We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Location & Amenities, but too much NOISE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Schaumburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Schaumburg
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location & Amenities, but too much NOISE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a groupon and stayed the first night in the suite with jacuzzi and fireplace and added a second night in a standard room. The groupon left much to be desired. It was supposed to include:
•Bottle of wine (a $35 value)
•Gourmet popcorn from Chocolatines (a $30 value)
•Two boxes of strawberries from Edible Arrangements (a $30 value)
The $35 value wine was Barefoot brand. A GALLON of the same wine was selling across the street for $9. The $30 value gourmet popcorn sells for $6.50 on Chocolatines website. The two "boxes" ended up being two strawberries, in individual boxes. A box of 12 sells for $29 on Edible Arrangements website, meaning these $30 value strawberries were valued at under $5. Don't even offer a 'romance' package if you are going to cheapskate it.
Other than the groupon disappointment, the hotel was WONDERFUL!
The staff was excellent, rooms were clean and pristine, breakfast was fantastic - way more than expected. My biggest concern was the amount of noise you could hear through the walls. Every time someone in the hall used their card, it sounded like they were trying to open our door. Both in the suite and a standard room we were woken up by stomping from above. I should have called the front desk but it was one of those situations where you think they leave and start to fall back asleep and it starts back up. It was so bad that when the cleaning lady vacuumed the room above us, our walls shook. Either way, we had a great time and will consider staying here again because of the great staff and reasonable price.

Room Tip: I would guess the top floor would be better as far as sound is concerned but did not have a room off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    69
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
98
22
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We've stayed here three times now. The kids love the pool, which is always warm. We like to get the family package that includes a PPV movie and pizza. Something has gone awry on each of our visits, but the hotel staff has reacted very well each time - when a sick kid threw up, they moved us to a new room in the middle of the night. When the TV didn't work, they reduced our rate considerably. The breakfast is excellent, but expensive if you don't get it rolled in with your room rate.

We'll keep returning because of the response of the hotel staff to issues that have arisen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FBG-Tick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel, large room, clean and comfortable plus an excellent location.

The complementary breakfast also makes it worth while.

There are a lot of dinning options close by and also woodfield mall.

Plus the tilted Kilt is right in front.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and everyone was friendly. Very speedy check in. Managers reception is always a nice bonus in the evenings. Rooms are spacious with LCD tv and lots of channels. Will use when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for two days coupled with the Legoland package. Overall the price was a little above average but with the lego package it becomes a wash. Free admission to Legoland, pizza and soda from Papa Johns. We choose this hotel because of the package of legoland and the other hotel we generally stay at was sold out for the time we needed.

The location of the hotel is central to Schaumburg's attractions; easy to navigate to and from during your stay. Security of the building is based on swipe cards with the exception of the front doors. Check in was simple, however the front desk staff appears to be younger college students, no drive to provide an exceptional experience. (Minimum wages provides minimum motivation)

Appearance of the structure is standard for this level of hotel. However the interior is worn and musky smelling. I asked another patron of the hotel if there room was the same and they said yes. Do not walk anywhere without your shoes or sandals on, the carpet is completely filthy. Numerous spots and stains in rooms and hallways. After looking at my socks just walking around our room proved my point, white socks with with almost black bottoms.

Musky smell in hallways and rooms, granted seasons of the year play into this however improve the HVAC system. To clear the smell in the room, turned the heater on and opened the window after 45 minutes of heat and running the fan it was okay, however you had to run the fan continuously to fight off the musky smell. Paint peeling off the bathroom door.

The pool and hot tub were small. When three families are in the pool room, it is crowded. Over chlorinated, and not maintained the best. First night would not use the hot tub, scum and hair floating on surface and obvious dirt/sand at bottom. The next morning the kids wanted to swim so we went at the posted opening time, first ones there and after looking in the pool and hot tub you could see all the dirt that had settled overnight to the bottom of both. A better maintenance schedule would improve this.

Breakfast area nice for what it was, standard for this level of hotel. Television and room features standard. The parking lot appeared a little dark at night, however that maybe due to light noise restrictions. Several dining options available in the area, there is a Tilted Kilt next door.

Overall stay was average - I honestly would not consider this my first choice of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have always been pleased with Comfort Suites except for this one. I made a reservation in advance, was told they did not have the rooms available that Groupon Coupon included.
Our room was not ready, we opted for romance pkg for our anniversary. We were put on a floor that had several rooms with small children. I waited over an hour to receive our wine and 2 strawberries, when I called the front desk I was told to come down and get it. We went down only to be told there was to much and it would be brought up, we went back up and it was there
but there was no bottle opener, we again went downstairs, only one person working on a Saturday at 3 pm when check in begings. There was no soap in the bathroom, we went to the front desk again. Breakfast was average. When we checked out no asked how was your stay, have a good day or even thank for staying here. Customer service was lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We used points we had accumulated to spend a couple days shopping in this busy area near Woodfield Mall. This property was clean, and welcoming. The room (suite in the sense that the pullout couch is separate from the bed area. The free internet worked well. There is a small indoor pool and a nice jaccuzzi/spa. The free breakfast was plentiful with eggs and meat (sausage patties one day, links the other). The staff was very friendly. This hotel is near a lot of shopping as well as business area and plenty of very good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schaumburg
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Schaumburg
Quality Inn Schaumburg
#10 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#1 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Schaumburg
Days Inn & Suites Schaumburg
#14 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Arlington Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn O'Hare
Comfort Inn O'Hare
#4 of 10 in Des Plaines
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Schaumburg

Property: Comfort Suites Schaumburg
Address: 1100 E Higgins Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#15 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Schaumburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing