We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Retreat House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cropthorne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland House Conference and Retreat Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Cropthorne B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Retreat House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This isn't the first time and it won't be the last. Always love coming here. The setting is beautiful, the staff are so helpful and friendly. The food is plentiful and the rooms are lovely. Not a place to go if you like ensuite and all the trimmings but adequate number of bathrooms and fresh warm towels.
I can recommend this place very highly

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamelaGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March just for a quick break and were very impressed with the gardens and the surrounding area.
If you're looking for a hotel with all mod cons then i'm afraid this is not for you.The rooms are basic really without the usual en.suite and television. What you do get is a sink for washing a couple of wardrobes, two single beds (they don't have doubles)and toilets down the hall.Don't forget your jimmys.
Breakfast is minimal but for the price we paid on a KGB deal it was adequate.
The staff were very helpfull and friendly and it was a very quiet and peacefull place to stay.
There are two very nice pubs about a mile down the road where excellent food is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights on a 'deal' and decided to share my thoughts with other potential customers.
Firstly, this isn't a hotel so don't expect your every need to be fulfilled.
Secondly, no en-suite facilities, apart from a sink in the bedroom.
Thirdly, no TV or convenient electricity plugs (our room had one double socket in between the beds and no where near a mirror.
However, apart from these points, the place is a delight, quaint & quirky probably best describe it. The large gardens are beautifully kept and extend right down to the river Avon. The rooms are sizeabe, spotlessly clean and warm, with oak beams throughout. The 'staff' are very welcoming and nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. The breakfast is locally produced and cooked to perfection, although portions are 'rationed'.
In summary, if you like the simple life in a lovely setting with charming people, plenty of peace and quiet but without several modern amenities, then I can think of no better place than this 'retreat'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinhart919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Holland House is not your usual hotel or b&b experience. It is, basically, a Christian retreat which allows a few extra B&B guests. Its rather like staying with a rich, aged aunt who has not changed for 30 years. The main house and gardens are very beautiful but a carbuncle, built on the end of the Tudor house in the 1960\s takes away some of the magic.
Set in gorgeous grounds in the near perfect thatched village of Cropthorne a genuine warm welcome was extended to us. Good parking and lovely staff show you round the house which is most unusual. The bedrooms are not en suite but lots of bathrooms and shower rooms are scattered among the rooms. No locks are on the outside of the doors but you can slide a bolt inside , should you wish. The bar is a true honesty bar with a cash box and there is produce and goods on sale on site all of which are honesty.
Our room (7) was very clean, had 2 comfortable single beds as well as tea making facilities and a sink. Lovely views of the extensive gardens and house and great central heating. It was filled with old comfortable furniture but was rather Spartan with no tv. There was, however, free WiFi but this is not well publicised or I would have taken my lap top.
Breakfast was at 8.30 only but was very nice with fruits, yoghurts, juices , great coffee , help yourself toast and a limited selection of cooked food left out for you. You are asked to put your crockery on a trolley, which reminded me of school. All in all a quiet comfortable bolt hole but do not expect a conventional hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend on an ( independently organised )Retreat.
Holland House has a wonderful calm ambiance in a beautiful building with magnificent gardens that make you want to sit and drink-in the atmosphere. (Unfortunately the weather was damp and chilly, but the potential is there!)
The locally sourced food and home-cooked meals were generous and traditionally served. The rooms were simple, yet comfortable.

I intend to return, with a friend, just to spend some time away from life's hassles, and chat, rest, and explore the beautiful Warwickshire surroundings, in a wonderful old house with old-fashioned trust and values.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 732gillianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here last july 2012, two nights with a KGB voucher,staff were very nice and polite,everything was exceptional, the breakfast was divine.We would have no hesitation in staying again.Our stay was a very pleasant experience,the weather that week-end was a complete wash out, but having such a wonderful place to stay completely made our stay very very enjoyable.This is a b&b /retreat highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely quiet space. Very welcoming. Food wonderful. The honesty bar and gift shop was a nice touch. Lounge was really lovely. Enjoyed the gardens and the views. Would stay here again. Stayed for a retreat and poetry weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemima49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cropthorne
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eckington Manor
Eckington Manor
#1 of 3 in Eckington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holland House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Conference and Retreat Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Conference and Retreat Centre

Property: Holland House Conference and Retreat Centre
Address: Main Street | Cropthorne, Cropthorne, Pershore WR10 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Pershore > Cropthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cropthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holland House is a Christian Retreat House based in the beautiful village of Cropthorne in Worcestershire. We are open to people of all faiths and none. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland House Conference And Retreat Centre Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing