We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a mediocre property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just a mediocre property”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was not impressed. The front desk staff was pleasant at all times and the cookies and complementary items were appreciated. Unfortunately, the cleanliness of the hallways and my room was not up to my standards. My room had heavy dust on the nightstand, and the vanity in the bathroom had fingerprints and toothpaste from previous guests. I dared not look too closely at anything other than the bed after noticing these issues. Thankfully the beds were clean. I told the front desk clerk of the soiled room, and her response was that she was sorry. The carpet had a well worn path in it from the bathroom to the main part of the room and it didn't look well vacuumed. This is also a very loud hotel. We were disturbed by the guests in the next room talking and using their blow dryer. Doors were loudly slamming and noise from guests in the hallways was bothersome. The location was great in relation to the convention center, restaurants and shopping, but there are plenty of other hotels to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieLove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I was glad that you found our staff to be pleasant and the beds were comfortable. Our main priority is for all our guests to have a comfortable and welcoming stay. I understand you found some cleanliness issues. Cleanliness is very important to us and I will definitely keep your comments in mind to improve our on-property experience.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    221
    122
    48
    28
See reviews for
132
118
38
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and son along with myself Stayed at This Property recently !
What a GREAT EXPERIENCE is was ! EVERYONE From The Front Desk Reps to the General Manager himself named Max, Whom we were also fortune enough to meet during our stay ALL had the same goal of great customer service and did it Great ! The Hotel itself was Beautiful ! We travel often and will without a doubt will stay at The Doubletree Chicago Schaumberg anytime we are in need of a very nice, Yet affordable place to stay ! Thanks Again Max ! You and Your Great staff and this Hotel are all a credit to the Hilton Brand !
Kurt..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I’m happy to hear the Front Desk and the GM made your stay comfortable. I’ll pass it on. Thanks for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton in Schaumburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wasn't very impressed with this room. The bathroom vanity area was nice and spacious, but the other area of the room that is most important is the bed. It wasn't very comfortable, kind of disappointed. The staff was very pleasant and the room was clean. I would recommend if your stay is short and there isn't a room available at any of the other major hotel chains close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Rachel K,

First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I was glad that you found our staff to be friendly and that your room was clean. Our main priority is for all our guests to have a comfortable and welcoming stay. I do however understand from your review that you found the bed in your room to be uncomfortable. Our guests comfort is very important to us and I will definitely keep your comments in mind to improve our on-property experience.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice place. Not the most "posh" Doubletree I have been at but it is clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and ready and willing to take care of guests. Both the front desk and the cafe staff were wonderful. The management definitely knows how to hire customer service personnel. I would definitely stay again and will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pa490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Your comments about your stay at the Doubletree made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable. Hope to see you again soon, P A!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Usually love staying at the DoubleTree when I can. I am a Hilton junky when I travel. But the room, ehhh, I have seen better at the Hampton Inn's which is supposed to be lower grade. Some of the room looks to have been updated with newer items, while the rest of the room is pretty old. Bathroom vanity is nice, but then turn to the tub and its grandmas tile from the 60's with the grout coming out, and the shower curtain looks like a cat wrestled with it. The staff was top notch though, super attentive, and overall nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are continuing to do updates to our property and the customer service is just as important. We hope you to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great hotel and very helpful staff. Greeted warmly and immediately, received my warm cookie, and check in took less than 3 minutes. Recognized as Hilton Honors member, and there were treats and bottled water waiting in the room. Dinner in the hotel was great (very good Chicken Cobb Salad) and wait staff very attentive - we were, however, the only ones the restaurant!. Breakfast also very good - liked the made to order omelette. Here on business and hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Wardell,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It's always a pleasure to hear about our guests experiences while staying here.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Sheree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Overall the hotel was good.

The location of the hotel was ideal. Close to the mall, different restaurants, and near the highway. You walk in and are greeted by the staff with the warm cookies. Although the cookies we received were not warm and kind of stale.

The room was very spacious. There is no mini fridge in the room. The bed was super comfortable. Loved the big mirror over the sink. The tub is kind of small.

We ordered late night dinner. A burger and a salmon dish. Both were very good.

The pool area was nice. Big enough to do laps. Only down side is there was no hot-tub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibjuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
#11 of 29 in Schaumburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg
Address: 800 National Pkwy, Schaumburg, IL 60173-5140 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#12 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#14 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Chicago/Schaumburg is located on National Parkway and is close to numerous office buildings such as Zurich, Motorola, and IBM. Our hotel in Schaumburg is a short drive to numerous restaurants and is within walking distance of the Woodfield Mall. It is located just 25 minutes northwest of O'Hare International Airport and 30 miles from downtown Chicago. This hotel provides in room complimentary WiFi, cordless phones and voice mail. Complimentary 24-hr Business Center. Hotel Guests can take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Schaumburg
Doubletree Schaumburg
Schaumburg Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing