We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay...even better place to host your wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
jamiek81
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to stay...even better place to host your wedding!”
Reviewed August 27, 2008

This hotel has top of the line accomodations. Everything from the comfortable beds, flat screen televisions, spacious bathrooms, and cutting edge decor makes this hotel a "one of a kind" experience in the suburbs of Chicago. We hosted our wedding in the Nirvana Ballroom and it couldn't have been more perfect. Shannon helped us create the wedding of our dreams. Not only did everyone comment on the beautiful hotel, but everyone complimented the food. Everyone went home with a beautiful experience, full and satisfied bellies, and a wedding experience like no other.

  • Liked — Location, food, service, and top notch event staff.
  • Disliked — Parking lots are very far from the entrances.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    232
    42
    20
    13
See reviews for
116
103
36
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I attended a wonderful convention (Stitches Midwest) adjacent to this hotel. The hotel itself was very nice; the staff was a bit above average. Both convention banquet and restaurant meals were better than expected. I asked for a late checkout (2 1/2 hours) and was given an extra 30 minutes! Not so great for a Marriott Rewards member. At the hotel restaurant, Sam & Harry's, the hostess required me to wait to be seated until she collected menus from the bar, when several were already available at her station. A generally good experience, however....

  • Liked — the openness of the public areas
  • Disliked — not getting a late checkout
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knitparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed at the hotel July 12, 2008 for only one night. Close to Arlington Racetrack, where we went for the day of racing then came back to the hotel for evening and following day.

Great nouveau design! Lobby, located on second floor, had surprises around every turn. Fountains and flowing water, light airy "upside" umbrellas, loungers and chairs scattered around a lovely fireplace.

Check in was very quick and accurate. The doorman was very helpful and asked if we would be having dinner out later that evening, which we were. He let us know the free shuttle would be happy to take us to our restaurant whenever we decided to go.

Room was very pleasant. Nice amenities in bathroom with large shower head. TV in mirror.

Later in the evening we went over to the restaurant, which was actually just around the corner, called Davis Street Fishmarket. Food was pretty good, not great but restaurant seemed to be busy and service was good.

Called for shuttle and they picked us up very promptly, hardly any waiting. All of the valet service at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

The next morning we went for breakfast to the hotel's restaurant. While the pricing is expensive, the breakfast menu was inventive with unique mixes of breakfast foods instead of the usual pancakes, eggs and sausage. That was also available but the more unusual items were what we ordered. I had the grilled peppers with poached eggs, chicken and mornay sauce. It was excellent. Service was very good also. A buffet is available, but we prefer to order from the menu.

Location of the hotel is also very good. It was close to Arlington Racecourse and Woodfield shopping mall with plenty of places to eat, drink and shop closeby. Nice outside decks too when the weather is nice.

If you are going to be in the area, and there isn't a big convention already filling up this hotel, I would recommend staying here for a very pleasant overall experience.

  • Liked — Great design of lobby
  • Disliked — None really
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
levittown, pa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2008

This hotel was wonderful. The hotel staff at the desk, in all of the restaurants and meeting rooms were absolutely the best. So very helpful and kind. The food is fabulous. I wish I had more time to stay there. The convention center is beautiful and very easy to get around. The hotel is ultra modern and although that is not necessarily my taste, it was done beautifully. I would definitely recommend and I will be going back for a vacation.

  • Liked — room cleanliness and superb staff
  • Disliked — nothing - I loved everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skarecrow527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at the Renaissance Schaumberg for a medical convention. The convention center itself is quite impressive, with comfortable rooms and good food. The interior decor of the hotel also was quite nice, with a modern look, albeit somewhat sterile.

A couple of things stood out - the flat-screen TVs in each room with HD service was very nice. Rooms were well-appointed with extremely comfortable beds, very little noise, and a bathroom that was just awesome (a built-in TV inside the mirror, heated section to prevent fog, good toiletries, etc). The cleaning personnel came by early and did a great job. Nice 7-8 foot windows gave a good view of Chicago in the distance. The swimming pool was very nice although somewhat chilly, and the exercise rooms seemed to have everything you needed to stay in shape. Both the lunch areas, Starbucks, and Sam & Harry's were excellent.

There was one major, major drawback about the Renaissance. In this quality of a hotel, and in the year 2008, paying $14.95 / day for internet access was absolutley ludicrous. Granted, there was a business center with $0.25 per minute, but inside your room, it was a complete waste to have such a nice business station that went unused. I called the front desk (who were all very helpful) to see if this internet pricing was actually NOT a joke, and it turns out that they were serious. Guys, paying this much for a room and providing an absolute fleecing when it comes to simple hi-speed internet is a major drawback to this hotel. My suggestions would be to make the service complimentary, or at least charge $1-2 per day built into the cost of the room. I can find complimentary hi-speed internet at the Howard Johnson, much less a 4+ star hotel that's rated the best in the city.

Other than that, the complimentary shuttle service was decent, although somewhat unreliable when only 1 of the 2 shuttles ran full-time. I do commend the hotel for providing this service, but at this price and with this reputation, this type of amenity (as with the internet) should be expected. I am no hotel afficionado and rarely travel, but come on guys.

Nice hotel, very nice touches, but a travesty when it comes to simple things like internet service.

  • Liked — The beds, the bathroom, the front desk.. all very nice.
  • Disliked — Internet service that was $14.95 / day.. terrible..
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DocJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

I had the opportunity to stay at the Renaissance Hotel on June 8- 9 when I was stranded at O'Hare Airport. I arrived in Chicago at 8:30pm, having missed my connecting flight due to delays, and after 3 hours in line to reach the Customer Service desk, I found that the next flight out was at 6:30 the following evening. The Renaissance Hotel was on the list of hotels referred by the airline (with a $99 discounted rate). I took a cab from the airport for a flat rate of $30, and arrived at the Renaissance. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. If you've ever been stranded without luggage, any toiletries are much appreciated, and the Renaissance very graciously provided everything that I needed. They even agreed to extend my check-out until 3 pm, so that I would spend as little time at the airport as possible. The room was modern, and spotless, and the television that was built into the bathroom mirror was unbelievable! The bathroom mirror even has a fogless "rectangle" that allows you to see yourself clearly even after a shower! The hotel shuttle graciously drove me to the mall at no charge (free within a 3 mile radius) to purchase a cell phone charger, and waited for me while I ran in to pick it up. The work area in the hotel is functional and comfortable, and I was able to spend most of the day on my computer. Everyone was extremely kind and gracious, from the shuttle bus driver, to the doorman who ran out in the rain to get a taxi at the $30 rate that I was willing to pay. The Renaissance managed to turn what started out as a nightmare, into a very luxurious 24 hour stay. Kudos for excellent service, beautiful decor, and amenities galore!
luv2travl (except when stranded)!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2travlCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We had a wonderfully romantic weekend at the Renaissance. Literally one of the best hotels I stayed at for this price range. Rooms were very clean and contemporary. Comfortable beds as well. Any time we come to Schaumburg we will definitely stay here. The only draw back was wifi was like $15 a day, and no wifi in the lobby without paying either. Get the breakfast package though. For $20 a day more you get a full breakfast buffet for two. It sounds like a lot but some of the best food I have eaten. Made to order omelets, french toast, waffles, and anything else you can think of asking for. Our bill said $35 w/o the package, so it is a deal. Can you tell we liked it?

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RogandNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
2.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
#20 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Property: Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Address: 1551 Thoreau Dr N, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing