We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza, Bad seating”

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 319 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Bad seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Truly amazing pizza. Fresh ingredients and great flavor. Probably the best pizza I've ever had. The restaurant is cramped and we had to sit at a table upstairs. Every time a customer or waiter went by I was bumped. This got annoying after the first 5 times.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonadebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    131
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Deep Dish in Chicago or the Burbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you haven't tried deep dish, dont go anywhere else until you have tried Lou's. This Chicago/Suburban Staple is the best at Deep Dish, with thick chunky sauce which is full of flavor, excellent additions that are tender crisp and fresh and cheesy beyond believe with that super fabulous stretch factor to the cheese. But the best part is that buttery buttery crust which just begs you to eat every last piece. We've eaten pizza in 42 places and counting in search of the best, and we cant help but adore Lou's.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bloomingrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We visited with a big group, 6 adults & 4 kids. It's a very comfortable restaurant. We visited on a weekend evening and had to wait for a little bit.
The restaurant looks so quaint when it's all lit up at night! The wrap-around porch is fantastic!
The service was good, the food was good.
A great place for a family meal!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Chicago deep dish pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Tried Lou's pizza for the first time recently. We got one deep dish individual made Lou's style and one thin crust personal size. The deep dish was excellent. The vegs were fresh and the crust was amazing. The size was very small but filling at the same time. On the other hand the thin crust pizza was a little bland, almost like cheese in cardboard. We also tried an appetizer called a spinich roll, it was so flavorful and fillin it could almost be a dish in itself. It was like a loaf of bread stuffed with vegs, spinich, garlic, and cheese.
Overall I have to say its very good food and lives up to the hype.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desi_traveler_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Deep Dish Ever - and they even have lower-fat cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Yes, that's right. I ate Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza and opted for the "lower-fat cheese." Sure, one might argue that I'm already eating 1,000,000 calories of bread and toppings, but I try to make it healthier where I can, and Lou's does do a great job of utilizing the lower-fat cheese. It's still gooey and melty and delicious. We ordered a Lou's Pie and a Cheese Pie - both amazing. I thought that Giordano's and Gino's East were goos (which they are), but Lou's blows them out of the water in both taste as well as texture, not to mention much friendlier and more knowledgeable service. I love that this location of Lou's is in an old house in Schaumburg. The noise level is not unlike what you'd encounter at a big old family Christmas party in a Victorian-style home. I also recommend the big, family-style salads, as well as the stuffed Spinach Bread as an appetizer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volksaudinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

 
Schaumburg, IL
 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing