We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salty food, Slow service, Not accommodating, Noisy, Expensive.”
Review of Sorrento North

Sorrento North
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Maple
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West of Bathurst
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salty food, Slow service, Not accommodating, Noisy, Expensive.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Don't eat there if you can not have salty food or you have high blood pressure. The service is slow. When a patron comments about the excess salt in the food, the owner's reply is that the salt is in the tomatoe sauce, and he can't do nothing about it.
The place is smallish and very noisy especially on a Saturday evening.
Portions are normal in size, but they include mainly 'filler' a sea food pasta had only 2 - 3 shrimps and a few mussels.
Very expensive for what you get.
They are very fast to bring the bill; after that they ignore you even if you ask for more water. I had to go and get it myself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank accordionist a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    5
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations in every way”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a small restaurant in a local plaza not far from home. We have driven by it many times. To celebrate a special evening we went to Sorrento North for the first time. On this Thursday evening there was live entertainment, a musician with a guitar and keyboard playing pleasant background music that enabled comfortable table talk while the music was being played. The menu was not your typical Italian style offering, but a variety of unusual and regional dishes. The server was cheerful and non intrusive throughout the entire evening. We selected a Buffala mozzarella salad for two, green gnochhi with shrimp and a house specialty, the spaghetti Narvona, a spaghetti with zuccini on a basil sauce. I'm a carbonnara kind of guy and the Narvona was expecially different and pleasing. We had warm bread with our salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The dinner was complimented with a red wine, a 2008 vintage that was very good. There is a rather large selection of Italian wines to choose from. The owner sauntered from table to table greeting his guests, but left us alone for our quiet evening together. As we were departing he thanked us for coming and stated that he sensed we wanted to be alone together, very perceptive of him. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olegar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nino the owner makes you feel like part of his family when you arrive. He ensures his patrons are happy and enjoying their food. He also is able to recommend great wines that he has in his restaurant.
The food is amazing. You can tell nothing has ever been frozen and it is all fresh. My favourite dish is made with truffle mushrooms in little pockets of pasta. My husband and I call this dish "little pockets of heaven".
The restaurant is a little on the expensive side but the food is certainly worth the money. Very good Italian food. Homemade gilato is superb!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildhogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went on a busy Saturday night. The service was a little slow but when the food arrived it was all forgotten. The fresh pasta with fish great and full of flavor. Lambchops melted in your mouth and seasoned just right. Great desserts so leave room. Atmosphere is loud and simple decor. Overall cant wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adriano g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
911 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to the neighbourhood”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This great new restaurant is located in the village of Maple just west of Richmond Hill on the northern outskirts of Toronto. This was the second time we had visited Sorrento North and both times the service was impeccable and friendly. The restaurant itself is modern and trendy, yet warm and inviting. This time for our starters we enjoyed the plate of cured meats, olives and crostini and also a plate of bufala and tomato. The entrees were also excellent. One of us had the scallopine which I trust tasted as good as it looked, the pasta was fresh, the special adriatic whole sea bass was beautifully soft and succulent. The wine listed is wide and varied being ideal for a variety of tastes and budgets. We will certainly be back again to enjoy this attractive new Italian restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento North also viewed

 

Been to Sorrento North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing