We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value and a great stay all-around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great value and a great stay all-around”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second choice for a hotel on a trip to Chicago to go to Legoland. We arrived a little leary from the first hotel we abandoned after we got there and discovered it was NOT as-advertised. We should have come here first.

We basically walked in off the street hoping they had a room for us. The front desk staff was very nice and accommodating. The quickly got us a nice room on the top floor and even tried to locate a deal for us on Legoland tickets in addition to our room reservation, but could not find one through the hotel. It was very welcoming after our previous hotel choice had fallen through.

The hotel was just what we were looking for. A clean, friendly and comfortable place to stay for the night before we headed to Legoland the next day. The rate was a great value and for what is lumped into an "economy" category of hotel stays, this was all very nice.

Breakfast the next morning was included and 24/7 there is food available in the lobby area, which was much nicer than your typical microtel setup. Everyone was friendly and wanted to make sure you had what you needed whereever we went.

We went to the pool which was indoors, clean, with plenty of towels. The beds were very comfortable and the grounds are well-maintained. The room we got had a sleeping area and bathroom/shower,sink, another area with a small sectional couch, another area with a small dining table and chairs, and another area with a fridge and small sink and counter. A large room for a sub-100 rate at the time.

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Legoland, as it is less than 5 minutes away, and is close to Woodfield Mall, which gives you plenty of family choices for food, etc.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms may be larger than lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    161
    77
    24
    17
See reviews for
164
80
31
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The staff was very polite and helpful. Our room was very nice, large sofa area with seperate bar sink/fridge and a desk area. Large flat screen tv adjusted for viewing from bed or couch area. Media plug ins were placed on wall, no climbing under desk. Nice sink/makeup area as well. The seperate toilet/shower area was small but use of room space was best used elsewhere. Room was clean, shower had good water pressure. The King bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was one of the nicest I've experienced in quite some time. 2 hot egg sandwich choices, pancakes or french toast, juices, milk, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, cold cereal, muffins, bagels and toast. Large breakfast seating areas around the lobby. Free internet. I did not use pool or fitness center. There are several restaurants in walking distance along with shopping. Hotel offered shuttle within a several mile distance. We had an awful experience with the cab from airport; dirty cab, smelly and clueless driver. Learn from us and call 847-278-5737 for taxi transportation. They offer nice Lincoln town cars for the same price as a cab!! Visited Lynfred Winery on Saturday, very nice. Seasons 52 Restaurant is wonderful. Chicago Prime Steakhouse had a nice jazz band in bar the chocolate torte for dessert paired with a nice red wine was fabulous.

Room Tip: I booked with a group business rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We were visiting for the weekend. Decided to stay outside of Chicago. Price alone was a huge savings and we didn't have to pay to park at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was great. Nice and spacious. We loved the couch sitting area. The shower/ toliet room needed some floor tile work and looked alittle dated compared to the rest of the room but it was clean. Breakfast was included and was great. We would totally stay there again. Was great being so close to Ikea and the mall as well!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgs2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questa, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by Hyatt Place Schaumburg. Our family was visiting this area for a business trip. First off the rooms were spacious and inviting. We were also greeted with a huge flat screen tv that swiveled between the couch area and the sleeping area. The staff was friendly and seemd to be helpful and willing to go that extra mile to make our trip comfortable, which was nice.

One thing that I noticed about the rooms that was rather odd was the size of the bathrooms. The bathroom was so small you could barely fit inside comfortably. Not to mention, the ceilings in the bathrooms were eerily low especially when you got in the shower. Whilst this was true, I wouldn't say that it made me completely uncomfortable but I would say that it was odd!

Also, the breakfast on Tuesday morning was TERRIBLE!!!! I mean, the eggs could pass for square cut styro foam. I couldn't believe the quality of the supposed hot selections. VERY POOR quality!! It was completely inedible and my children will eat most anything including styrofoam..lol.. But I wouldn't think of encouraging them to eat that! Thankfully they had cold options like cereal and fruit. Speaking of other options. I've never seen a hotel with free breakfast that advertises the breakfast in the Deli area as the "Fresh Items," I mean come on shouldn't there be fresh items in the free breakfast area. Plus if you get hungry during the day at the hotel be ready to spend a whopping $9 for a $3 sandwich! I couldn't believe how they had over priced items in their "Deli."

So having said all of that, I will say that our breakfast on the following morning was leaps and bounds above our first morning. Not quite sure what the inconsistency comes from, maybe trying to pass old, unused weekend food onto the next week? Anyhow, overall because of the friendliness of the staff and the breakfast redemption the following morning I would reccommend this hotel. Just don't forget your wallet so you can get "Fresh" breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momtogogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful. The room was as pictured and the only thing lacking would have been a microwave option.
The breakfast was typical for being included in the lodging, and the room was a little small for the amount of people needing to be served

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actionzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed in Schaumburg recently for a sister/daughter weekend. We were able to get adjoining rooms which was wonderful. We did not have that in the last few years we have been in Schaumburg in another hotel. The room was large and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows also. The room with the big screen TV and very large corner couch was great for relaxing and watching movies. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us to watch TV together. The free continental breakfast was actually better than I thought it would be after reading several reviews about it. In addition to the basics of cereal, english muffins and yogurt, there were biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, yogurt , mini muffins and donuts. Also great coffee, juice, and milk. We called the front desk when we had trouble hooking up our DVD player and they came up to the room instead of just trying to explain over the phone. The bathroom itself was small, but clean and adequate and the vanity area outside the bathroom was large and nice with some drawers and a granite counter top. We had a phenomenal weekend rate and would definitely like to return there next year. !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Place in late September for 3 nights.

First, the hotel is in an ideal location -- across the street from IKEA, and just a short jaunt from Woodfield Mall. In fact, if you cut through the regular Hyatt drive, you can go directly into the mall without having to deal with one way streets.

Rates were phenomenally cheap. We had a one-bedroom king suite. Having the fridge came in handy for storing our young daughter's bottles, as well as cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory! The room itself was clean and nicely appointed. Only flaw were several large stains in the carpeting.

Breakfast was minimal (cereal, juice, toast), but suited our needs. Did not use the pool or fitness center, so can't comment there. Free parking, and free in-room wireless internet made it a great stay!

Overall, a great value. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaadaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
Address: 1851 McConnor Pkwy, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4369
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#9 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#17 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for business, leisure or both, Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg delivers the comfort you expect and deserve. Located just northwest of downtown Chicago, our Schaumburg hotel is a popular choice for travelers seeking luxurious accommodations from a brand they can trust. We are only 13 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. The Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg is centrally located to popular area attractions including Woodfield Mall, IKEA, Lynfred Winery, and Schaumburg Flyers’ Stadium. For sports fans, the Schaumburg hotel offers easy access to West Meadows Ice Arena and Arlington Park Racetrack. For business travelers, the hotel is within close proximity to the Zurich, Motorola, Beckman Coulter, IBM, Pepsi and ADP offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Place
Amerisuites Schaumburg
Schaumburg Amerisuites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing