We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walnut Creek CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not at all Impressed”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I booked this hotel so my husband and I could relax after a hectic week. We were in a room with no pillow cases on the bed and no ice bucket in the room. When I called the front desk, the clerk kept insisting that there was one in the room and asking me to check in different locations for it. Finally after 10 minutes of playing find the ice bucket one was sent up. I went down to use the pool at 10:00 p.m. before it closed at 11:00, only to find it was closed an hour early.

There was a $15.00 charge for internet use which my husband had to go downstairs to pay, even though I had given my credit card at check in. The desk clerk said it was because the reservation was booked through Expedia??????

Finally on our last morning at 8:20 housekeeping was knocking at the door to make up the room. We weren't even up yet.

If relaxation is your goal...Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasha027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    236
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
123
107
37
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Got to my room and wanted to eat, but neither of the restaurants appeared to invite casual dining. Since I had to travel in on a Sunday night, I wanted to watch football and be comfortable, so I ordered room service. Ordered a simple hamburger, was told 25 minutes. 50 minutes later, called to check on status and was told "we're sorry, but there was a delay in food preparation, it should be ready in 15 minutes." Now, 20 minutes later, still waiting.

About to head out to McDonald's...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frustrated1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I stayed in this hotel at the end of September 2009 for a conference. All in all the hotel was very good. The bedroom was spacious and well serviced with the usual flat screen tv, good sized bed and large bathroom. Internet access was available however you do have to pay extra for it. There is free wifi in the hotel lobby, however I found the quality of the connection in the lobby was ok, and could drop, especially when using skype.

Very good gym in the hotel with a 80ft pool, which is open from early in the morning to last thing at night.

The hotel restaurant was also very good. I had breakfast in it each morning, and there is a choice of buffet and al la carte.

All in all very good hotel, however too far out from Chicago to go in to the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

A great location, brand new building and excellent huge convention center are all wasted by a poor management of hospitality services, tasteless and insufficient food at convention we attended recently. If you are ever thinking of arranging any conferences, conventions or big parties, I would recommend to AVOID this hotel at any cost otherwise you will get a big blame from the attendees. The servers at the convention center were walking without a clue and randomly serving the guests with wrong sequence of courses. It was a big chaos as far as food, reception and service was concerned. Our evening reception counters were not serving drinks properly. Our drinks were on cash basis, the servers will pour 1/2 of normal wine in a glass. They randomly shut down the drink counters even though over 50 people were waiting in line. The dinner servers were confused, rude and did not know English at all. They would serve food dishes at a table without serving spoons, will not refill water and you will have empty coffee cups as they will serve that to only a few tables. Our convention had 2000 guests, but seems like they may have made food only for 200 people. Many guests at many tables starved because except bread and some rice, no other food was served to them. This saga was repeated two days in a row! The organizers paid big bucks to this hotel for catering but the management shamelessly let the guests suffer. Conventions are showcases usually for the hotels to get repeat businesses. This hotel failed so much in it that many business executives including me instructed to organizers of future conventions and conferences to avoid this at any cost.!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelier_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We like to take "mini-vacations" with the kids. The lobby is gorgeous and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We spent most of the time in the indoor pool, eating pizza and playing board games. The following day we went to see the Schaumburg Flyers (minor league baseball team). We really had a great time.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 3kidsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here for three days. The rooms were clean and, well, roomy. The bathrooms were spacious - the built-in TV was a nice gimmick. The little trolley stops at the hotel which made it easy to get to Ikea and the mall.
The only thing that went wrong was when we had presentations in a few adjoining conference rooms and the dimmer switch in one room would also dim the light in the other rooms.
Otherwise terrific!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleepInJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Very very nice hotel but it's way out in the burbs and not close to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddPupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Property: Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Address: 1551 Thoreau Dr N, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing