We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad, Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Toronto
Level Contributor
228 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Not Great”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This property isn't bad, but with so many hotels in the area to choose from, I will probably choose another next time I am in the area.

The positives are spacious rooms (at least mine was), decent bed, nice common areas, ample parking, and for what appears to be an older property, it is relatively up to date.

There is also a decent sports bar style restauarant attached, and the location is quite central.

The negatives were (at least when I stayed) was a useless wifi connection. They seem to have two connections; one showed a strong signal, but after connecting displayed "limited or no connectivity". The second had a poor signal, which I was able to connect to, but I kept loosing connectivity until I finally gave it. I know it wasn't my computor as I am doing this review the night after at another hotel.

Also, and a small pet peeve, I can't stand it when the television channel listings don't match the actual channels; print some listing channel listing cards please!!

All in all, nothing really bad here, but I will be inclined to try someplace else when back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfiorito77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear ToSquareBob1,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your most recent experience at the Holiday Inn Schaumburg. I know how important Wi-Fi connection is to our business traveler and can fully understand your frustration. We did have a Wi-Fi issue and it was due to some faulty equipment. The good news is those pieces have been replaced and our Wi-Fi is working perfectly. We will of course also rectify the discrepancy of our channel listings.

I hope this incident will not prevent you from choosing our property during your future stays in the Schaumburg area. If I can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    71
    34
    17
    19
See reviews for
75
55
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

quality of this hotel is at is name and more the personel of the hotel is very professional i recomended this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephane1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Very Clean, everyone was helpful with directions, recommendations, rides, anything I needed. The shuttle drivers were great, thanks Bernard, Jose, front desk attendees were wonderful Matthew, Elizabeth, Edna, you made my stay so easy and comfortable. Breakfast the hot cinammon rolls were great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Nice rooms and a quiet sector!! Easy parking. Small but Renovated lobby a plus.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I cannot thank John Bizzak, Tom and the whole staff at the HIE at Schaumburg Chicago enough for making me feel like I was at home. For me, they have become more than friends, they have become family because that is way I was treated. All my best to John and the crew and I will be seeing you again in September.

All My Best and Thank You,
John Rufe

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is a mixed bag. We were welcomed very nicely at first, but our family's two rooms were on different floors. One room had damp carpet from the second bed to the window. There was a large crack in that corner of the room and in the ceiling. It had obviously been caulked in the past, but it was still gaping open. My daughter was concerned about black mold. We called the front desk. The hotel was supposedly sold out so they could not move us, even though everyone hadn't checked in for the night. No one came to look at the room. No apology. I asked to be put on record that I was not happy with the damp room. On my bill the next morning they had deducted $10.00 for the "dampness and mildew smell." On the plus side--comfy beds, decent breakfast, free wi-fi, good location, and value-priced. I would advise that if you stay here, immediately check your room, and walk straight down to the desk if it is not acceptable.

Room Tip: Don't be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for both business and to visit friends as well. May I say that this particular property is worth every penny of what I paid. The room is spotless and I love the curved shower rod and the bed is spectacular ( slept like a baby! ) The full breakfast buffet got most of what you need to get you started, and their pancakes were awesome! The location is also a plus, as it is near just about anywhere: Mall and restaurants; Loved the automatic doors as well. I will definitely keep this Hotel in mind the next time I visit, hopefully for pure leisure. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Schaumburg / Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Schaumburg Chicago Northwest
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Schaumburg
Comfort Suites Schaumburg
#21 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
Address: 1550 N Roselle Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60195-3643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at our award winning and newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Schaumburg Hotel. The only Holiday Inn Express in Schaumburg, our hotel is conveniently located within miles from O Hare International Airport and Downtown Chicago. Additionally, the hotel is within miles from many local attractions and businesses such as Woodfield Mall, Motorola, Sears Holdings, Medieval Times Dinner and Tournament, Allstate Arena, Sears Center, and more! Our luxuriously decorated room features triple sheeted beds, new Simmons luxury mattresses, expanded cable television with HBO movies, as well as microwaves and refrigerators discretely stored in imported granite vanities. Relax with our Simply Smart guest bathroom amenities featuring fluffy towels, our exclusive Simply Smart Showerhead by Kohler, with its unique compensating flow regulator, which delivers strong and steady water pressure every time. Experience up to 25% more elbow room thanks to the brushed chrome curved rod with our waffle-weave fabric curtain that s always fresh, never clingy. Finally, awaken to our Holiday Inn Express Smart Start Breakfast which includes healthy items such as whole fruits, cereals yogurts, biscuits and gravy, and hot items such as pancakes,omelets, sausage and bacon. Also available to you is free 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, & Snuggery Restaurant conveniently located next door and a 24-hour 7-Eleven convenience store with an ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Holiday Inn Hoffman Estates
Holiday Inn Schaumburg
Schaumburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing