We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for little kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LEGOLAND Discovery Center

LEGOLAND Discovery Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.99*
and up
LEGOLAND Discovery Center Chicago
Ranked #1 of 9 Fun & Games in Schaumburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit LEGOLAND Discovery Center and it's like you have just jumped into the world's biggest box of LEGO bricks! This indoor attraction offers 30,000 square feet of LEGO fun including two rides, a 4D movie theater, a build and test zone where kids can build their own LEGO creations, Miniland - the Chicago skyline built from 1 million LEGO bricks, a soft play area, LEGO Pirate Adventure Island, LEGO Factory Tour, Model Builder Workshop, LEGO Shop and Cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Goodfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for little kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our afternoon there, any child 10 or younger would have a blast! Buy tickets online to save $ and time waiting in line! Must experience sound effects in men's restroom, according to giggling 10 year old.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for your review! I have also always found the noises funny as well. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    399
    306
    162
    98
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed, loved the 4d show - geared for younger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed our visit, on a weekday when our kids were out but not a holiday. Our daughter is 10. She enjoyed it but I could tell it was borderline on the age. REALLY enjoyed mini land and the new ride. The 4d show called clutch powers was by far the best 4d show I have seen! Loved seeing the kids grabbing for objects :). The other show spell breaker was horrible in comparison!! Was disappointed in the "Lego factory". If you are over the age of 2 it looked cheap and cheesy! This would not be an entire day - 2hours is a good recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank Kristie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Center! We are very sorry you did not enjoy Spellbreaker. We have a new 4D movie coming this year, and hope that next time you visit you enjoy it as much as Clutch Powers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not for big kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

There's really not that much to do for the price. The displays are really nice, but if you're going with kids over 7, it will be a waste of money. Look for coupons online before you go.

Helpful?
Thank dainaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! We value all opinions received and will look into activities for the older kids visiting our center- we want everyone to be able to have fun with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Crowded, sticky and noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Remonce mé if i ever have to gå back to this place that I must bring ear plugs! It is so crowded literally being pushed forward by people and barely able t move. On top of an unsafe amount of people squeezed together in a small place then the acoustics are really bad and with children and some uneducated parents screaming at each other it was just unbearable.
Everything seemed dirty and sticky and the lines for dong anything was just tremendously unnecessary. Obviously this is a very popular destination as we Ike so many other families with children have the urge to satisfy the little ones with Lego experiences and with no actual Lego land anywhere near Chicago this is the best we can get. But they really should it let so many people in that one is squeezed around and constantly fearing to be separated from ones children. It seemed very unsafe.
At the end where there is a big playground and some change of free play with Lego we had the impression that some parents were using this as a drop off place for their children, there was absolutely no supervision and older children were ripping Lego out of the hands of little ones, my youngest had build something for the competition and another child snapped it away from him and broke it. This perpetrator then went on to using part of my sons creationism and in spite of our complaint he won a price!
Staff was overwhelmed and under educated in how to handle children and crowds, some were indifferent and some were shouting at the children just to raise the noise bar even further.
We had bout a season pass at the entrance but we swore we will never come back in spite new visits would be for free, and we certainly have not revisorer that nightmare.
We enjoy tarvelig to differentiere LEGOlands and have also visiter other Discovery centers. The Discovery centers seems generally like a rip off but a good idea but this one un IL is unfortunately the most mismanaged and disgusting LEGO venue, everything being sticky, unclean etc. But they are probably making more money than the other locations because they stuff and squeeze as many people through as possible and they save on staff

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to LDC Chicago! We do understand that it can get crowded on busy days; to combat this, we constantly monitor our admissions trends to ensure we do not exceed our building capacity. We look to improve every day, and reviews like yours help.

Since you mentioned having an annual pass, I would highly recommend trying us again on a weekday afternoon- it is much less crowded and your kids will get more personalized attention. We hope you decide to visit again and that any future visits are much more pleasant than your last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Start, Room for Growth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a nice outing for a young kid just getting started with legos. There are enough attractions to keep your child busy for an hour or two but not worth the price of admission for adults.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MYSV3340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDCChicagoteam, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for your review! We are currently looking to expand our current attractions to offer more playtime for all our guests. If you would like a hand in choosing what kind of attractions we bring to our site, please participate in the vote on our website. The winning design will be placed in our Black Box space adjacent to Kingdom Quest.

We hope you consider visiting us or our upcoming location in Westchester in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Center also viewed

Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg, IL
 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing