We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of parking lot security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
13
Reviewed April 18, 2006

We stayed there a few times last year. It is a great place to stay and I have no complaints about the hotel or service. It is a pretty good value at $89 a nite or better if you go with the $99 rate that includes breakfast. Breakfast is really nice as well as the outdoor pool in the summer.

I only want to warn others of a serious problem that is not very obvious. Last summer in August I stayed with the wife and took my ford ranger pickup. A few weeks later I noticed why the back end felt light- they stole my spare tire! They used a tool to lower the spare tire carrier, remove the tire, and crank up the carrier device so it would not be noticed. I did not think it could have happened at such a nice place and figured it was at the Rosemont park and ride.

So, in October we took the family and the ford explorer for another weekend trip. The morning after the first night there we were loading the truck to head into town and I joked to the wife that I had better check the spare tire. Well, they stole that one too! Not only that, since the crank mechanism is on the inside, they used a crowbar to break the carrier and picked up all but the smallest pieces so it would not be noticed. This time, since we knew it just happened, we filed a police report. The city cop was pretty nice and observed a few things about the parking lot. There is only one entrance, the front desk does not look out on the lot, other building nearby are offices and not occupied at night, a couple spaces near the entrance are noted for cabs with a great view of the lot and everyone that comes and goes.

Someone is using the lot as a tire store. Has to be either the hotel security or the cabs who hang out there. Hard to believe someone else just crusies the lot looking for a victim. The last time we parked in the center of the lot under a light.

Could have happened anywhere I suppose, but if you stay here, I hope they have increased there security because I got ripped off twice.

Ted

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 503 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Park Ridge, Illinois
11
Reviewed March 9, 2006

I attended the Schaumburg Rotary Dinner and also spent the night at this oasis! This is the place to go if you need to have any type of Special Event. The staff in the banquets were very attentive, the atmosphere was more than pleasant and I have to ask...who says that Hotel Food is just moderate! This Hotel should be given awards not only for the flavor, but the design and presentation of their food.I was here with my wife and another business associate, and we were lucky enough to be given a meal that would rival any free standing steakhouse including Chicago Prime! But my kudo's to Lyn Estka the Director of Catering at this wonderful Hotel. Her enthusiam and professionalism goes above and beyond what my words can say. My wife is in a wheel chair and Miss Estka was there to make sure we were seated near doors and able to access the lobby without any struggles. It is my understanding from the Chairpeople of this event that Miss Estka handled all the details in creating this memorable event. Hats off to a fine lady and a top professional in her field. She sure knows how to service her cliental and deliver a product that superceedes the competition! Marriott, you have a Gem of a Hotel...but your Service and Lyn take you the extra mile!

The rooms were beautiful....front desk was courtious...not one bad thing about your hotel! Thanks for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Downers Grove, Illinois
14
Reviewed December 19, 2005

My best friend got married (had her ceremony) and reception at the Chicago Marriott Schaumburg and I spent two nights at this wonderful hotel. First the bell staff....upon arrival they were right there to open the door for us, and actually took packages from us so that we could not be burdened with all we had to bring with us. The desk was all smiles....we requested adjoing rooms, not a problem...Ordered room service that afternoon and it arrived HOT and with a smile. The atmosphere here is perfect...nice and relaxed, not noisy...beds are very comfortable. I could elaborate on and on, but let me just say, I have stayed at Ritz Carlton Hotels that did not offer the level of service this hotel did. Needless to say the wedding and ceremony were perfect and that too is due to the Director of Catering, Lyn Estka who helped us every step of the way. It was her who first greeted us at the ceremony, her who got us water when we weree nervous, Lyn who made sure that ever detail of my Best Friends wedding was perfect! Banquet staff was top notch! Thank you LYn Estka and Staff....it was perfect and so is your hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2005

The room was a reasonable rate ($89/night) and three of us stayed for three nights. When we checked in, we were given the wrong room key. We were also not told when we checked in that there was only one elevator working. Another guest let us know this fact.

The tent perched outside houses parties that last up until midnight, and even on a high floor, you can clearly hear DJs, people outside of the tent yelling, and overall an intensive level of noise. This really complicated having to awake very early in the morning.

When we requested more towels for our room, it took 30 minutes to receive them. We had to take the one working elevator down to the front desk to return our wet towels, because they did not pick those up when they delivered the new ones, nor did they bring the extra coffee packet we requested.

The room was clean. The bathroom has no vent, so it gets steamy and very hot after showering. We had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel, and the breakfast was relatively good. Staff were not very friendly, except at the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lyntiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

The Schaumburg Marriot is a great place to stay. My husband and I just got back from a one night's stay. I remembered this hotel from a previous visit a few years back. We did not make any reservations and decided that we would just head up to Chicago and find a place to stay. We love this area !!! This hotel is about a 3 min drive to the Woodfield Mall. Close to lots of restaurants and many other attractions. This hotel is also off the beaten path a bit so that makes it nice too. When we arrived the front desk staff was so nice !!! We were able to get a king bed on the 9th floor non-smoking for $89 a night. The bed was soooo comfortable and the room was immaculate ! I am VERY picky and it was clean. If you are a business traveler it had a desk and high speed internet access in the room. My husband called the front desk to inquire about the closest riverboat. They were very informative and pleasant. I remember when I stayed here before with my mom on a weekend away trip we had asked them where the closes Giordano's pizza restaurant was. (If you have never tried it you have to !!!!) :) Anyways the front desk staff picked up the phone and started calling all around because there are several in order to find the closest one. She also wrote all of the directions down for us. This took her 5 minutes or so and she seemed like she was happy to do this for us. For this current trip I called down to see what time checkout was and they answered" Hello "so and so" at your service !!!!" As for food we didn't eat at the hotel restaurant or order room service BUT they do have a full-service Starbucks in the lobby. So I was able to get a great coffee this morning. I highly recommend this hotel and when we come back we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DisneyLover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2003

I had occasion to stay at the Marriott on business. The staff I encountered went out of their way to make me comfortable. The desk staff greeted me by name when I walked in in the evening, the concierge floor and staff were exemplary.

The rooms are comfortable, with plenty of amenities available.

One area for improvement: the jacuzzi needs to be replaced! The jacuzzi (as of May 2003) was cracking, noisy, and had a large center column that made relaxing unlikely.

Overall, however, the hotel is a great place to stay.

8  Thank KayteCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald L, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear KayteCat,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts about of our staff. When you are back in the area we hope to see you back again.

Kindly,

Ronald Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank hkato7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
813 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
#8 of 29 in Schaumburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Schaumburg

Address: 50 N Martingale Road, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: $98 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Schaumburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg combines boutique charm with modern amenities, offering travelers the perfect accommodations for a stay in Schaumburg, Illinois. Our location is ideal, a short drive or cab ride from downtown Chicago and minutes from O'Hare International Airport. We provide intuitively designed guest rooms and guest suites that business and leisure travelers love, all in the heart of the city close to Woodfield Mall and Hoffman Estates. We invite you to experience our Schaumburg hotel's plush pillow-top bedding, marble bathrooms with deluxe amenities, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. In our public spaces, we also offer an indoor heated pool, seasonal outdoor pool, BlueFire Grille and Bevande Lounge for American cuisine and craft cocktails and the Bean Counter for Starbucks Coffee. If you are planning a conference, meeting or social event in Schaumburg, allow us to show you our more than 25,000 square feet of flexible space, which includes a beautiful tented Garden Marquis venue as well as expert catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chicago Marriott Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Marriott Schaumburg
Schaumburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing