We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting place with good food”
Review of Pilot Pete's

Pilot Pete's
Ranked #11 of 323 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very interesting place with good food”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Located at a small airport, with a rail road beyond the run way, we joke about it being "Planes, Trains and Automobiles" but unlike the movie, this is not a comedy. They are serious about food and service. Wide ranging menu with some original takes on some things. From salads to sandwiches and lots in between, there is something for everyone. The food is good, ample and served at the correct temperature. It can be a little bit loud, but it is worth the minor annoyance. They handle groups well. A fun place to eat, and kids, and most adults, like to watch planes landing and taking off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockerralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    67
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marine City, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very interesting resturant”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is actually located on an small airport, and the atmosphere is all related to flying. The lobby has actual seats from airliners from the past. It is set up inside like a sports bar/restaurant with lots of TV's. The food is plentiful and good. They have several specialties and all of them are worth it, I have had chicken fingers, and the million dollar hamburger, both were great meals. Very friendly staff, and the place is almost always packed so make sure to get a reservation

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stewyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Fried Chicken”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

They have all you can eat fried chicken dinners on Sundays. It's the best fried chicken I have ever had ... juicy, crunchy and flavorful!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food in a unique setting”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm writing this while eating my leftovers from last night's meal. (They reheat really well!)

We first discovered this restaurant due to a Groupon, and we've been fans ever since. The kids love the airplanes. The food & decor have a little bit of a Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville feel to it.

My favorite thing on the menu is the Cuban sandwich. However, the burgers are good too, and the chicken fingers are really large and fresh. These do not come from the food-service supply company. Hubby really likes the all-you-can-eat fish fry (Wed & Fri only). The kids menu is very typical of what you would find in most family restaurants, and come with a drink and ice cream. The deserts we saw delivered to the next table looked delicious, but we managed to mooch off the kids instead.

Portions are large. Since not many restaurants have it, I will mention that they get extra points for serving Coke Zero.

This last visit was for dinner on Mother's Day. Despite being crazy busy, the service was prompt, and the food served hot. Our waitress checked in with us often. They even had little airplane kits for the kids and a flower for me on the way out. Nice touch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Just a Theme Place”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The restaurant's located right in the middle of the Schaumburg airport. It was crowded on a Saturday night, but we got to wait in first class seats pulled from a jetliner. The aviation theme goes above and beyond, but in a good way (I thought). Our server was a little brusque, but she did her job. The menu has interesting points: lobster nachos, pasta pan bakes, and house-smoked brisket. Otherwise, it's pretty standard fare that they seem to do well. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot Pete's also viewed

 

Been to Pilot Pete's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing