We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places in Chicago”

Yu's Mandarin Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 323 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
579 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Chicago”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Don't really need to go to Chicago Chinatown for good Chinese food when there's Yu's. We ordered the 8 Treasure Tofu Pot, Walnut Shrimp, and the Salt & Pepper Smelts. All were very good but the only issue we had was that it wasn't very hot, more like lukewarm in temperature. The portion sizes were excellent. Especially like their use of large shrimp for the walnut shrimp dish. Lots of leftovers to take home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    60
    25
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Chinese Cuisine at its Best!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My family love this place. Food is excellent and price is reasonable. Try their seafood combination platter and their fried rice. On weekends, you have to wait for about 30 mins to be seated. Once order is made, their service is quick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marissalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is pretty much the only Chinese restaurant that I like. I don't go there often as I live fairly far but when I'm in Schaumburg it is a must stop. My favorite dish is sesame beef. No other restaurant has it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bucuo (不错)”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was there with the whole clan last March 2013. I thought the food was great. But then in April 2013 and for 3 months, I had the opportunity to study in China. There I experienced real Chinese food prepared and served in real Chinese style! Of course nothing compares to Chinese food in China, but Yu's Mandarin isn't bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTMONT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Most of my life I have ate at local, general chinese restaurants that use all of that MSG. Yu's is an upscale true Chinese restaurant. You know the food is good when all of the Chinese people eat there.

My wife and I have been back several times. We won't go to any other Chinese restaurant.

You will not be disappointed.

Bob

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yu's Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yu's Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing