We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun for kids!!”

LEGOLAND Discovery Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.89*
and up
LEGOLAND Discovery Center Chicago
Ranked #2 of 11 Fun & Games in Schaumburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit LEGOLAND Discovery Center and it's like you have just jumped into the world's biggest box of LEGO bricks! This indoor attraction offers 30,000 square feet of LEGO fun including two rides, a 4D movie theater, a build and test zone where kids can build their own LEGO creations, Miniland - the Chicago skyline built from 1 million LEGO bricks, a soft play area, LEGO Pirate Adventure Island, LEGO Factory Tour, Model Builder Workshop, LEGO Shop and Cafe.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a pretty good attraction. The kids love it. I marked it a three for value because depending on what kind of deal you get it may be worth it or not. There are good deals if you purchase online or get a coupon (typically on mini Lego sets) or you can do what we did and buy an annual membership and hopefully return to get your money's worth. The food is reasonable compared to a theme park but not as cheap as McDonalds or BK.

1  Thank Stone9315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Marketing Assistant at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi! Thank you so much for visiting our attraction and for becoming Annual Pass members. We are pleased to hear that your kids enjoyed their visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. As an Annual Pass member you will be able to enjoy special events and new and exciting activities every month, and it really is the best value if you are planning on visiting the Center more than once a year. We hope your family enjoys your Annual Passes and we look forward to creating memorable experiences for your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"lego land"
in 45 reviews
"lego fans"
in 22 reviews
"water table"
in 22 reviews
"race cars"
in 17 reviews
"master builder"
in 32 reviews
"blast"
in 74 reviews
"activity"
in 44 reviews
Filter

1,141 - 1,145 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We could've spent all day here! Rides, jungle gym, lego's, car races, etc. Museum part for older kids/adults. Store is expensive but what do you expect? =) Coupons available for admission online and in surrounding stores.

1  Thank AJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Marketing Assistant at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello! Thank you so much for visiting our Center and for the positive feedback! We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed all of the attractions and that you had a memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our first time going we went on Easter day 2013 and the kids had a blast and so did us adults. We bought the family pack online that included our meal and free picture and when going again this is what i would do as I think it's the best deal. The 4d movie was awesome and something to experience while there.

1  Thank Andrea198406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Marketing Assistant at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi! Thank you so much for visiting our attraction. We are glad that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed the 4D Cinema. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

First tip, book online and save yourself some money and maybe a wasted trip. We made the mistake of not doing so and we were turned away at the door since they were at capacity. We came back the next day after booking online. It does cost you $60 even with the discount for a family of 4.
My 6 year old loved it, my 10 year old was ok but board after a couple of hours.
The 4D was not 4D it was really cool 3D, the 4D experience is being touted but you were never sprayed or no wind was blown on you. Legoland change the name to 3D and stop the false advertising.
For all the money you spend they put you through a building workshop and do not let you keep the $5 model, you had to buy that as well.
The place was rather clean and well-kept the workers were friendly and polite.
I would go back with my 6 year old but with one adult and leave the older kid at home or go to a movie it would be more entertaining for him.

1  Thank sg620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Marketing Assistant at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. As an attraction that caters to families, we do try and create the best experiences possible for our guests. Your review has helped shed light on some issues we can improve upon so that we can ensure all of our guests have a great visit.

You had visited us during Spring Break, which is one of our busiest times of the year. For that reason, we were at capacity on the initial day you had visited and were only able to accept pre-paid tickets that day so that we could maintain a safe and fun environment for all of our guests. We tried to communicate this message as effectively as possible on our website and Facebook page, so that guests didn’t travel to the Center and weren’t able to visit. That being said, we are happy that you were able to purchase tickets online for the following day and were able to visit us then.

As a whole, the activities inside our attraction are geared towards children 3 – 10 years old. Depending on a child’s interests, however, this may vary slightly. We are sorry that your older child didn’t enjoy the attraction as much as your younger child.

With regards to the 4D Cinema, the special effects in the theater weren’t working on the day you had visited. This has been communicated to our maintenance team and they are working diligently to fix it.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback. We will be sure to improve upon the items you had mentioned and definitely hope your family visits us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's was ok, my boys are 7 and 4. They enjoyed it and would like to go back. I had read all of reviews and was worried about several of the posts. Overall it's was a good experience. It was a little crowded but we went on easter weekend on a Sat at 1 pm. It was not that bad. The only part that was crowded was the play area and where you build the cars to race. The 4 d movie, I thought was the best part. I would suggest if you are a germ a phobe, do not attend the Lego land. We took hand sanitizer and used it about three times.

1  Thank Shaf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Marketing Assistant at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that your family had a great visit. Since you had visited us during Spring Break, the center was more crowded than usual. We would recommend visiting us again during our slower season when it isn’t as crowded. We also do have sanitizer stations throughout the attraction, as we understand that some guests are concerned about germs on the LEGO bricks. Our bricks are cleaned and sanitized on a daily rotation. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Center also viewed

Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg, IL
 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing