We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We were directed to this hotel by Renaissance -O'Hara Chicago.It is nearly half an hour drive from downtown. The Hotel has beautiful surrounding and when you wake-up in morning you will view hills covered with lush green grass,small ponds and fountains. A much desirable for one who is on Holidays.
Rooms are spacious with comfortable sleeping beds. Room service is excellent. Lounge is well decorated and could accommodate large number of guests. it has all the essential amenities like swimming pool, free parking, currency exchange etc. We have not tested food but on inquiry from other guests food is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehtarasbindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 720 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2010

LOCATION
I recently stayed here for a conference. The hotel has a large foyer and several staff manning the reception area on the 1st floor. There are escalators located at the front of the hotel otherwise you can also take an elevator to the 1st floor.

Walking distance from the hotel, I could not see much outside, however, it was the middle of the winter, and strolling out in the cold was not in my comforts of -10 degrees weather!

I was advised though to visit Woodfield Mall, which is within close proximity. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus to and from this mall (only 5mins or so drive), and this can easily be done even if you have a short amount of spare time.

HOTEL / SERVICE
This hotel is well managed. The staff was friendly, courteous, and prompt. All meals were included in our conference package, and we had a great variety to select from.

ACCOMMODATION
My room was a Standard Guest Room. It was spacious. Room temperature was easily controlled and centralised within the room wall unit, and an ironing board was provided in the main cupboard. The room also offered wireless Internet service, so it was easy to work with my laptop whilst in my room (access to the internet was part of our conference package, but otherwise, I believe it generally does cost).

The bed itself was fantastic – after long days at the conference, it was great to come back to a room with a soft and comfortable bed that you could easily fall asleep in! The bathrooms were of standard size. All amenities were provided. There was also a TV screen built in to the mirror in the bathroom, which I found a little odd.

OVERALL THOUGHTS
As the purpose of my trip was attending a conference here, the facilities were of superb standard. I could not fault this hotel and I was very happy with the overall service that it provided.

TIP - If you have the chance to visit Woodfield Mall and you only have a short amount of time, when you get dropped off, there is a group of maps on the entry of the mall. It would be ideal if you picked one up and marked out where you intend to visit. Otherwise, you will end up stopping at nearly every store and run out of time! The shuttle bus only drops off and picks up at the same spot, so you can’t miss the maps on entry. Also, visit the Cheesecake Factory here if you have a sweet tooth!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellojacquelineanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed at the hotel with my daughter for a dance competition and everything was wonderful. However, on our last day of stay, the cleaning woman knocked on my door to try and clean the room. I explained that I was checking out that day but would wait to check out until noon. Meanwhile, I was making multiple trips to the car to pack up our stuff. When I returned from one of the trips, the room had been cleaned with new sheets and clean towels and bathroom. I thought, "What a waste, since the room will have to be cleaned again, after we check out, since I intended to use the bathroom and rest a bit on the bed before we left. When I had most of our items cleaned out but still not officially checked out, I left some drinks in the fridge to have with our lunch. When I returned again to the room to retrieve the drinks before finally checking out, I discovered they were gone. I caught up with the maid in the next room, confronted her about stealing our drinks when we had not yet checked out, and discovered her drinking my Coke!! I complained at the front desk when checking out. They apologized but did not even offer to replace my drinks. This was a first for me in all my travels.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommydanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I stayed here 18 - 21 Jan 2010 for a conference.
The room I was allocated was on the 6th floor. It had 2 beds - by American standards I guess they would refer to these are single beds, in Europe, these would be 2 double beds.
The beds were comfortable. 4 pillows - 2 large, 2 medium and all 4 were very comfortable.
I had tea/coffee facilities and an ice bucket - I read in the reviews that someone did not have this.
A full size ironing board and iron. Ample storage.
Good desk facilities, with a pull out table.
Bathroom was ok. The bathroom mirror has an integrated television which I thought was cool.

I cannot comment on the restaurant and room service since these were provided as part of the conference.
The food that I did eat at the hotel was fine - no complaints.

Check in was swift. I had my room key within 3 minutes of arriving.

The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to Woodfield Mall and there is not set time, you just show up. They will also collect you when you're done.

All hotel staff that I came into contact with were polite and helpful.

I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalGrecoLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

A friend reserved a block of rooms for December 25,26 for a group of our friends for a Winter get-a-way, so we got a really good rate (we had 20 rooms and total there were about 50 of us). The rooms were beautiful, updated, clean and fresh. Plasma Tv in bedroom and also a tv in the bathroom built into the mirror that would come on automatically whenever you turned the light switch on in the bathoom The TV in the bathroom got more channels than the TV in the bedroom. Go figure! I found myself sitting on the toilet just to watch the tv in the bathroom with more channels. Management should correct that. Also, the bed was hard as nails and that is the only reason I gave 4 starts for the rooms instead of 5. My back ached the next day and I could not get a comfortable nights sleep. Ate dinner in the little sports bar in the lobby. Food was okay, mostly sandwiches and appetizers. Did not eat in the more expensive steak house so can't comment on that. All in all it was a good stay because we were there with a group of our friends. The hotel is also a convention center., connected by a indoor walk-way. The convention center is huge with many meeting rooms and banquet rooms. Lovely hotel. Staff was friendly

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I booked this hotel so my husband and I could relax after a hectic week. We were in a room with no pillow cases on the bed and no ice bucket in the room. When I called the front desk, the clerk kept insisting that there was one in the room and asking me to check in different locations for it. Finally after 10 minutes of playing find the ice bucket one was sent up. I went down to use the pool at 10:00 p.m. before it closed at 11:00, only to find it was closed an hour early.

There was a $15.00 charge for internet use which my husband had to go downstairs to pay, even though I had given my credit card at check in. The desk clerk said it was because the reservation was booked through Expedia??????

Finally on our last morning at 8:20 housekeeping was knocking at the door to make up the room. We weren't even up yet.

If relaxation is your goal...Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasha027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Got to my room and wanted to eat, but neither of the restaurants appeared to invite casual dining. Since I had to travel in on a Sunday night, I wanted to watch football and be comfortable, so I ordered room service. Ordered a simple hamburger, was told 25 minutes. 50 minutes later, called to check on status and was told "we're sorry, but there was a delay in food preparation, it should be ready in 15 minutes." Now, 20 minutes later, still waiting.

About to head out to McDonald's...

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frustrated1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#3 of 29 in Schaumburg
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Address: 1551 N Thoreau Dr, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: $130 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing