We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here - What more Can I say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1551 Thoreau Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stay here - What more Can I say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been going to Schaumburg on business and staying here regularly. It's the best hotel I've stayed at in many years of business trips. The hotel looks fantastic, it's very well appointed, it's clean (even in the corners) and the staff is both professional and friendly.

My company gets a special rate, so I'm not sure what it costs the average person, but if this hotel is anywhere near your price range, stay here. What else can I say!

Room Tip: 15th floor is concierge level with great breakfast if you can get that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    199
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
96
88
34
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having recently stayed at the Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center, I must say that this property is a top-notch choice for anyone staying in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. The property is incredibly clean, and the staff is always pleasant and accommodating. The location of this property is excellent, with all of the amenities of Schaumburg only a short drive away. I will definitely choose this property when I return to the Chicago area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor for a quiet stay. Even the rooms facing the freeway were silent at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAFROMCHGOIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A previous stay at this facility a couple years ago made me wonder about revisiting the hotel.
A family wedding reception being held there made the decision easier, so we booked it -- late I might add and well after the 'wedding block' date had come and gone. Nevertheless we were extended the discounted 'wedding rate'.
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and every staff member we encountered was extremely helpful and pleasant. A rarity in today's hospitality market.
The room was exceptionally clean and fresh and the bath looked new.
Now good was the stay? Well my 'big' complaints would be that there was only one hook in the bathroom and the coffee and coffee pot was in a cabinet about knee high. (I wish that's all I could find wrong at many hotels!)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMK62563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice, clean, spacious rooms! There was a TV screen behind the mirror in the bathroom. Loved having the mini fridge in the room!
I was there attending a conference. The meeting rooms were great. The lobby is awesome with it's little vignette-style seating areas. You can gather with a group without feeling like you are with everyone else. The burger from the bar (can't remember the name) in the lobby was the best I've ever had! The staff were courteous & very helpful...from the front desk to the bellmen, to the shuttle drivers.
There were many options of great restaurants & shopping very close by. We were kind of hoping to be closer to downtown Chicago, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon arriving we noticed that the parking lot was poorly marked. Some lots were closed off by planters. It was unclear where to go and it was busy. We took a wild stab at where to park and had a treacherous walk into the building. The cars have limited visibility due to low lighting and at night you have to dodge cars if you are walking into the hotel from the west side. We were not assisted with luggage...even though there was a man at the door that looked much like a bell hop.

The lobby is located on the second floor which doesn't make it very convenient when it comes to checking in, if you have to lug your own bags in. We booked a room with a queen bed. At check in we were told that due to the large group (which we were a part of) that they were unable to give us the room with the queen bed. They told us they were all booked. By now we were rather frustrated. We entered the elevator and attempted to find our room. It was a guess really. Please see the picture provided. I assume the arrow plaque was removed and we had to make a wild guess. Again...this proves to be frustrating when you have to carry a large amount of luggage.

The room was clean. We had a view of a roof top that had garbage on it. I don't understand the tv in the mirror (in the bathroom) I was completely repulsed that they had one in a hotel. Who wants to touch a dirty remote control? Not to mention the tv was far to small to make any sort of impression.

During a break from our convention we hurried over to get a cup of coffee and the coffee shop was closing. Rather than accommodating everyone that wanted coffee at the shop, we had to go through the bartender. The bartender then had to run to the coffee shop and then run back for each customer. The time that we had was limited and I feel they could have accommodated the hundreds of couples that were there trying to buy coffee from the convention had the shop stayed open.

In the end they gave us the group rate that they told us they wouldn't give us. The hotel looks like it was recently renovated. It is just a shame the the attention to customer service was not there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlaurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I travel often for work, and my number 1 choice in the region is this hotel. The place is awesome, very classy, the hotel staff is great, and overall everything is just what you need to relax. The gym is spacious, the restaurant is great, and the club lounge for Marriott Rewards members is the best.

My only gripe is they come every night at 7 to turn down your room, which seems unnecessary to me but it's a minor inconvenience to tell them you don't need the service. That, and parking is kind of far away for staying in windy, cold Illinois winters. Otherwise everything is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I travel frequently to the Chicago suburbs and have stayed at this hotel for over 50 nights. Best in the area. Hotel is clean and architecture is cool. Good restaurant in hotel and convenient location with local park to run in and quantity of restaurants in Schaumburg (try Wildfire and Shaw's!). Excellent for business travel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank YetiNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Schaumburg/Woodfield
2.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
Chicago Marriott Schaumburg
#17 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

Property: Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Address: 1551 Thoreau Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Schaumburg
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the independent traveler who values originality, the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel in Schaumburg, Illinois is the area's only lifestyle hotel that inspires its guests to discover something different-each time they stay. We deliver an experience that goes beyond expectations. Take your group to spaces designed for inspiration. Our expansive yet intriguing meeting facilities far exceed the standards of the most discerning planner. Explore more than 100,000 sq ft of dynamic space across 42 event rooms. Our Schaumburg hotel accommodations boast stylish design and luxurious comfort. Located in an accessible hub with a sophisticated collection of retail and culinary options such as Sam & Harry's, IKEA and Woodfield Mall, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel serves as an indigenous ambassador for entire Chicagoland area...and a gateway for the entire Midwest. Experience refined style at the Renaissance Hotel in Schaumburg where stunning design blends seamlessly with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing