We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Senator's Inn & Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Senator's Inn & Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Savoy B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pretty good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night. This inn is pretty good and beautiful. The room is big and the host is nice. Savory is a very small and quiet town which makes me enjoy the sound when the train passing by. This is not a problem at all. 這間旅店位在一個叫做Savory的小鄉鎮,距離香檳與爾巴納大概開車五分鐘左右,也有10號公車經過,若有自己車子或他人接送可能會比較方便。房子很大很漂亮,沒有附早餐但是房間裡已經提供許多的餅乾與咖啡,當作早餐吃已經很夠了,也有冰箱與微波爐。這個地方很安靜,很適合想感受美國鄉村生活的人來體驗,偶而會有長長的火車經過,帶來不少樂趣,我一點都不會覺得吵,反而感覺很溫暖。

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TianaHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This people is out of this world. I had never being treated so kind in no other hotel I had been in my life. Is very economic if you need a place for an extended stay. A very antique place, looks much like a museum; as a matter of fact It have some history; it belonged to a senator. I think you might need to consider, even when the place is very quiet most of the time, there is a train railroad just crossing the from road and there are trains passing by during the night. I just don't notice them, but there are people who are more sensitive during sleep and might be disturbed by the noise. The persons that manage the place (Lory and Sharry) will make you feel like been at home.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building should be less disturbed by the trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed three nights (Apr into May) and loved it. Our daughter ran in the 3rd Annual Illinois Marathon, which is what brought us to the area, from Dallas. We generally prefer to stay in B&B and this one was very nice. Very handy to Urbana/Champaign. Yes... the Canadian National runs up and down the tracks right across the highway, but quite frankly we didn't hear a thing once we dozed off. (We both enjoy hearing train whistles anyway.) As far as we know, the inn was full (there were almost 10,000 participants in the various races that weekend) but you couldn't tell that by us. It was very quiet...and this in spite of the fact our south facing windows looked right out over the adjoining Senator's Pub. We'll stay there again should we have reason to return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfischertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is a nice place and reasonably priced. Unfortunately it is located right next to the train tracks. I never knew so many trains ran through Champaign-Urbana. But I do now, they come through at 10:30 p.m., 11:00 p.m., 2:00 a.m. and around 6:30 am. and 6:45 a.m. and the blare the horn every time. You cannot get a decent night's sleep at this place because of the trains going through, which is quite unfortunate as this place is very cute. Also, bring all your own toiletries, as this place supplies nothing -- there was no bars of soap, no shampoo, no nothing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank minegirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
721 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed overnight after a U of I football game. The location makes it easy to get to and from the campus. Also several dining options in the area. Our room was very clean. Breakfast is continental style. Room rates are extremly reasonable.

  • Liked — Room rate very reasonable.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savoy
2.1 mi away
I Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Paradise Inn
5.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Champaign
WoodSpring Suites Champaign
#18 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senator's Inn & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senator's Inn & Pub

Property: The Senator's Inn & Pub
Address: 801 N Dunlap Ave, Savoy, IL 61874-8405
Location: United States > Illinois > Savoy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Savoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senator’s Inn and Pub in Savoy, IL, a few miles south of Champaign-Urbana. The beautiful brick building was built in 1915 and is the former mansion of Senator Henry M. Dunlap. Today, it is a gracious facility. The original house on this property, owned by Matthias Dunlap was said to have been visited by Abraham Lincoln and was used as a stop on the Underground Railroad for fleeing slaves. At one time, the current 25 room house was the largest in the community. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing