We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not luxury but nice staff and everything works”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not luxury but nice staff and everything works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel several times in the last 4 or 5 years. It is very convenient for Chicago Ohare airport but not troubled by too much noise from the planes. I am writing this because the staff have become much friendlier and more helpful and the decor has had a refresh.
On this trip I have stayed at 3 other hotels all more expensive and less convenient for me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globe_trotter35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Sales Coordinator at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Globe_trotter35805,

Thank you for your review and your continued stay with us. We are always happy to hear good things about our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    140
    42
    15
    21
See reviews for
55
97
53
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

I took my parents to Chicago, and we decided to stay here our first night since my parents' flight wasn't gonna get there till 8 pm. It was our first time staying at a Candlewood Suites, and we were very impressed! The room was comfortably furnished with a kitchenette and everything. There's free airport shuttle, laundry, and wifi, and you could check out a bunch of things (like DVDs and a grill). There's also a mini-convenience store that sells things at regular (i.e. non-hotel) price! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rate was cheap. The only downside is that it's kind of in the middle of no where, but as an airport-hotel that you stay to go somewhere else, this property is a winner.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petey2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Petey2428,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking advantage of all of the complimentary amenities that we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

I was stuck in Chicago overnight, thanks to a delayed flight and thus missing my connecting flight. American Airlines put me up in this hotel. When I got here, the staff was very friendly, and even gave me a gift bag for having a (free) rewards card. They have free movies to borrow while here, free internet, and a simple and small but cheap convenience shop inside. The hotel is pretty cheap, but it's clean and a very nice selection if you need a hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beka18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Sorry to hear you missed your flight. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the complimentary movie library and Candlewood Cupboard. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Upon my missing connection flight from Chicago to Orlando, I stayed in the Candlewood Suites. It was an extremely pleasant stay. The hotel was clean, staff was pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you missed your flight but happy that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We were able to find this location with ease. We were greeted with a small goodie bag.
We were given a room across from the elavator and all night long heard it bing and ding as it picked up people who were departing for their flights. We should have asked for another room. It was a rough nights sleep. In the morning we found that the only coffee available in our room was decaf..bummer. We packed our bags and went immediately to ask for a pick up. The van was ready and we were on our way. It was a smooth transition to the airport. Pick up was the same way after we figured out how to get to the bottom floor of the Hilton. Smooth easy pick up and we were on our way. The only thing I would change would be location of our room and a small breakfast offering These two things would have made this a perfect start to our vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elavator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrajane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Dear Debra Jane,

Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites O'Hare. We are happy that you enjoyed the ease of the Park N' Fly. For future visits, we do have complimentary 24 hour coffee available in the Cupboard, both regular and decaf. Hope your trip went well and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, WI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We live about 2 hours from the airport and when we travel internationally we almost always use Park N' Fly Hotels that allow you to park there instead of the airport which typically is much cheaper and more convenient than parking at the airport. They shuttle you directly to the gate which is really nice versus parking yourself and carrying your luggage for miles. Last night was our first time using this hotel. We've stayed at a variety of other properties over the years and in my opinion the Candlewood Suites is a great choice for Park N' Fly. No it is not luxurious but it's close to the airport, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Yes you can hear jets landing and taking off, it's near the airport! The refrigerator and microwave in the room is nice and the place was clean. We will use it again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckoroxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to voice your opinion. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I liked the convenience of the location to the airport. In general, Candlewood Suites is not where you stay if you want luxury. It is more like an apartment. If you understand that, you won't have a problem. I did not experience the bad smells that others mention. It was very cold outside, so I don't know if that was a factor. I really don't like these rooms though. The room actually seems smaller than rooms that you get at non-suite hotels. If you don't need the refrigerator and kitchen, then you might want something else. I stayed for the price and knowing what to expect. I also liked having the free laundry room. One advantage that I saw to this Candlewood Suites compared to others I've stayed is that the laundry room is in the same room as the workout equipment. That means you could watch TV or work out while you are washing clothes. One thing that was a little less convenient is that this location did not have the option to pay for your cupboard items on the honor system. I wanted to buy laundry soap, but I had to wait for the front desk to be available before I could purchase something. All they did was hand me a slip of paper and ask me to tell them what I picked up. It's almost the same thing as having it in the room, but it was much less convenient. Also, this location advertises free local calls. Every time that I tried to make a local call, the phone was busy. When I used my own cell phone, the call went through. Was it a coincidence or do they have problems with their phones? One night, I could not access the internet. It worked every other time that I tried.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwsuitesoharesales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your business and hope that you come back to visit us really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiller Park
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Comfort Suites O'Hare
#3 of 9 in Schiller Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
#18 of 18 in Rosemont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare

Property: Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
Address: 4021 North Mannheim Road, Schiller Park, IL 60176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schiller Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection at the Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare, an extended stay hotel, offering apartment-like studio and one-bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare, puts the amenities where they really count: in your room. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk using our High Speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy CD's and movies from our free library. Unwind in our fitness center, while using our free guest laundry, or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located only 2 miles from O'Hare Airport we offer free shuttle transportation. We are conveniently located off I-294, only 12 miles from downtown Chicago. Visit Wrigley Field or Soldier Field. McCormick Place and Navy Pier are only a short drive away. If you have a chance to enjoy some free time make sure to visit the Allstate Arena or Rosemont Theatre. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are only minutes away. We value your privacy, therefore, we provide weekly housekeeping. Whether you are staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, Candlewood Suites Chicago O Hare is ready to serve you! Consider us home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago o`Hare Hotel Schiller Park
Candlewood Suites Schiller Park
Candlewood Schiller Park
Schiller Park Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing