We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel on the cheap! (Weekends)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Bellevue, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A nice hotel on the cheap! (Weekends)”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stopped here on the way home with Schaumburg being a cheap place to find a hotel on the weekends. Other than a wedding party being at the hotel it was pretty calm and the pool was nice. Breakfast was really good, even for a Hyatt.

Room Tip: This area has a lot of business travelers so week nights are more expensive but weekends are a true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamGBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are glad you stopped by, stayed with us and liked the hotel. It is true that Schaumburg in general is busier weekdays due to the high volume of business travelers and the best rates are to be found on the weekends. We hope you decide to stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    166
    83
    24
    16
See reviews for
170
81
31
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I fell in love after my experience with Hyatt Place in Honolulu; however, this one was on the disappointing side.

Despite the nice and friendly staff, the hotel just doesn't live up to its status. It's located way out there. The breakfast is the same everyday, the bathroom is very small with a loud fan and rusty faucet/shower, the air conditioner and water pipe are also loud (very loud at night which affect sensitive sleeper), and the bed is worn; not cozy and comfy. The wifi is slow and tedious (requires entering personal info).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctrany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive comment about our staff. Our hotel is conveniently located across from IKEA and 2 blocks from the Woodfield Mall, which is where most guests visit in Schaumburg. The breakfast is complimentary and includes hot items such as breakfast sandwiches, as well as other continental items. The bathrooms are a standard size, as the wash basin and large marble countertop are outside of the shower/commode area, for our guests convenience. If you do return to the hotel, please bring any issues with the room to the attention of our gallery hosts. We can always have maintenance look at any items, or move you to another room. We offer Hyatt Grand beds for our guests which may be a matter of preference. Regarding the wifi, I'm not sure what information you had to enter as the wifi only requires a last name and room nuber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I have never stayed at this chain, but would definitely stay again. The hotel was very clean and modern. The room was quite large and had anything we could possibly want in it. The breakfast was okay. It was better once we realized that they had been out of the hot breakfast sandwiches the first time we went through the line. The staff was very helpful and check in was breeze. If I get to Chicago again, I will stay here and take a train in to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the Hyatt Place brand, our hotel rooms, and staff. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our breakfast sandwiches, which are included in our complimentary breakfast. The breakfast sandwiches are very popular but our staff always does their best to keep them stocked. The train is a nice and convenient way to enjoy downtown Chicago. We hope to see you back at the hotel during your next stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is my 2nd time staying here great room. We love the location and the staff is very nice. Keep up the great job. Will stay again when we come back. Always do ikea and take the train downtown. We always have late check in on Friday night as we drive in and everything is always ready for us when we arrive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again with your family. A special thank you for the recognition of our wonderful staff, room and location! We hope to see you back soon for your next visit to IKEA and/or downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and it will not be the last. I want to give this hotel a huge thank you and great review with a recommendation for anyone I know. This is the best experience we have ever had at any hotel in any city that we have been to. We love this clean, spacious, budget friendly hotel. The hotel staff are helpful, and friendly with smiles on their faces. Trust me this does not happen often at other hotels. Great priced hotel with above average amenities. FREE continental breakfast is better and larger than most. The hotel room is huge and includes a large mini fridge and seating area. Parking is easy, safe and FREE. Location is perfect close to the Woodfield mall, Ikea, Lego discovery center, many favorite restaurants. We wish we stayed at this hotel and commuted while visiting downtown Chicago. Our trip and budget would have been much better if we did.

Room Tip: These rooms are super clean and large. A mini fridge is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachymelmja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for returning to the hotel and for the wonderful review! That you took the time to post this review raving about our hotel, staff, amenities and location is much appreciated! We hope to see you back during your next visit to the Schaumburg or Chicago area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel lobby was very clean and inviting. Starbuck's in the lobby along with a small bar, plenty of seating. Rooms were very clean and modern with a nice seating area with a comfortable couch and refrigerator. Breakfast buffet was good, many good choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind response. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Schaumburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stay at Hyatt Place brand all the time for business so I knew what to expect and was not disappointed in terms of room, staff etc... BUT, there were so many people there that we ended up using the stairs to come and go (4th floor) just to avoid a very long wait at the elevator. Also, the line to get breakfast was all the way across the lobby. We ended up going to IKEA for breakfast and enjoyed an awesome experience for less than 5 bucks for 2 people. I would stay again, without a doubt, but on a weekend I will reset my expectations!

Room Tip: If they are full, eat breakfast VERY early or wait until 9:30am and head across the parking lot to I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cemarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our breakfast during the week isn't usually busy so perhaps you were in when there are a large group in house. Normally breakfast during the week is very calm and there isnt a line. I would invite you to stay with us again during your next visit to Schaumburg on business and you will find a much more pleasant breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Address: 1851 McConnor Pkwy, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4369
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#17 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for business, leisure or both, Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg delivers the comfort you expect and deserve. Located just northwest of downtown Chicago, our Schaumburg hotel is a popular choice for travelers seeking luxurious accommodations from a brand they can trust. We are only 13 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. The Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg is centrally located to popular area attractions including Woodfield Mall, IKEA, Lynfred Winery, and Schaumburg Flyers’ Stadium. For sports fans, the Schaumburg hotel offers easy access to West Meadows Ice Arena and Arlington Park Racetrack. For business travelers, the hotel is within close proximity to the Zurich, Motorola, Beckman Coulter, IBM, Pepsi and ADP offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Place
Amerisuites Schaumburg
Schaumburg Amerisuites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing