We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not what I was expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I brought my boyfriend to Schaumberg for a weekend getaway for his birthday. I chose this hotel because of the free breakfast and microwave/fridge in the room, and the sauna with the hot tub and indoor pool the facility has. Also for the location. Location is great, but the hotel is more for extended stay. The room was nice enough (we had a queen studio), with a FULL kitchen - regular size refrigerator, microwave, mini stove/oven, mini dishwasher, sink, and was stocked with items to cook and eat off of.

We were located in room 202. I would recommend staying as far away from the lobby as possible, as some of the 2nd floor overlooks the lobby, and it can get quite noisy. Also, this room is right by the elevator. We didn't think to change rooms at the time. You can also hear your neighbors, as well as the plumbing. The air conditioning/heater was pretty loud when it came on, but the temperature was comfortable, and at least it worked.

There was no full length mirror, but there was a mirror next to the table/desk, as well as a large mirror in the bathroom. There weren't many outlets in the room, especially none around the bed/beside tables. I had to plug mine phone into the outlet in the kitchen area. There was an outlet on the lamp that was located on the table/desk, so my boyfriend used that one to plug his phone into.

The bathroom was pretty spacious. The lighting in there was decent for putting make-up on. The hairdryer was small, but it got the job done. If you like power in your hairdryer, I'd suggest bringing your own. We had an issue with the plug in the shower that changes the water from the spout to the shower head. It was super hard to lift it. I hurt my fingers trying to pull up on it to change it to the shower, so when it finally lifted, we left it up our entire stay, so that we didn't have to deal with it again.

The rest of the room came with the usual amenities. There was a free breakfast that seemed adequate, however, I couldn't really eat anything on it, as I'm on a gluten free diet, among other dietary issues. I brought my own breakfast. Since there is a kitchen in each unit, you can cook whatever food you'd like if you don't want what they serve.

My boyfriend used the fitness facilities. He said it was nothing special, and the room was small, but it got the job done. He used the eliptical machine. We did not get a chance to use the pool, hot tub, and sauna due to the limited hours it was open. Although the pool did look really small.

The lobby is spacious, and they do offer a cocktail hour only Monday - Thursday, so unfortunately, we did not partake in that.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd recommend this place for an extended stay and/or for groups of people, rather than a weekend getaway with your significant other.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mssnappy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHyattSummerfield, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and response. I can empathize with our property not meeting your specific needs at the time of your stay, but I'm confident that we can be your hotel of choice for alternative needs during your visits to the Schaumburg area. With a great location, several room options and multiple amenities (breakfast, evening social, etc;), we may not be your first choice for a romantic weekend, but how about other recreational plans?

We would look forward to servicing you again and thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Regards,

General Manager
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    102
    40
    23
    21
See reviews for
123
60
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The rooms are a little on the small size, especially compared to other Hyatt House suites, but still comfortable. The hotel only has queen beds (i.e., no rooms have 2 beds in them). It has an indoor pool, hot tub and small gym. The rate does include breakfast, but I really wouldn't categorize it as a true full breakfast. Breakfast is about average (the eggs aren't that great - it appears they are made from powder).

The hotel is very close to a lot of businesses so if you're staying for vacation, there will be more noise Monday-Friday. Each bedroom and the living area has its own air conditioning unit, which can be loud, especially when they turn on.

We had some trouble with a very noisy air conditioner, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating to move us to a new suite. They gave us a nice personalized letter apologizing for the incident and provided a complimentary bottle of wine for our trouble. Good recovery!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Their was enough room for the 5 of us. The TV in the main room did not work, I told them in the morning and they never fixed it. also the down comforter didn't look very clean. So we didn't use it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel offers minisuites with small kitchenettes, queen beds and flat screen TV's. The rooms are a little on the small size but very clean and comfortable. It has an indoor pool, hot tub and small gym. The rate includes a full breakfeast and happy hour with light snacks.The staff was welcoming and provided excellent service. The location is close to Woodfield mall wilth restaurants in every price point and offers a variety of Shopping. It's close to I355 and I90 so travel is realatively easy if you don't mind paying the tolls. All in all its a nice hotel with a great location that's friendly and moderately priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trobin4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel for 3 nights in September...made the booking in February....they just emailed me and said they were upping the rate by $130 a night...said I could either pay the difference or cancel the reservation. I cancelled. Needless to say, I will never book at a Hyatt again, nor will I encourage my university to do so. I have booked and stayed at a lot of hotels with my business...I have NEVER had this happen. Really shabby treatment!!!!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank rizjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful start to my honeymoon. Room was clean and spacious. Would stay here again. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was also huge.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeshaKesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on Mar 11, 2012 for one night. The room in general was fine but the toilet flush was not working properly. As we were there for only one night, I just overlooked it. The following day morning, after we used the toilet, the flush stopped working completely and caused overflow. I called the reception and I was told that someone would be there right away. We waited for half an hour and nobody came and I called the reception again. She said she would send one soon and she advised me if we need to use the bathroom, we can use one in the lobby area! We haven't had even taken shower yet and we were to check out and head to Davenport, Iowa for a visit and we were running late. Finally, a housekeeping male staff appeared at the door with a plunger but to my surprise, he wanted to hand in the plunger to my wife!! That means he wanted us to unclog the toilet! I didn't expect that you ask your guests to do that. My wife refused to take it and then he came in and unclogged the toilet but he didn't clean the mesh on the floor. When he was leaving, I asked him if he would dry the floor. Then he went to get the towels to clean the floor! Is that normal that a normal practice at your hotel? I am not sure if he treated us that way because of our color. My friend told me that when he went to eat breakfast, the attendant lady greeted everyone in front of him but ignored him, maybe she thought she doesn't have to greet the people of her own color. When I went to eat breakfast, I found that the silverware and plates were all wet. I had to use the paper towel to dry the plate. No "good morning" and no thanks! What a hospitality!

When we were leaving room, I saw the same housekeeping male staff near the elevator and he was cracking jokes with the female staff and when I looked at him, he blinked one eye at me as if Iwas his coworker. No sense of respect to the guests! This gentleman really needs good training.

So much money has been spent to create the suites and equip with all kitchen utensils but you didn't hire trained people or at least someone who value the customers. I will never go back to this hotel.

I had already paid hotwire but I had used credit card to check in but I found that they again charged some money on my credit card. I had to call them and later they credited that back!

Reception crews were nicer compared to the house keeping and breakfast attendant lady.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Postak_Shrestha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHyattSummerfield, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

There is never an excuse for poor housekeeping, and even more importantly, no excuse for unfriendly staff members. The vast majority of comments we receive regarding the friendliness of our associates are overwhelmingly positive and it is very unusual and disapointing that you would have such an unusually poor experience.

When a member of the hotel's management team is informed, there are very few problems that cannot be resolved. I am very disappointed that these issues were not brought to my attention, as I am sure I could have resolved any problems that you experienced to your complete satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#1 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg
Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg
#6 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg

Property: Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Address: 1251 American Ln, Schaumburg, IL 60173-6015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg is a luxury extended stay property located in the heart of Schaumburg. Surrounded by shopping, restaurants, and businesses, this hotel makes your stay comfortable and rewarding. Each guest will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast with omelette station daily, managers reception Monday -Thursday from 5:30 p.m.-7p.m., where we serve complimentary beer, wine, soft drinks and appetizers. Our hotel also offers complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and shuttle service within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Some of the businesses, attractions, and restaurants that our hotel shuttle will transport to are Motorola, IBM, Zurich, Pepsi, Capital One, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Experian, Schneider Electric, Medieval Times, Gameworks, Legoland, Level257, Woodfield Mall, The Streets of Woodfield, IKEA, Weber Grill, Granite City Brewery, PF Chang, Cheesecake Factory, Wildfire, Season 52, Shaws Crabhouse, and Moretti's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Summerfield Suites
Schaumburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites
Summerfield Suites Schaumburg
Hyatt Schaumburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing