the upstairs bedrooms had panoramic views of the harbour and it was tempting to sit and stare out the window all day. Three TVs meant everyone could find something to watch / play. A range of bench seats and an outdoor table setting were set among gorgeous gardens. The island has an audio tour, a cafe, a bar and a small visitor's centre, but it's a fairly quiet, serene place so people wanting a party atmosphere would be better suited to the city CBD. I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed in 24B for several days and nights in the down-season. I was prepared for something fairly basic given the heavily industrialised surrounds, but I was thrilled on arrival. Large, comfortable, well-maintained rooms, gorgeous gardens and treed surrounds and stunning river/harbour views. I pretty much spent the three days snuggled up on the balcony losing myself in the history of the place and the endless interest in passing boats and craft on the glittering river (who knew river life was so interesting!).

The house sits high on a rock face but the friendly staff trundled four weary travellers and our luggage up to the top in their vehicles and the sound, long-lived old house barely rattled as 'Sydney's Great Deluge' hit the harbour. Instead I got to watch it all rage around us from the comfort of a warm blanket on the balcony with a cup of hot chocolate in hand.

There's a cafe and bar on the island for those who need them but, really, with a fully facilitated and comfortable heritage house which lacked absolutely nothing you could need on a trip, you won't need them. Just make sure you bring groceries with you. The ferries are regular but you don't really want to make daily trips back to the bustle of the 'mainland' just for meals.

Thank you to the Sydney Harbour Trust for creating and sharing such a magnificent space and I'm so glad we picked the down-season to visit.

Room Tip: Two front upstairs rooms have spectacular views and balcony access.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews