We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok.. have had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
Reserve with OpenTable
Shaw's Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 319 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Higgins Rd and Rt. 53, I-290 and I-355
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ok.. have had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Food was okay.. have had better.. for the price I didnt see the value but.. I wasnt paying but having had the "assorted trio" I was still hungry after dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrMasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    89
    47
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Seemed a little disorganized. We had to wait 20 minutes for our reservation, but saw quite a few empty tables. Definitely worth the $$$ for shrimp, crab cakes, king crab legs and then some. The food tasted good, was seasoned nicely and the layout was spread out so you didn't have to wait in long lines to get food. The only thing that was bad was the service. Our server wasn't very attentive. It was Mother's Day. I get you are busy, but there is no reason why our dirty plates should be piling on our table and no reason why we have to ask for a refill more than three times. What was annoying was she kept walking past our table trying to avoid talking to us. Terrible. She wasn't very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crab buffet-wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Made last minute plans to enjoy the crab buffet at shaw with my bf last night. I have never seen a buffet like this so chock full of great stuff that you don't want to waste stomach capacity on bread, salad, or veggies. Amazing selection of seafood-fresh oysters, crab cakes, crab claws, different types of crab legs, whole lobsters, the list goes on. Great waitress who made an incredible cucumber martini which was light and the perfect match for the meal. Expensive eve but great value for special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“They just don't have it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a bad experience last time we went, (see my review, below) and the very professional, courteous management staff made it up to us with a generous gift certificate, so we went back. Alas, the management staff, good as they seem to be, just cannot right this place. The service was absolutely awful. The only time the waiter came to our table was when we called to him, or asked someone else to bring him over. We should not have been ignored like that. The kitchen was also very, very slow and way off: orders came out in pieces, with large intervals in between. We were seated at 6, and left after 8:30, and we did not want that type of a leisurely meal. The noise level is insane, so the ambience is not there either. And the food is only reaches the level of "fine"; definitely not good enough to deal with the other flaws. The bill was about $210 for three of us, and so, no value, either. Though we appreciate the management reaching out to us, this is our last time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fourfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
238 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“DONE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant is the sister of one located in downtown Chicago. This one is located near the Woodfield shopping mall .Nice place to visit-- once and the cost makes it a poor choice as you will be alot poorer after.Compared menu items with Bob Chinns in wheeling Illinois I had the grouper for $33.00 and she had the stone crab claw $47.00 Same items at bob chinns $28.00 and 43.00 same size portions one gives you potatoes {Chinns } Shaws gives you vegetable Drinks are comparable in price but Chinns are alot larger Shaws was very loud and tight .We used to go to the Chicago location in the past and quit because of price and insane parking costs and the same holds true today . Reservations are accepted but figure on additional bar time as ours was 35 min late Done with Shaws

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw's Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing