We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay near O'Hare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great near-airport location but not in a big cluster of hotels so it is not busy or worn-down like what they could be. The hotel provides shuttle from the airport. Rental car right across the street. Great, clean, and comfortable room with plenty of space to work and relax. Large laundry facility with many sets of washer and dryer. The only negative would be the lack of breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear 48Traveling,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hotel was recently renovated and so we work hard to keep the product in good condition. We hope to see you again some time in the future.

Best,
Katie Teele
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Candlewood during November 2012 for about 3 weeks. While this is not a 5 star hotel, it surely is a 5 star value. We paid about $70 per night and did not receive daily maid service. That happens once per week. Daily service is available at an extra charge, however we don't mind making the bed every day. The hotel has center hall access to all rooms and is kept very clean. They have an honor system gift shop which carries most everything you might need in a pinch including frozen dinners which can be heated in your own kitchen. The staff is very friendly and helpful. PLAN ON RENTING A CAR IF YOU WANT RESTAURANTS AND SUPERMARKETS TO BE AVAILABLE. . There are a few things in walking distance, but not much. Thye provide easy access to the airport so if you need to be in Chicago, just take their free shuttle, and pick up the train at the airport. It goes to downtown at a very modest price. Our studio suite was both pleasant a large enough to feel comfortable. Movie rentals, coffee and a daily newspaper are free. Also, they provide written directions to many places in the area such as the Rosemont movie theater

Room Tip: Choose a high floor which is further from any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WPBMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear WPBMarty,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come and visit again when you are in town.

Best,
Katie Teele
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

For the prices, the rooms aren't bad because of it's location to the airport. The hotel treats the Priority Clubs members well by offering special prizes, a free gift bag, complimentary fast internet. Unfortunately the hotel does not offer any breakfast, but for the price and customer service, not a bad place to stay. Checked-in fast and got a good room. I would stay here again if I were back in the area-

Room Tip: The parking lot seems safe, however I would chose a room facing the parking lot so you can see your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear K P,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being a Priority Club member, we appreciate your loyalty to the IHG brand. We hope to see you again some time in the future when you come back to the area.

Best regards,
Katie Teele
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This has to be the best place to stay overnight before an early morning flight out of O'Hare. Plus, leaving our car there is the best - rate wise, safety, etc. It has friendly front desk staff and they have truly thought of most any amenity you might need for an overnight or several days. Having a kitchenette is an additional benefit if you want to save money or need the convenience of an early breakfast. However, the Great Escape just 5 minutes away on Irving Park Rd is excellent for an evening meal if you have the time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brayton207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear brayton207,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always happy to hear about your stay with us, and please that you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best,
Katie Teele
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was a nice large room with well equipped kitchen. The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillow types.
Bathroom was bright and clean. Nothing at all to complain about. Location is good, easy to find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Stephen Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us if your in the Chicago area again.

Best regards,

Katie
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here recently because bad weather stranded us at O'Hare for a night, and so we were stuck last-second searching for a hotel. This place oozes a personal touch. It's so cute. Don't go expecting the Waldorf - it's not that - but it IS a place that reminds you of staying at your aunt's a couple of states away.

They have DVRs in the rooms and a HUGE selection of movies that you can sign out for free from the desk. They have Ben & Jerry's pint ice creams in the lobby that they sell for crazy cheap prices. They've got a big selection of games you can borrow, and tons of pizza take-out options that deliver (after chatting with the guy at the front desk, we ordered the most insane deep-dish Chicago style pizza - it was like lasagna with pizza crust from Giordano's) and it was to our room within 20 minutes.

The rooms themselves have been recently remodeled, and ours had a cute kitchen area with a full-sized stove, plates/silverware, refrigerator, etc. There was also a good-sized workspace and a modern bathroom.

You can tell that someone took an older property and used creativity to make this place feel welcoming.

Free wifi and airport shuttle. Wasn't loud. Overall, it was a little oasis away from the nastiness of O'Hare that night. Kudos to whoever franchises this place. Our messed up travel plans turned into a fun date night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear P L,

We are so happy to hear that even though you got stuck here in Chicago you were still able to enjoy your stay. We have been newly renovated as of Feburary of 2012 and we are a corporate hotel, that is part of the IHG family. Thank you for your review! If you ever come back to Chicago we hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Katie
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed at this propery several times over the last several years and I have not been let down. The recent remodel was a welcome change and the new amenities are an upgrade. For the area, this is one of the most reasonably priced properties but you have to live with the location to get the price. Surprisingly, the proximity to both the Airport and the Expressway have not been a noise problem in my several stays.

My company offices are nearby and there are closer hotels to the office, but the prices vary so much and it is hard to be frugal in the Rosemont - O'Hare neighborhood. You won't walk to anything from here; it fits it's catagory of properties, not having a restaurant, etc. Be prepared to "order in" or get in your car to get meals. Fortunately, parking has never been an issue since they don't sublet airport parking like several other local properties. The appointments are decent if not plush; the recent remodel updated some of the room accommodations, but it is still styled as a value, extended stay property so it is not what I would describe as "luxury". I don't need luxury. If you want luxury, pay another $100 and stay in Rosemont proper.

The staff has been friendly, competent, timely, and professional, I don't ask for anything more. They were good about recognizing my Priority Club Status and the bonus bag was a nice surprise.

My only complaint with the particular room I was in was that it was hard to get it warm to my liking. I was on the 1st floor, I think it was the nearest room to the lobby, and I couldn't get my feet comfortable no matter how much I tweaked the thermostat. The temp worked properly but the ground floor probably had a concrete floor and just sucked the warmth out of the room.

Bottom line is I would stay here again and I probably will before the year end.

Room Tip: One side is the Expressway, the other side is the airport so pick your light preference. The ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamF1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear WiliamF1776,

Thank you for your continued stay with us here at the Candlewood Suites O'Hare, and your loyality to the IHG brand as a Priority Club Member! We are happy to hear good reviews on our recent rennovations, as well as the service that we provided. We hope to see you again soon.

Bet regards,

Katie
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiller Park
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Comfort Suites O'Hare
#4 of 9 in Schiller Park
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
3.3 mi away
Edward Hotel Chicago
Edward Hotel Chicago
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare

Address: 4021 Mannheim Rd, Schiller Park, IL 60176-1839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schiller Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Price Range: $75 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection at the Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare, an extended stay hotel, offering apartment-like studio and one-bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, puts the amenities where they really count: in your room. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk using our High Speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy CD's and movies from our free library. Unwind in our fitness center, while using our free guest laundry, or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located only 2 miles from O'Hare Airport we offer free shuttle transportation. We are conveniently located off I-294, only 12 miles from downtown Chicago. Visit Wrigley Field or Soldier Field. McCormick Place and Navy Pier are only a short drive away. If you have a chance to enjoy some free time make sure to visit the Allstate Arena or Rosemont Theatre. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are only minutes away. We value your privacy, therefore, we provide weekly housekeeping. Whether you are staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare is ready to serve you! Consider us home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago o`Hare Hotel Schiller Park
Candlewood Suites Schiller Park
Candlewood Schiller Park
Schiller Park Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing