We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Terrible Attendant Tired, reservation, no room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Horrible customer care! We made a reservation and the lady at the counter would not let us check in early. This is after she had initially told my wife the she could check us in, but she seemed to change her mind after my wife went out to the car to get the reservation information. She said that it would be an inconvenience for her to stop what she was doing. If she stopped she would have to stay to work past her shift. Even after my wife explained to her that we had just driven from out of state, had our daughter in the car and we were very tired, but she didn't care about our situation nor that it was 3:00am and we were extremely tired. She still had the audacity of telling my wife she was more than welcome to wait in the lobby until check in time, which was at 3:00pm.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Critic2Another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz I, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff please except my apologies for the encounter you experienced. This is totally unacceptable behavior, and is truly an anomaly not the norm. I have spoken with the entire front desk team regarding your experience and they have all been through a service training class. I am glad to see that the rest of your stay went well along with your perfect scores in cleanliness and value paid. I hope that during your next visit to the area that you will give us an opportunity to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 499 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice hotel, close to all the shopping offered in Schaumburg. City is only about 45 minutes away. This is not as nice as other Marriott's I have stayed at in the past, beds and pillows could use some updating, but with this being said I had no complaints of property, staff is nice and accommodating, shower is nice though bathroom is a little small.

Room Tip: Stayed in first room on lowest level, was concerned might be noisy, but had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruprt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz I, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you in regards to your comments regarding the staff service and cleanliness of the hotel. The hotel is centrally located in the area with easy access to the local attractions. We look forward to your next visit when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The good:

- decent location
- nice room
- relatively newly renovated (but not very recent)

The bad:

- tiny bathroom
- first floor rooms might feel like basement for some people
- one side faces a noisy highway and you can hear the noise
- restaurant service is not that good

The average:

- executive lounge's offering is OK but it does not seem they put much thoughts into it like some other Marriotts

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the highway if you want quietness - you can hear the highway pretty well even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Want2GoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz I, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments. If you have the time please contact me so that I may get more information as to how we can improve our concierge lounge. I would also like to thank you for your ratings in regards to service and cleanliness. We always appreciate feedback and look for ways to improve our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott Schaumburg is a great hotel if you're in the NW suburbs of chicago.If we're in the area we always stay here and it has never disappointed. The lobby and bar are very nice and the rooms are always clean and comfortable.Like how close the hotel is to the mall and to numerous restaurants. The only downfall is that you have to pay for internet access ,seems like that policy is outdated.All said, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beadsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz I, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your great comments regarding the hotel, staff service and cleanliness. As with many organizations your team members are truly the most valuable asset we have. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Schaumburg. The facility and restaurant are about what you would expect from a Marriott, though the beds are especially comfortable. Where this hotel shines, though, is with the staff. I needed to book a conference room last minute and it was not a problem. Staff checked several times to make sure we have everything we needed and I even got a phone call and email after I left from Eileen Quinn at the hotel to double check everything was satisfactory.

What usually separates one hotel in a certain class from another property in the same class is the staff and the people at the Chicago Mariott Schaumburg are great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz I, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I would agree with you that it is the service that the team members provide that are the most important and memorable ones. I have shared your comments with the team. We look forward to your next visit when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here a few nights ago for a pleasure trip. My husband chose this hotel as he had been staying there for week long stays during the summer months while working in the Chicago area. It was pretty quiet and not very many guests for a Friday night. Perhaps it was due to a snow storm that had just passed through the day before? It was quiet and clean. The beds are very, very comfortable. Although I didn't use either, the fitness center and pool are a huge plus. It is disappointing that the concierge services were not open for our stay. It would have been nice to have had some cocktails that evening and a breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for the non-road side. It makes for a very quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wife2Table45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz I, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to see that your husband and yourself where able to enjoy the hotel. I would like to thank you for your scores and great comments regarding the hotel. I hope that your next visit you will be able to enjoy the fitness center and the outdoor pools. It really is a wonderful setting. Please let us know when you plan your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I must begin by telling you that our room was spotless. The beds were comfy and cozy. The room was cold by the window but I think this is the age of the building showing. Oh yes, I almost neglected to say the Wireless would not work. But then again who cares, it's not like I want to pay $15 for two hours of mindless email checking on a weekend get-away!!??

Each of these has little to do with my review. I stay at Marriotts whenever I can. I'm only a silver member of their elite travel club but I can just as easily walk my money over the road and stay at a Hilton. When I walk in to Marriott I have come to expect certain treatment and an especially warm greeting appropriate for a returning guest. Instead I was asked for photo ID and then told the double room I had booked and paid extra for was sold out and unavailable. I explained that this was not going to work for me as I did not want to share a bed with my adult daughter. Funny how she pushed a few buttons and behold... a room with double beds! No comments, no apology. :) No greeting. On the way to our room my daughter asked why I was not welcomed as a special returning guest as she has noticed this normally happens when traveling with me.
I am not a travel snob. Okay, I am. But my money is just as good at the hotel across the way and they at least act like they like me! I did talk with the front house manager in the morning and explained our story. He was apologetic and took personal responsibility. Now THAT is the Marriott welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz I, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I understand that you had a challenge upon check in. I would like to apologize to you in regards to that particular experience. I understand that our Front Office Manager spoke with you the next morning and addressed your issue. I appreciate that you addressed it with him as this way we can address the issue and make the appropriate changes. I would also like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your room and cleanliness. I look forward to your next visit to the area, and I hope you give us another opportunity to host you. We truly value your business and know that when you travel you have several choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
#9 of 29 in Schaumburg
368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
782 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Schaumburg

Address: 50 N Martingale Road, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: $106 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Schaumburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg combines boutique charm with modern amenities, offering travelers the perfect accommodations for a stay in Schaumburg, Illinois. Our location is ideal, a short drive or cab ride from downtown Chicago and minutes from O'Hare International Airport. We provide intuitively designed guest rooms and guest suites that business and leisure travelers love, all in the heart of the city close to Woodfield Mall and Hoffman Estates. We invite you to experience our Schaumburg hotel's plush pillow-top bedding, marble bathrooms with deluxe amenities, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. In our public spaces, we also offer an indoor heated pool, seasonal outdoor pool, BlueFire Grille and Bevande Lounge for American cuisine and craft cocktails and the Bean Counter for Starbucks Coffee. If you are planning a conference, meeting or social event in Schaumburg, allow us to show you our more than 25,000 square feet of flexible space, which includes a beautiful tented Garden Marquis venue as well as expert catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago Marriott Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Marriott Schaumburg
Schaumburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing