We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a marvelously convenient hotel with accommodating staff and a great restaurant. So why not five stars? This is the only hotel in my travels the past year both nationally and internationally that charges for internet in the room. Given the room rates, this seems cheap. I've stayed here three times for conference and every time, the Starbucks lounge has ridiculously long lines and waiting.

Room Tip: Two bedded rooms are far larger than single bedded kings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 730 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a conference held at the hotel. Was very convenient. The room is large and comfortable, the staff is friendly, I used the swimming pool - very good. The price was high because of the conference. Also, did not try their breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skatzav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are going to Schaumburg, it's probably business. If you are a frequent Marriott member, this is your hotel. The rooms are very nice and quiet, they are impeccably cleaned. The workout area is small but well equipped. The best part for me was the concierge lounge on the 15th floor. The breakfast was great, the evening desserts were also good. The people here are all very helpful and friendly. The only tricky thing about this hotel for first timers is finding the entrance. It looks like the conference center entrance, because it is, and the check in and lobby are actually up a floor. So that will only confuse you once, after that it's all good

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stay at this hotel a lot when I'm in town on business. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very nice, and the location is convenient to everything. You can even drive a few miles and park at the Arlington Park train station if you want to take Metra into Chicago, which I have done often. There are lots of good restaurants in the area, but if you want to stay in, the hotel restaurant - Sam and Harry's, is excellent. I pay a corporate rate, which is very reasonable, so I can't comment on the cost, but I would rate it as the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side look down on I-90. Rooms on the north side, particularly on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have been in. Everything about the hotel is grand and luxurious.

Only area if disappointment is the concierge lounge if you are a Marriott elite member. The lounge is small and food disgusting. The breakfast had this mix of scrambled eggs, hash browns and sausage all in one. Looked like the most awful thing I have ever seen at a breakfast table.

The staff is very courteous and cleanliness is immaculate. Free parking.

Hopefully they will step up their game on the concierge lounge.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful! Even if it has a large conference center attached, it has not lost the friendliness and attractiveness of other quality hotels. I would definitely stay here again!
The rooms are luxurious and the beds are comfy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a great hotel! The rooms are very nice with fun featuresat. There is a TV in the bathroom which turns on when you enter. The food was great in the restaurants. The staff took very good care of us and Drew at the front desk was awesome

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Schaumburg/Woodfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Address: 1551 Thoreau Dr N, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: $117 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing