We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

While I agree an in-room safe would be nice I really cannot find much to complain about. We stayed for a week in April 2012 and requested a room by the elevator and our request was met.

The room was clean and had a nice work area. As we were Hilton Honors members the wireless was free, but you had to re-enter your code about every 8 hours which was somewhat annoying. Unlike the sister Hilton property Hampton Inns which provide comped breakfast-the breakfast was $11.99 at the Doubletree. Cannot review since we were out of the rooms by six a.m. each morning.

The heating/cooling was dated but regulated room temp fine. The shower head was less than six feet high so if you are tall you will need to bend. The toilet had a problem flushing the first day but was repaired quickly.

As mentioned the staff was very friendly and efficient. There is a complementary USA today each morning as you exit the elevator.

The fitness room is small but there is a bicycle, treadmill and two stepper/elliptical machines in addition to free weights. Most have a recepticle for an ipod and attached TV. There is a TV which has no remote to control channel/volume, so if it gets annoying it is necessary to unplug the unit. Near the fitnes room is a decent indoor pool.

All in all the Doubletree is a decent, clean, efficient mid-range hotel. It is close to the large mall and restaurants, shops, etc some within walking distance i.e., John Barleycorns. The price online was $99.00/night but we negotiated a cheaper rate. With the number of rooms in the immediate area and in the nearby villages my experience tells me hotel rates should favor the guest unless there is a large convention or attraction, so negotiate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USSBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 718 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you just want a hotel to sleep at with no extra ammenities, then this will work. If you can get a good price, it is worth it. Clean, spacious and comfortable beds. But there is no microwave, mini fridge, free wi-fi (wi-fi for fee), or breakfast. All things that most people look for. I would suggest to them to get more tv channels ... 5 different channels of ESPN? When you only have about 10 channels, they need a better variety for women. Quiet location close to shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSLLUVSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A Nice property with very good customer service, indoor pool and workout facility however where this property lacks is from the absence of any in-room safes or the ability to securely store something like a laptop. There did not even exist a safe at the front desk that could handle this. Additionally, the hotel shuttle had very limited hours in the evening. This required walking for restaurants and shopping.

Hotel is conveniently located but does lack in a few areas. Not sure yet if I would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I thought I'd like this property a lot more than I did. One of the few last hotels in the area that offer smoking rooms? Thank you! However, a smoking room that you can't open (or at least crack) a window in? The poor circulation made the room stink after one cigarette which led to many trips outside. The bed is comfortable, the pillows comfortable, and the staff was nice enough to find a refridgerator for my room. Overall I'd say the whole hotel needs a makeover as it is kind of outdated.

What really irks me though is it's about five days after my trip and there is still an incidental hold on my credit card. Most hotels turn this over in a day or two at the most. Very annoying. All in all, I probably won't stay here again, but it wasn't too terrible.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have refrigerators, but ask at the front desk and they may be able to bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I've stayed at this property about 5 or 6 times during the past few months. As the other reviews indicate, the property is a bit worn and uneven. Some things have been updated, while other parts are still in dire need of an update. But, the staff has been universally good and nice, check in/check out has been a breeze, and any requests I've had have been promptly met. The location is good...away from the major roads in Schaumburg allowing for a quiet night, yet still close to all amenities. The price also tends to be good, especially on the weekends. So, I'll keep coming, but I do hope further updating will happen in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwh1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I booked this hotel just for the night to have a place to stay while going on a bit of a shopping spree at the Woodfield Mall. This hotel is very close, about a 10 minute drive. Rooms are really nice, although their air conditioner is a wall unit, not central air. That was a bit disappointing as it is pretty loud if you aren't used to it. Bathroom was nicely appointed with ample counter space.

As a side note, I love their cookies, but please don't order them off the room service menu and pay $6.00 for 2 of them. The front desk is more than happy to give you another if you ask. I am quite certain I ate about 7 of them over my two days here.

Wanted to comment quickly about security at the hotel. This is in an extremely safe area! I mistakenly left my GPS in my car overnight, when I went out the next morning there was note from the local police department about leaving valuables in plain view. I don't know about your hometowns, but our police officers don't have the time (and probably wouldn't even if they did) to leave such a note.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessR_G_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Pros:
People are super friendly and go out of their way to make things work for you.
Price is good.
It's better than sleeping outside or in some other hotels/motels for the price.
Breakfast buffet is good.
Close to a lot of restaurants and shopping if that's what you're there for.

Cons:
Really needs updating and is not worthy of the name Doubletree compared to some of the other Doubletree's that I have stayed at.
No Raisin Bran cereal?!?
Forced air heater units can be loud and wake you up at night.
See picture about mysterious substance on door. How does housekeeping not see and fix this?
I asked for a foam pillow and ended up with 9 pillows in my room. One day they were all over the bed and the next day... see picture below.
Pillows were not very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT_business_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Schaumburg/Woodfield
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg

Address: 800 National Parkway, Schaumburg, IL 60173-5140 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#12 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#14 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: $85 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Chicago/Schaumburg is located on National Parkway and is close to numerous office buildings such as Zurich, Motorola, and IBM. Our hotel in Schaumburg is a short drive to numerous restaurants and is within walking distance of the Woodfield Mall. It is located just 25 minutes northwest of O'Hare International Airport and 30 miles from downtown Chicago. This hotel provides in room complimentary WiFi, cordless phones and voice mail. Complimentary 24-hr Business Center. Hotel Guests can take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Schaumburg
Doubletree Schaumburg
Schaumburg Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing