We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Long Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Despite reservations made months in advance, we were assigned a room 308 on late arrival that was not made up. Its air conditioner could not run for minutes without issuing a loud disturbing buzz. Two of our adult children had a rollaway bed in the same suite; it had no mattress or sheets. Our son had to help carry another bed into the room. Our other children and grandchildren were in room 317, where the toilet was not working. Maintenance and attention to detail were clearly lacking. We would not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    167
    87
    60
    54
See reviews for
160
90
34
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
racine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We just used this hotel for the Park and Fly option to O'Hare. Only one person staffing at the desk (Craig), and he had a very hard time multitasking. He was answering call after call instead of checking in the line of people waiting in front of him.
Our room was clean but smelled a bit musty. Very small and cramped.
We used the 0400 shuttle to the airport so we missed the breakfast, but it was efficient and made good time considering the hotel is not actually that close to the airport.
On our return our flight was delayed and we missed the window of time for the shuttle. Craig was manning the desk again and said he would order a cab for us, which never arrived. We ended up getting our own taxi. Because the hotel is in a 'suburb' the driver told me that the fare rate would be higher. It cost about $15 for the trip.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Schiller Park hotels

York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Pluses first: Breakfast is great. Breakfast staff is friendly and helpful! Great to wake up to! Room was great. Housekeeping staff is amazing!! Great proximity to downtown Chicago.

Minuses: Due to flight issues, I knew I would be arriving late for a 3 day stay. When I called the hotel, I was told that if I was late, it would be listed as a no-show. After a long hold, and a call to the general manager (that's what I was told) the woman told me that if I hadn't arrived by a speficied time she would check me in so that I didn't lose my room. I finally arrived at 6:30am ready for a bed and I was told that my room was not reserved and I would have to wait until 8am when the manager arrived before he would do anything to help me. I called the 800# for Choice and someone there was able to help me and help the front desk figure it out. I was told that the front desk staff didn't know how to work with my privelege points. So if that was the case, why couldn't he call the 800 # instead of telling me after a horrible travel experience at 6:30 AM that I had to wait another 1.5hours?? He had no customer service skills and had several other guests in the lobby upset as well.
A little training would go a long way.

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floors. bar has LOUD music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wldchic869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Was really excited to visit Chicago for the first time, this hotel definitely made many bad memories for me of the trip. The hotel shuttle was at least a half hour late every time. One night we waited an hour in the rain at the Rosemount station. The room had many stains, one piece of furniture was sticky. The garbage's were never changed in the 5 days we were there, often saw hotel staff only carrying towels in the morning, do they not clean the room if you are staying multiple days?

We left papers on the bed on day and a blanket on another day and both times beds were not made. AC unit/window leaked all over floor and clothes, other personal belongings. Manager came to look and acted concerned but never heard from her again until she was contacted again. BLACK MOLD under AC unit. Will definitely avoid Comfort Suites all together from now on. Some of the staff were nice.

Of any hotel visit I have ever had, this ranks the highest in my memory of worst experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without stains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed here several times. This hotel has very reasonable rates for Chicago near O'hare. it is an older property but it has one bedroom suites with frig and microwave. The restaurant is just OK and I would eat at a nearby restaurant the Great Escape.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LegalEagle0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We had been traveling for almost 15 hours and missed our flight out of Chicago due to our flight being delayed. There was a storm so almost all outgoing flights were delayed or cancelled. Needless to say it was almost impossible to find a hotel let alone one with a shuttle. We called everywhere and looked online. Everything was showing booked. When we finally got Comfort on the phone they had a room but it would be $309 for the night!! Online it was $109-$119. They would not budge on the price!!! We were so tired and desperate to sleep so we took it. Once checked in we went straight to our room as it was almost midnight and needed to leave at 6AM the next day. The room we walked into made me want to vomit!!! It was not clean and I mean there was dirty towels, the previous peoples room key envelope, a messy bed, and dirty counter! We wanted to check out but allowed the front desk to give us another room. It was smaller and she said the price was still the same- total crap! This room was equally disgusting but again we were deliriously exhausted and desperate to sleep. We got up and had to literally run out to catch the shuttle. We called the hotel to try to complain but the gentleman at the front desk told us we checked out and sorry for our luck!! We called again to speak to the manager and were only given a voicemail. We called Comfort Suites customer service and were told all the hotels are owned and operated separately and we had to contact the hotel itself. The lady did inform me that calling the hotel direct is more expensive than booking online- duh! We know and tried!! She also said that the hotels will increase prices when there are situations like no flights leaving an airport!!!! Beyond angry and saddened to be taken advantage of in a crappy situation that we had no control over. This hotel manager should be ashamed of himself and learn to handle complaints! He needs to address customers and their concerns not direct them to a message and not return calls!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationships, General Manager at Comfort Suites O'Hare, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear MLEric:

We appreciate your honest evaluation of your stay with us. We strive to provide outstanding service and excellent facilities - beyond anyone’s expectations. I have communicated with my staff regarding these issues and we will endeavor to do better in the future. We have taken steps to rectify the situation and hope that you’ll consider another stay with us in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to me at 847-233-9000.

Best regards,
David Steiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

very bad area...was scared something is going to happen....would no t recommmend to anyone to stay there. got a rueben sandwich which sucked at the hotel, was afraid to go out of the hotel at night. high price for crappy area

Room Tip: not a good area to stay in....did not want to step out of hotel, afraid i was going to be robbed or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyb630104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiller Park
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
1.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites O'Hare

Property: Comfort Suites O'Hare
Address: 4200 River Rd, Schiller Park, IL 60176-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schiller Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites o`Hare Hotel Schiller Park
Comfort Suites Ohare
Comfort Suites Schiller Park
Schiller Park Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing