We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the worst hotel rooms I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
langhorne, pa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotel rooms I've ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute New Year's Eve from the airport when we thought our late flight was going to be cancelled. I will put aside all the negatives having to do with New Year's Eve and focus only on the hotel. Yech! The room was disgusting!!! So worn and dated, I don't think it's been updated since it was built. The wall paper was peeling everywhere, the carpet was gross and the sofa bed---- I can't believe my 20 year old daughter didn't either fall through it or slide off it since it was like a sliding board. The staff was as accommodating as possible so I feel bad for this review but it really was beyond awful! I give it a one here only because you can't give a zero

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tammilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    155
    85
    59
    54
See reviews for
150
87
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently visited family in Chicago for a weekend and stayed in the Comfort Suites near O'Hare. It was an adequate place to stay although not fancy. We have a toddler so like to have the extra room of a suite. Breakfast was included and was above average for Hotel breakfast bars. Would recommend for a short stay if you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcsohare, General Manager at Comfort Suites O'Hare, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge your stay at the Comfort Suites O'Hare. We appreciate your comments and are working diligently on enhancing our guest experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good value with spacious rooms with everything you need.
Breakfast has good choice and quality.

Shuttle is efficient and quick and driver very helpful.

I would recommend this hotel for a layover at O'Hare airport

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently enjoyed a weekend getaway to Chicago and found this hotel online through Choice Hotels with an excellent fall special. In attempt to keep our expenses down, I was looking for an airport and train station shuttle, a hot breakfast, and reasonably priced restaurant / lounge on site. This hotel offered all of that and more! The front desk staff and the shuttle drivers were always busy, yet friendly and attentive. Breakfast had much more to offer than the usual pastries and coffee. Each morning was filled with a couple hot dishes, such as scrabbled eggs and sausage, you could make your own waffles, and they even had yogurt and hard boiled eggs along with a variety of bagels and breads. The sleeping area of our room was like any typical hotel room with a king bed, but there was a separate little living area with a couch, chair, and desk, plus a mini-refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. As it turned out, our flight back east was cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy, and the hotel was booked for the following days, but the front desk staff assured us that since we were current guests, we would have priority for any room openings. In the meantime, we spent quite a few hours in the business center on their computers searching for a way home. This was not one of the "extras" we had planned to use, but it was very convenient and helpful. If you are looking to keep your expenses down like we were and you want those extras, please look into staying at the Comfort Suites O'Hare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

When looking for hotels in Chicago they were all over $200 a night until I looked out at the airport. This hotel was near the trains and even had a free shuttle to the Blue Line Rosemont Station which for us was ideal. However it is at least a 40 minute ride to the Loop. The rooms are clean and comfortable, could use some updating. Free parking and a Free breakfast were the seeling points for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelandmom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Upon checking in, I was advised there were 3 parties planned for the first evening of my stay. I asked whether they had any rooms available on a higher floor and moved from a lower floored King bed to one with 2 queen beds.
The staff at the front desk were helpful and met my request to change rooms to avoid the noisy lower floors.
The room itself upon arrival was extremely hot and the floor was damp. I assume the carpet has just been cleaned hence why. This wasn't a bit issue and was dry within a couple of hours.
The breakfast buffet in their bar was nice and tasty and I have no complaints with any part of our stay.
The location is around an hour by public transport to downtown Chicago; however, if you would rather stay somewhere a little cheaper and jump on a train, this place does that job!

The bar opposite served a good bite to eat and the staff were also very friendly.

Overall, I would recommend this motel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as lower floors can be noisy with functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Route66-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm not the type who needs a lot of amenities, but this hotel really needs some investment. Furnishings, wall decor, bedding, bathroom fixtures, door handles - everything is old, tired-looking, and/or functionally challenged. The price is low, but it doesn't feel like a savings, as the place feels cheap. And be sure to request a high floor if you're there on a weekend. This place seems to be a mecca for wedding receptions, and even on the 4th floor we could hear booming music from the bar...

A decent hot breakfast was the only silver lining. Otherwise, there's very little to recommend this hotel (at least until management decides it's time to bring it up to date).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Comfort Suites O'Hare, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I understand that The Comfort Suites O'Hare is due for upgrades. We have been discussing these same issues and expect to be moving forward with up grades in the near future. Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Schiller Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiller Park
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites O'Hare

Property: Comfort Suites O'Hare
Address: 4200 North River Road, Schiller Park, IL 60176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schiller Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Schiller Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites o`Hare Hotel Schiller Park
Comfort Suites Ohare
Comfort Suites Schiller Park
Schiller Park Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing