We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Banquet Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Banquet Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a work holiday party. Check in was a little rough, they only had one front desk agent working and a bunch of people were just standing around trying to check in. Then once someone came to help us they couldn't find our reservation, because the woman on the phone made the reservation with our first and last names switched. Oh well though,it all got sorted out!
We had dinner in the ballroom and it was gorgeous!
The absolute best thing about the stay was our server Kirsten, she was fantastic! Both my boyfriend and I have dairy allergies and she was great about making sure we were taken care of. When we got there my boyfriend realized he didn't comment on both of our meals about our allergy and she made sure his order got fixed, she also brought us a dairy free soup option when everyone else's was creamy. She went above and beyond all night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    232
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
116
103
36
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just had our third stay at the Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel, and each one has been extremely satisfying. While I think that the hotel probably does most of its business with convention attendees and other business travelers, it is a great place to spend a weekend with kids -- and their weekend rates are very affordable.

We arrived just after noon this past Saturday, and as I had requested a suite upgrade, our room wasn't ready yet. Chris at the front desk was very helpful, however, and she called me on my cell phone within two hours to let me know the room was ready.

This hotel worked perfectly for our purposes. The huge indoor, salt water pool is well-maintained and clean. While there were other families there as well, it never felt crowded because of the pool size (the sign said it can accommodate up to 126 people!). Staff were responsive at bringing down fresh towels as the need arose.

While it's not exactly walkable, there are a number of other family friendly activities in the area. LEGOLAND is across the tollroad by the Woodfield Mall. There are movie theaters and a number of family-friendly restaurants nearby, too. For outdoor types, there is a Cook County forest preserve district with hiking/biking trails.

The hotel itself was beautifully decorated for the holidays, and there were two wedding receptions going on when we were there. The kids loved the gingerbread houses, and they were able to vote for their top picks. The breakfast buffet in "Sam and Harry's Steakhouse" restaurant in the hotel was first-rate, with a great made-to-order omelet bar. The restaurant also has an appealing dinner menu, but we decided to order pizza for our dinner with the kids instead.

Think seriously about this place for a family weekend getaway when you're suffering from cabin fever.

Room Tip: There are quite a few suites here, so it's worth the ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inddunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

When we first walked in the hotel we noticed the huge open lobby that was very beautiful. The room was fresh and clean and the bed very soft. The bathroom had a TV which is great when you relax in the bath and you can continue watching your TV show. For sure, for my next visit to this area I will stay in this hotel. Another thing; the service overall is very nice and friendly. I really liked that.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RWC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenSchaumburg, Director of Sales at Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and wonderful review of your experience. We are thrilled you spent some of your holiday time with us and we hope to have you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My daughter and I spent the night after attending the jewelry show at the convention center.

We had hoped to be in our room earlier than the 3:00 time but our room wasn't ready. Which was fine as they had several other events going on and were very busy. The desk clerk apologized and offered to check our packages which was very busy. She took my cell phone number and said she would but a rush on housekeeping. We were okay with that and went to Ikea a mile away, then to the Mall also very close. Location of hotel is very good.

We returned to check and were give the key to a room on the 14th floor. Just image our surprise when opening the door. Huge room with sofa, table for 6 people, separate room for kitchen, beautiful wide windows with an awesome view. In the bathroom, there was a TV inbedded in the mirror.

We chose to have a light meal at the bar. Service was outstanding. We asked to move when it became noisy. Not a problem. Waitress said we want you to be happy. Now that is a nice attitude.

Loved our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenSchaumburg, Director of Sales at Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words about your experience. We love surprising and delighting our guests in unique and interesting ways and one of them is through upgrading our guests when suites are available. We are so pleased you enjoyed your surprise and your stay with us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for a pre-Thanksgiving getaway and enjoyed our stay. Check-in went smoothly. Colleen was very friendly and efficient. Told us all the ins and outs of the hotel. Even gave us a heads up that the cheerleading girls would be leaving shortly if we wanted to settle into our room before having a coffee or quiet dinner. Much appreciated.

We stayed on the 15th floor, club floor, and it was so quiet. Our room was next to the elevator and we never heard it! The room was very nice. Huge window, no highway noise at all. Bathroom was small but nicely appointed. Bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping did a fantastic job. Room was spotless every day.

We enjoyed the club lounge although the morning attendant, a woman, seemed indifferent to everyone there. No interaction at all. The evening gentleman on the other hand was very engaging. Food was decent, nothing spectacular, and the room was a bit small so we didn't linger. None the less, it is a nice perk.

Location is good. Easy highway access. Shopping and restaurants galore across the street. It took us about 30-45 minutes to get into town by car. We were going to stay downtown Chicago but glad we opted to stay here instead.

Room Tip: Don't be scared by rooms facing the freeway. The glass is well insulated and there is no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpccarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenSchaumburg, Director of Sales at Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful assessment of your experience with us last week. It is especially nice when our guests go out of their way to point out details that would otherwise be overlooked by the average traveler like the insulated windows and quiet floors regardless of where your room is located.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and when you do make your plans, please do not hesitiate to reach out in advance and let us know, so we can make your next experience even better than your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice and conveniently connected to Convention Center. Staff was kind and efficient. However with the hotel as booked as it was for Cheer Competition Weekend JamLive the hotel was terribly understaffed in restaurants & bar areas. As well as coffee shop. That needs addressing when hosting large events. Otherwise good choice for hotel stay. Very nice location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SHANNONCOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is our second trip to the Schaumburg Renaissance, which is a beautiful hotel. Check in was smooth, our room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. I do have a few suggestions for management to make my future stays better:
1). Offer free wifi. Your competition does, and I dont like to be nickel and dimed by my hotel. You charge $16.95 for enhanced high speed internet and local/ long distance calls. I get this for free on my dataphone, and I expect the convenience of free wifi for my other devices at my hotel when I travel.
2). Speaking of nickel and diming, you try to charge guests $17.99 for a new on-demand movie. Then for those who exit out of the menu after seeing the obnoxious price, you offer a $5 discount on all new movies. That is a scam.
3). Add snack vending machines to the hotel-- I had to wait about an hour for a room service brownie at 10:30 pm. Your competition offers vending services on every floor. How about offering both Pepsi and Coke?
4). The data-ports built in to the desks that were so convenient a few years ago, are outdated along with the phone in the bathroom.
5). Did I mention free wifi?
Overall a quality hotel, but please stop trying to pry open my wallet, and instead help me to enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpine524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#1 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
2.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
#19 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#5 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Property: Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Address: 1551 Thoreau Dr N, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing